11,809 posts

i tweak my astro as well, heck, i tweak almost every AV input
lapaq
post Nov 7 2007, 09:49 PM

255 posts

Bah....

When I tested my ps3 on the new bravia s310a...the PQ was horrible...have to tweak it then only it looked superbly nice (for my peasant eyes that is). Don't know when people at SengQ never bother to properly calibrate the settings to show the tv full potential.

So...I just can't stand not tweaking stuff....especially stuff concerning AV things...
Synco
post Nov 8 2007, 12:15 AM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(lapaq @ Nov 7 2007, 09:49 PM)
Bah....

When I tested my ps3 on the new bravia s310a...the PQ was horrible...have to tweak it then only it looked superbly nice (for my peasant eyes that is). Don't know when people at SengQ never bother to properly calibrate the settings to show the tv full potential.

So...I just can't stand not tweaking stuff....especially stuff concerning AV things...
hehe coz it is our hard earned money , we tend to push things to the fullest .
Unlike my fren bought bravia X to watch Astro coz they salesmen in HSL said it will look a lot better than his plasma coz full HD laugh.gif
rx330
post Nov 8 2007, 10:00 AM

11,809 posts

synco, some fren u have there biggrin.gif

lapaq, so u got it aredi? is the PQ tat bad?
Gahleon
post Nov 8 2007, 07:38 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Nov 8 2007, 12:15 AM)
hehe coz it is our hard earned money , we tend to push things to the fullest .
Unlike my fren bought bravia X to watch Astro coz they salesmen in HSL said it will look a lot better than his plasma coz full HD  laugh.gif
LOL astro in full HD....
But Bravia X was actually pretty nice also when watching astro.(Maybe better with S-video cable but i lazy to get one)
But buy it just for astro is just.....

Added on November 8, 2007, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(ganaz-x @ Nov 7 2007, 05:04 PM)
That's where you are wrong. You need to tweak your tv to make astro look a little bit better. As for the people looking fat on Astro, u need to change your wide-screen setting. Different tv has different implementation. On Sharp's LCD u can use the panoramic wide, for Sony I use full-wide.
I actually found that wide zoom look not as fat as full zoom.

Added on November 8, 2007, 7:43 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 7 2007, 05:12 PM)
i tweak my astro as well, heck, i tweak almost every AV input
What is tweak mean? Sorry i noob.
Adjust the colour,brightness setting ka?

This post has been edited by Gahleon: Nov 8 2007, 07:44 PM
lapaq
post Nov 8 2007, 11:23 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 8 2007, 10:00 AM)
synco, some fren u have there biggrin.gif

lapaq, so u got it aredi? is the PQ tat bad?
The PQ was horibble because the tweak the sharpness all the way up...that makes all the jaggies look like king kong's butt. anyway I toned down the sharpness to a more acceptable level and the change the picture settings from vivid to custom (vivid make the colour and contrast unnatural, GT5 prologue looked so bad I almost puked at the shop) which makes the pic so beautiful that I've recovered my confidence in SONY again.

In the end it all looked superbly nice...though I wish I can tweak it from the start as they oly found the remote in the last 10 minutes or so...

p/s: still have decide to buy or not..waitng till the end of this week to decide...most prob will buy.
ganaz-x
post Nov 9 2007, 12:12 AM

1,025 posts

U sure u got that right arr? I'm using the KLV40-V300A and I find that full wide mode give the best picture. Other options will make the picture look stretched. This can be seen by the channel logo on the top right hand corner in Astro. On Full wide mode everything looks normal to me.

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Nov 8 2007, 07:38 PM)
LOL astro in full HD....
But Bravia X was actually pretty nice also when watching astro.(Maybe better with S-video cable but i lazy to get one)
But buy it just for astro is just.....

Added on November 8, 2007, 7:42 pm

I actually found that wide zoom look not as fat as full zoom.

Added on November 8, 2007, 7:43 pm

What is tweak mean? Sorry i noob.
Adjust the colour,brightness setting ka?
rx330
post Nov 9 2007, 10:16 AM

11,809 posts

my astro settings all sharpness reduce to 0 biggrin.gif
ganaz-x
post Nov 9 2007, 10:23 AM

1,025 posts

And reduce the backlight to a minimal value if not zero
rx330
post Nov 9 2007, 10:26 AM

11,809 posts

i reduce to below half, contrast also reduce
lapaq
post Nov 10 2007, 10:41 PM

255 posts

That is what I think.....Dunno what the people at the shops are thingking when they set the TV up for display....

And to top it all of..the staff there...so young..keep telling me this and that..as if they are super duper knowledgeable about HDTV...setting TV pun tak betul...
rx330
post Nov 12 2007, 10:12 AM

11,809 posts

lapaq, get used to it, but i do come accross some really helpfuls one and have some general knowledge on HD as well as HD display

maintenance
post Nov 12 2007, 12:02 PM

1,064 posts

from what i understand
the lcd tv that are on display most of them are using football rite.
and some sources says that the football is pre-recorded from satelite tv.
and those satelite tv/cable tv has much better quality compare to astro.
again correct me if i am wrong.
sometimes sources are bull as well.

Added on November 12, 2007, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(ganaz-x @ Nov 7 2007, 05:04 PM)
That's where you are wrong. You need to tweak your tv to make astro look a little bit better. As for the people looking fat on Astro, u need to change your wide-screen setting. Different tv has different implementation. On Sharp's LCD u can use the panoramic wide, for Sony I use full-wide.
yeah u couldbe rite there too.
but not all tv comes with panoramic wide. (black lines on the top and bottom to even out the image)
all astro become line watching dvd which is quite cool.

and how do u fix your samsung settings there?
full wide as well??

This post has been edited by maintenance: Nov 12 2007, 12:05 PM
shareal
post Nov 13 2007, 09:57 AM

179 posts

guys, need your help/suggestion/recommendation for
1. 32" lcd for below RM3.2k
2. 37" lcd for below RM4.2k

any brand will do as long as we call it "satisfaction guaranteed" sweat.gif

rx330
post Nov 13 2007, 10:24 AM

11,809 posts

for tat price, can list abt 3 quarter of all the available brands here
small-jeff
post Nov 15 2007, 07:08 PM

1,646 posts

Not Samsung..perhaps?
rx330
post Nov 15 2007, 07:33 PM

11,809 posts

sammy as well
shareal
post Nov 15 2007, 10:07 PM

179 posts

why samsung not good ah?
maintenance
post Nov 16 2007, 03:20 PM

1,064 posts

Lets just put it that way.
With that budget. You could have a few choices.
Go and see for youself which one suits your eyes.

honamd77
post Nov 16 2007, 03:44 PM

Enjoy Your Life Before You Die
1,008 posts

me..lcd sony bravia.RM2.8K.
using dvd player with komponen kabel..576P
using ps3 with HDMI..720P
using ps2 With komponen kabel..576i

choose sony..y sony..match all my gajet..

129 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:18 PM