129 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

zaakath
post Jan 24 2007, 10:05 AM

654 posts

Never heard of lower contrast the better quiet the opposite I thought.
terencey
post Jan 24 2007, 10:22 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Jan 23 2007, 10:31 PM)
Contrast ratio is lower the better one  icon_rolleyes.gif
Errr, contrast ratio the higher the better. eg. 1300:1 > 800:1
rx330
post Jan 24 2007, 10:27 AM

11,809 posts

how does astro sucks in LCD? tat day i saw one, so much finer than my crt leh
bysquashy
post Jan 24 2007, 03:00 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 24 2007, 10:27 AM)
how does astro sucks in LCD? tat day i saw one, so much finer than my crt leh
Which unit are you refering to? Very interesting smile.gif
rx330
post Jan 24 2007, 03:48 PM

11,809 posts

dunno wat modek, but its a LG 37", looks like one redken has
fair-pley
post Jan 24 2007, 03:56 PM

131 posts

I got my LG LCD TV (look my sig). Max reso is 1366 x 768 (1080i). The question is, why there is hdmi input since it cannot support 1080p doh.gif Do i need some upscaler so that 1080p is possible ??
redbull_y2k
post Jan 24 2007, 04:09 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(fair-pley @ Jan 24 2007, 03:56 PM)
I got my LG LCD TV (look my sig). Max reso is 1366 x 768 (1080i). The question is, why there is hdmi input since it cannot support 1080p  doh.gif  Do i need some upscaler so that 1080p is possible ??
Less messy cables? Since HDMI cable transmit both video and audio. cool.gif
zaakath
post Jan 24 2007, 04:14 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(fair-pley @ Jan 24 2007, 03:56 PM)
I got my LG LCD TV (look my sig). Max reso is 1366 x 768 (1080i). The question is, why there is hdmi input since it cannot support 1080p  doh.gif  Do i need some upscaler so that 1080p is possible ??
You get better picture and audio quality with HDMI.

fair-pley
post Jan 24 2007, 04:27 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jan 24 2007, 04:09 PM)
Less messy cables? Since HDMI cable transmit both video and audio.  cool.gif
QUOTE(zaakath @ Jan 24 2007, 04:14 PM)
You get better picture and audio quality with HDMI.
Yeah true also. Haih..at first, i thought any panel which having hdmi input can support 1080p. If i ady known this, i might not buying this LCD TV. Errr...any1 want to buy mine laugh.gif
rx330
post Jan 24 2007, 04:34 PM

11,809 posts

er... how much u parting for it?

to the shifus, VGA connection is better than HDMI rite?
redbull_y2k
post Jan 24 2007, 04:44 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 24 2007, 04:34 PM)

to the shifus, VGA connection is better than HDMI rite?
VGA is analog, while HDMI is digital. So HDMI is better, it's more or less equivalent to DVI+audio. cool.gif
fair-pley
post Jan 24 2007, 04:53 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 24 2007, 04:34 PM)
4 months ady. Bought at promo price rm2999 at harvey norman. emm c how la..

Anyway, is it so much diff btween 1080i n 1080p ? Dont want to throw away cash for just slightly improvement sweat.gif
LiangZhuge
post Jan 24 2007, 05:00 PM

451 posts

Hi all,

I am thinking of getting a CRT TV for my gaming and by reading through this thread I have narrow it down to either get a Philips 29PT8845 or a Sony, the Philips highest selling point to me now is the price and 1080p support (according to the spec) but I am tempted by Sony's more 'vibrant' colour compared to Philips.

Also Sony has 2 models with the similar spec and I was wondering what is the main difference between KV-DB29M61 and KV-DZ29M61 ( I am leaning more towards KV-DB29M61 because it has an extra s-video port at the back) but both is only 1080i (I know you can't see the difference between i an p on a 29' as some say but I want to future proof the TV smile.gif ). Could any user enlightenment me ?

The best price for 29PT8845 I got was RM1300 from HSL. Sony is around 1.5 + .

Anyone care to comment.
Thanks in advance.
redbull_y2k
post Jan 24 2007, 05:04 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(fair-pley @ Jan 24 2007, 04:53 PM)
4 months ady. Bought at promo price rm2999 at harvey norman. emm c how la..

Anyway, is it so much diff btween 1080i n 1080p ? Dont want to throw away cash for just slightly improvement  sweat.gif
The difference would be noticeable but depends mostly on the source. Like in the case for Xbox360, u won't see any difference btwn even 720p and 1080i since it's actually scaled from 720p to 1080i as well. The source has to be in true 1080p, then only you would notice the difference. Blue Dragon for the Xbox360 is claimed to support 1080p, but it's still not confirmed if it's rendered in 1080p or scaled from 720p.
fair-pley
post Jan 24 2007, 05:25 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jan 24 2007, 05:04 PM)
The difference would be noticeable but depends mostly on the source. Like in the case for Xbox360, u won't see any difference btwn even 720p and 1080i since it's actually scaled from 720p to 1080i as well. The source has to be in true 1080p, then only you would notice the difference. Blue Dragon for the Xbox360 is claimed to support 1080p, but it's still not confirmed if it's rendered in 1080p or scaled from 720p.
Hmm..looks like i'm going to buy another 1 la nih sweat.gif Selling again doh.gif laugh.gif My wife going mad after this rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by fair-pley: Jan 24 2007, 05:28 PM
wandiana
post Jan 24 2007, 05:33 PM

85 posts

Hi..all.. i'm noobs regarding this hdtv facts..

soon im planning to buy one.. but dunno what r the best hdtv specs to suit my Xbox360.. so i guess u all can guide me..

what r the major specs to look into when buying those hdtv.. cables, av input, osd, bla..blaa.. i dunno...

thanx.. smile.gif
bysquashy
post Jan 24 2007, 06:52 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(wandiana @ Jan 24 2007, 05:33 PM)
Hi..all.. i'm noobs regarding this hdtv facts..

soon im planning to buy one.. but dunno what r the best hdtv specs to suit my Xbox360.. so i guess u all can guide me..

what r the major specs to look into when buying those hdtv.. cables, av input, osd, bla..blaa.. i dunno...

thanx..  smile.gif
A unit which supports 1080i would be sufficient as not many xbox 360 games is being rendered at 1080p. Fast response time will be good. smile.gif
xxboxx
post Jan 24 2007, 08:03 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jan 24 2007, 05:04 PM)

i believe the reason it doesn't look difference is more because of the size (29"), not because scaled or not.
redbull_y2k
post Jan 24 2007, 08:35 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 24 2007, 08:03 PM)
i believe the reason it doesn't look difference is more because of the size (29"), not because scaled or not.
Trust me, u can see the difference even on a 24". Why else would pc users use 1920x1200 on a 24" lcd monitor if u can't see the difference. For movies, yeah the difference is very minor, almost unnoticeable. But for games and desktop usage, the difference is very obvious. I suggest u try one before even comparing. cool.gif
andrewng88
post Jan 25 2007, 06:44 PM

Delighting You Always
805 posts

D Terminal Cable
Sony Computer Entertainment
Compatible with PlayStation2(tm), PlayStation3(tm)

this is for lcd tv with D terminal ? OR can also use with lcd monitor ( vga port /15pin D-sub ) ?

This post has been edited by andrewng88: Jan 25 2007, 06:46 PM

129 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:06 PM