HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

rx330
post Aug 20 2007, 03:23 PM

11,809 posts

so if compare with anotehr 1366 X 768 display, producing @ 1080i, will it have differecen as the downscaled one?
redbull_y2k
post Aug 20 2007, 07:16 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 20 2007, 03:23 PM)
so if compare with anotehr 1366 X 768 display, producing @ 1080i, will it have differecen as the downscaled one?
Ask Hairulez, he uses a 26" LG before switching to 26" Bravia which did the same thing. tongue.gif
Glau
post Aug 20 2007, 08:48 PM

418 posts

yup there is a difference between the 720p and 1080p.
ruztynail
post Aug 20 2007, 09:29 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(Glau @ Aug 20 2007, 08:48 PM)
yup there is a difference between the 720p and 1080p.
like duh.. sweat.gif .. haha but its only mostly noticeable whn u hit 40" inch and above.. other thn tat not really a BIG difference. depending also how far u sit frm the screen
Gahleon
post Aug 22 2007, 06:07 PM

230 posts

Hmm Samsung 1080p? I wonder what model is this.

Taken from neogaf forum.

This post has been edited by Gahleon: Aug 22 2007, 06:10 PM
redbull_y2k
post Aug 22 2007, 06:53 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Aug 22 2007, 06:07 PM)
Hmm Samsung 1080p? I wonder what model is this.

Taken from neogaf forum.
Samsung M8 series. nod.gif

hairuLeZ
post Aug 22 2007, 08:23 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 20 2007, 03:23 PM)
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Aug 20 2007, 07:16 PM)
Ask Hairulez, he uses a 26" LG before switching to 26" Bravia which did the same thing.  tongue.gif
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Aug 20 2007, 09:29 PM)
like duh..  sweat.gif .. haha but its only mostly noticeable whn u hit 40" inch and above.. other thn tat not really a BIG difference. depending also how far u sit frm the screen
Hell yes there is a diff. flex.gif Its pretty obvious when im comparing both 1080i and p. The graphic much nicer on p. cool2.gif Btw, even Dell 24" and Benq 24" also can give u some noticeable diff between both format icon_rolleyes.gif Well ask redbull since he own Dell 24" tongue.gif
PrinceOfPersia
post Aug 22 2007, 09:44 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

New BenQ LCD Monitor FP241VW thumbup.gif
saiga
post Aug 23 2007, 09:25 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

what the cheapest price for lcd monitor that can support 1080P?
ruztynail
post Aug 23 2007, 11:31 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

finally got my 22 inch LCD dell hahaha cheap cheap.
really redefines HD well not really superb. at 720p everythin is totally diff man!!!

\

pic not so clear cause using phone camera. but wow. its freaking cool on the ps3..

jus a question. whn i hook it up to my laptop. i cant go beyond 1034x768.. and whn i use tat input .. everythin is kinda clear except the middle where u can see its a bit blur.. why?? my centrino laptop uses a old GMA internal. any ideas?
lester
post Aug 25 2007, 11:34 AM

292 posts

Does anyone try to connect xbox360 to Dell 2407 via component? After i connected I set the output format to 1080i in xbox but the image display in lcd is not stable it's a bit like shaking, using the same cable and setting connect to 2405 then it is fine.
Zaryl
post Aug 26 2007, 04:47 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

Can anyone here give me some insights on the following LCD tvs:

1) Toshiba Regza 37" 37A3000
2) Samsung 32" LA-32R81BX
3) Haier 37" L37A10A

-Toshiba Regza has only 1 HDMI (v1.3) input and can only do up to 1080i.
-Samsung has a nice design and has 3 HDMI inputs.
-Haier....hmmm... whistling.gif

Questions:
-What does Game mode mean? When a lcd tv that has this feature, does this mean it will enhance the graphics for my xbox360?
-When I want to watch Astro or our current tv broadcast ie TV3, 8TV, etc. I will expect the picture to be pixellated right?
-Response time is mostly 8ms I've seen so far for these LCD tvs. You think this response time is ok for my xbox360?
-What complications that lcd tv might have compared to plasma tvs? Burn ins? Dead pixels? Does LCD tv has a half life of 60k hours like plasma tv?
-contrast ratio & brightness... how to know what ratio is better?

