HDTV FAQ, For all Console users
saiga
Jan 16 2007, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(BeastX @ Jan 16 2007, 07:06 PM) both sony 32v or 32s series are both 1366x768 pixels... no full 1080p HD .... so too are the KLV-40V200A and KLV-46V200A models.. only with one hdmi connection... how about dell 2707, 2407 fot 1920x1200 pixels funny coz in their advert (sony) write that their tv is FULL HD . Marketing strategy i guess.Dell is nice although have minor issue with the mapping thing but the size onli 24 inch ler.
spicyfooty
Jan 16 2007, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(redken @ Jan 14 2007, 10:16 PM) Care to elaborate on where u got the mount and how u installed it? Not on a brick wall i presume. No, i actually designed a TV cabinet that mounted wholly on the wall. Then I mount the LCD on the cabinet. Looks sleek cause all cables can be hidden behind the cabinet. see the pic
BeastX
Jan 16 2007, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(saiga @ Jan 16 2007, 07:51 PM) funny coz in their advert (sony) write that their tv is FULL HD . Marketing strategy i guess.Dell is nice although have minor issue with the mapping thing but the size onli 24 inch ler. Full HD as in full 720p is also consider HD res. I do not believe there are 32 inch LCD panels/tv of 1920x1080 (non CES 2007) res at the moment. However 1920x1200 monitors can be from 22, 23, 24, 25.5 and 27 (samsung and dell) inch, cheapest being tthe dell 2407wfp. B.T.W. sony 1080p tv are known to be able to do 1:1 mapping. This post has been edited by BeastX: Jan 16 2007, 08:24 PM
saiga
Jan 16 2007, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(spicyfooty @ Jan 16 2007, 08:02 PM) No, i actually designed a TV cabinet that mounted wholly on the wall. Then I mount the LCD on the cabinet. Looks sleek cause all cables can be hidden behind the cabinet. see the pic  Wah,really nice bro  .Do u design (made) the cabinet yourself or ask shop do for u base on your design? And what type of wood that u use?
spicyfooty
Jan 16 2007, 09:26 PM
I designed and asked the carpenter to do one. Using solid-wood. One drawback is that in future, if u wanna add some cables or wires, you have to dismantle everything.
For now, just enjoy la HEHEHEHE
prazole
Jan 16 2007, 09:49 PM
nice colors.. but somehow cuz its too crowded with things, it doesnt feel that sleek..
isis
Jan 16 2007, 10:07 PM

to be honest, i would like to get a SAMSUNG HD LCD TV...but too expensive  so am gonna get a Philips one cuz my friend bought one and its not bad either he said, plus got 5 year warranty on it  i jz have one question though, when i searched for his Philips model on the net (here's the link Philips 32PF7321-12), there was a "HDMI" feature in it... and i read the first post and there's nothing on this "HDMI" feature. what does it mean? this Philips HD LCD TV is abt RM3500 which is like the ceiling for my budget. i know its not FULL HD but do u think it wil b good enough for an Xbox 360? unless u guys can recommend something else better, do let me know ya!  cheers! This post has been edited by isis: Jan 16 2007, 10:13 PM
deepan84
Jan 16 2007, 10:09 PM
pic where lar... u took out da pics redi izzit? i sumhow tink dat bravia X is super overpriced.. all boicott so they lower the price..haha.. *eventhough it wil NEVA happen soon*.. lke wat i said earlier, astro mayb bearable on my plasma coz EDTV nee.. sumtimes feel da 1000bucks extra for HDTV plasma not worth it.. EDTV oso sufficient redi..
saiga
Jan 16 2007, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(deepan84 @ Jan 16 2007, 10:09 PM) pic where lar... u took out da pics redi izzit? i sumhow tink dat bravia X is super overpriced.. all boicott so they lower the price..haha.. *eventhough it wil NEVA happen soon*.. lke wat i said earlier, astro mayb bearable on my plasma coz EDTV nee.. sumtimes feel da 1000bucks extra for HDTV plasma not worth it.. EDTV oso sufficient redi.. yaa,of coz crt PQ enough alredi but the BIG ASS really make my living room 'dull' and dosen't match with the furniture.Then,the QUEEN 'order' came.But now still hunting,hehe p/s : agreed on SONY items price.Think most are overpriced
saiga
Jan 16 2007, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(isis @ Jan 16 2007, 10:07 PM) to be honest, i would like to get a SAMSUNG HD LCD TV...but too expensive  so am gonna get a Philips one cuz my friend bought one and its not bad either he said, plus got 5 year warranty on it  i jz have one question though, when i searched for his Philips model on the net (here's the link Philips 32PF7321-12), there was a "HDMI" feature in it... and i read the first post and there's nothing on this "HDMI" feature. what does it mean? this Philips HD LCD TV is abt RM3500 which is like the ceiling for my budget. i know its not FULL HD but do u think it wil b good enough for an Xbox 360? unless u guys can recommend something else better, do let me know ya!  cheers! it support 720p,so good enough with your 360
rx330
Jan 17 2007, 09:05 AM
agreed with saiga, as long u r getting 32", until 720p shud do really fine
wich plasma or LCD, or wat spec to look for in better astro image?
King83
Jan 17 2007, 09:17 AM
wah beastx, seems like u really know ur stuff. in other words, what TV to get? I want a 1080 :'(..... a cheap one at that.
rx330
Jan 17 2007, 10:00 AM
beastx know his stuff, he has quite a few LCDs just for montioring purposes, kekekeke all in 1080p somemore
alkt
Jan 17 2007, 10:03 AM
^_^
yea, beastx is famous in widescreengaming forum
saiga
Jan 17 2007, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 17 2007, 09:05 AM) agreed with saiga, as long u r getting 32", until 720p shud do really fine wich plasma or LCD, or wat spec to look for in better astro image? from what i read here,there is NO WAY to improve the astro image on lcd/plasma.have to wait for them to broadcast in HD. Btw,what is MEASAT 3 doing up there?
rx330
Jan 17 2007, 02:12 PM
so astro not suitbale for viewing on LCD or plasma?
i remember Sony has this astro enhancement thingy, dunno got effect or not
i think measat 3 monitoring their boss surrounding, takut ppl kidnap
htkaki
Jan 17 2007, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 17 2007, 02:12 PM) so astro not suitbale for viewing on LCD or plasma? i remember Sony has this astro enhancement thingy, dunno got effect or not i think measat 3 monitoring their boss surrounding, takut ppl kidnap not really. tested it on the awesome Pioneer 7th Gen plasma. Looks very good but too expensive
rx330
Jan 17 2007, 06:26 PM
er.... if older gen ones leh? like those 32" which are ard the 3-4k range type, how is the PQ of asstro?
cocklea
Jan 17 2007, 08:13 PM
hey guys, what software would you suggest me use to calibrate my V? i think the picture is not optimum especially during DVD playback.
This post has been edited by cocklea: Jan 17 2007, 08:35 PM
chamelion
Jan 17 2007, 08:20 PM
Using S-video from Astro to to my 32". Image also so so. Guess have to wait till measat 5 or higher  Also annoying is the 4:3 format. waste few inches of the LCD or endure the clip off. Of course DVD playback is another story.