Post Your Speaker Setup Here! Let's Share =), All Speakers Are Welcomed!

TSshockk
post Jan 28 2005, 02:27 PM, updated 14y ago

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,882 posts

Special Request: Can Mr Edifier a.k.a Jack please pin-up this thread so that it will stay here for anybody to refer to. Last time my thread here was purged somehow and hope that it can be pinned up now. I can remember the thread last time was quite happening and drew a lot of attention from both Edifier and non-Edifier users alike. So, Thanks in advance first. biggrin.gif

This thread is mainly for all of us Lowyat.Net forumers to share our speaker setups so that others can learn from us and get some ideas on how to optimize their speaker placements (especially for surround speakers and subwoofer), environment to for their personal listening pleasure.
Even those with speakers other than Edifier's are welcomed to post here.
We are here to share and learn. biggrin.gif

Here is my personal speaker setup pics:

Using Edifier S4.1 in my study-room,

My Edifier S4.1 in my TV-room later. hahaha.

My current R1900TII (my friend's R501 is also in the pic. testing it out) setup.
I have tweaked the unit with my PC and the unit sounds like a dream now (much different than what you hear without tweaking). Anyone who is interested to listen to them and learn from me, please drop by my place for a demo.

Everyone is welcomed to post comments and criticisms on the speaker setups that are posted here. Of course, only constructive criticisms please. hahaha.
Anybody who has doubts or need some advice, do feel free to ask questions.
And if you have any tips and tricks, please share with all of us.

Thank you. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Jan 29 2005, 01:37 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(skyliner66 @ Jan 28 2005, 10:24 PM)
WTA,what audio cables r u using on ur sat? how much u bought?
just the cables that came with the speakers.
good enough actually. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Jan 29 2005, 11:04 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(darien_203 @ Jan 29 2005, 10:45 AM)
hi all... what is the best place to place the woofer??? will the sound be diff if i place it on diff places such as on the floor, table...... would it be recomended if i put something under the woofer??? pls advice......
It depends on your room acoustics. ie: your walls, room size, furnitures, and stuff in your room.

It would be best to test and try it out urself first to place ur woofer here and there.
And if u need some advice, u can probably post a picture of ur room here so we can get a clearer picture.

For a more solid bass response, hifi enthusiasts recommend to put a brick on top of your speakers for a more solid sound (sort of a way to dampen the vibrations that leak to the speaker). But these are for floorstanding full-range hifi speakers.
Well, u can try to put a brick on top of ur subwoofer and see if there's any difference, though. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Jan 29 2005, 11:23 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(yingfan @ Jan 29 2005, 11:13 AM)
IMHO, the padding beneath the speaker box are more important
Yeah. To prevent vibration leakage to the ground as well.
Think the best is to get those speaker stands that has minimum surface contact with the floor.

Not sure what u mean by 'padding'.
Please explain. Tq. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Feb 2 2005, 02:27 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(whistler @ Jan 29 2005, 11:56 AM)
just curious abt the 3rd pic. are you using an amp to drive the speakers?
arent they too close to each other and you when sitting at your desk?
nope. i'm using the built-in amp.
my table is quite wide actually. so it's okay. biggrin.gif
i'll try to push the speakers further back to the wall to see if there's a difference.

QUOTE(yingfan @ Jan 29 2005, 12:03 PM)
i was referring to the plastic 'feet'  of speaker cabinet
something like this or this

btw, i found dat 1900T2' padding was too hard , causing vibration on the table when the volume is high (just around 50% thou)
hoping to find a better replacement
u mean the padding on the base of the speaker? or the inside? blink.gif
TSshockk
post Feb 2 2005, 06:22 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jan 29 2005, 06:37 PM)
my room setup.. but not enough space.. so putting all sat speaker closely.. will relocate all soon if i move this pc and speaker to KL later..
nice pics. thumbup.gif
so u moving to KL soon or wat?
hmm.. u can put ur centre speaker in front of ur LCD. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Feb 3 2005, 05:57 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(OrCaGaL @ Feb 2 2005, 02:22 PM)
I'm using edifier e3100.....dont reli like the sound...think altec lansing better laaa...wat ya think?
Hi OrcaGal.
I just have one simple thing to ask you.
Why did u go buy the e3100 when u didn't like how it sounded? biggrin.gif
Well, maybe your tastes have changed.
You should perhaps give the S4.1 a try instead. hehe.
TSshockk
post Mar 3 2005, 04:54 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Feb 13 2005, 08:34 PM)
cheapo GC speakers. ok for movies, not so good blasting techno music
surround speakers in the front eh.. wow.. can feel the effect? blink.gif
TSshockk
post Apr 29 2005, 03:42 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Mar 29 2005, 08:46 AM)
^ OMG!!! brutal !!!! ohmy.gif
hey, i got the same PC table tongue.gif
eh, rusty. post lah lah ur speaker setup. lookz awesome. nod.gif

Here's my friend's Edifier R401 used for home-theatre purposes. was watchin Shutter on it in friend's apartment with a projector. and the sound is superb and powerful (it's a small room). thumbup.gif

scared the crap out of my friends with the sound effects. priceless! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by shockk: May 31 2005, 03:21 PM
TSshockk
post Sep 12 2005, 05:01 PM

11,882 posts

wow nice nice. ur speaker positioning there seems fine. biggrin.gif

how come u chose it instead of a subbed Edifier system?
TSshockk
post May 10 2012, 04:45 AM

11,882 posts

Wow. Nice setup, junclj! The S730's subwoofer looks really impressive there on your cabinet! thumbup.gif nod.gif happy.gif

0.0232sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:00 PM