So far I'm eyeing on Toshiba Regza 37" but only 1 HDMI? Come on.... shakehead.gif

Your feedbacks are appreciated. Thanks! smile.gif

ganaz-x
post Aug 27 2007, 12:13 AM

1,025 posts

Just switched from Sharp LC42BX5M to Sony's KLV40-V300A couple of days ago. So far I'm very impress with this unit. Anyway, this model supports 1080p and I'm able to choose 1080p on my 360 and the tv indicates that it's running on 1080p. Now can someone explain to me how is this possible when this model is not a full-HD panel?

By the way I've got a brand new Sharp LC37PX5M coming my way very soon. Getting it either before or after merdeka. Anyone interested can PM me. Will sell it at an attractive price rclxms.gif
silencer
post Aug 27 2007, 02:03 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(ganaz-x @ Aug 27 2007, 12:13 AM)
Just switched from Sharp LC42BX5M to Sony's KLV40-V300A couple of days ago. So far I'm very impress with this unit. Anyway, this model supports 1080p and I'm able to choose 1080p on my 360 and the tv indicates that it's running on 1080p. Now can someone explain to me how is this possible when this model is not a full-HD panel?

By the way I've got a brand new Sharp LC37PX5M coming my way very soon. Getting it either before or after merdeka. Anyone interested can PM me. Will sell it at an attractive price  rclxms.gif
Yup ..It does support up to 1080P HD Signal at display resolution of 1,366 x 768 pixels 16:9 Screen Format, compared with X-series at display resolution of 1920 x 1080 pixels.
So the specified model will accept and show 1080P as the HD signal received, and will scale-down the signal to 1366 x 768 display resolution. Sony is really good on promoting its product, and even the 32" model will show 1080p as its source HD signal imput.

This post has been edited by silencer: Aug 27 2007, 02:17 AM
rx330
post Aug 27 2007, 10:38 AM

11,809 posts

GIMMICKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! biggrin.gif

ganaz, how mnuchie u wanna sell?
ganaz-x
post Aug 27 2007, 04:19 PM

1,025 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 27 2007, 10:38 AM)
GIMMICKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! biggrin.gif

ganaz, how mnuchie u wanna sell?
Not a gimmick but more or less a down scaling process. Found out that the unit is able to receive 1080p signal but will downscale it 768p heh heh heh.

Anyway I'm looking at 4.2k for the Sharp PX5

Added on August 27, 2007, 8:43 pmAwww man, lady luck must be with me now. I've just walked away with a Samsung LA32S81B at a lucky draw...w00t! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ganaz-x: Aug 27 2007, 08:43 PM
silencer
post Aug 27 2007, 11:45 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(ganaz-x @ Aug 27 2007, 04:19 PM)
Not a gimmick but more or less a down scaling process. Found out that the unit is able to receive 1080p signal but will downscale it 768p heh heh heh.

Anyway I'm looking at 4.2k for the Sharp PX5

Added on August 27, 2007, 8:43 pmAwww man, lady luck must be with me now. I've just walked away with a Samsung LA32S81B at a lucky draw...w00t!  rclxms.gif
lerrrr...so many lcd TV.....10 more lucky draw...u can open an electronic store..... thumbup.gif
ganaz-x
post Aug 28 2007, 12:36 AM

1,025 posts

Tu lah pasal heh heh heh. tongue.gif
-milo-
post Aug 28 2007, 12:57 AM

284 posts

hi guys
i have a question here n i hope u guys cud help me out.
im wondering if it is a good idea to get a lcd tv as a monitor,or shud i get a monitor with video input instead?
im using it for my oc n for consoles,ps2, n maybe ps3 if im lucky,but dat wun be in d near future..

any help,reconmendations,advices or suggestions are very much appreciated.thank u.

shumaky
post Aug 28 2007, 03:04 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

Lucky SOB, ganas., wanna tolak ur 32" sammy..??

This post has been edited by shumaky: Aug 28 2007, 03:05 AM

129 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:46 AM