Aftershave Care/Treatment, Confused the used of function~

TSk!d0
post Nov 18 2009, 09:20 AM, updated 17y ago

199 posts

Hi guys,can anyone teach/guide me how to use a aftershave care like aftershave sprays, aftershave balm etc... icon_question.gif
and i was confused the function of aftershave care/treatment...but i read some of the blogs/website having these kind of question...but still i dun get it! (P.S im kinda geek)
can anyone recommend me the similiar product that is totally maximize the function of aftershave care/tretment goods? icon_question.gif
thanks! thumbup.gif
TSk!d0
post Nov 18 2009, 05:18 PM

199 posts

The way u use it is up to personal preference actually. U could just apply some to your palm then rub your palms together and then pat onto your face/shaven areas. Don't use too much. If u have a spray type try not to spray directly and use the palm method.

Balms are more for dry/sensitive skin as they contain little or no alcohol. Regular aftershave contains alcohol and gives the stinging effect that some guys like. If u have sensitive skin stay away from aftershaves with alcohol.

I have used a few regular pharmacy brands like gillette, nivea and adidas. But I found them to leave a slight shine and oily layer on my face. So now i just use my toner as an aftershave and finish off with a little moisturizer to calm the skin down. However, the newer nivea aftershave blams have been getting good reviews so u might want to check them out.

A good pre shave routine of cleansing and scrubbing will help improve your shaves. This in effect will help maximize the function of your aftershave. A good shaver helps too.

Thanks for the useful info... thumbup.gif
btw...actually aftershave care/treatment mainly for wat purpose?

TSk!d0
post Nov 18 2009, 10:12 PM

199 posts

When u shave u r basically giving yourself hundreds of tiny little cuts...that's why when u apply aftershave lotion it stings. So the job of after shave is really to take care of these little cuts and prevent infections. Aftershave also closes up the pores and moisturizers the skin as shaving can be quite harsh on the skin. There are so many kinds of aftershaves in the market nowadays so its up to u to decide what kind u want. Your skin type is important too when choosing an aftershave.

thx dude,btw...i got abit pimples on my face and kinda oily...can u recommend me any product that moisture my face and wont grown pimples after apply? how bout issey miyake?^^
TSk!d0
post Nov 19 2009, 07:24 AM

199 posts

From my experience, one of the best moisturizers for oily/acne prone skin is Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel. Skin absorbs this moisturizer almost instantly and makes your skin feel silky smooth and not oily at all. But its on the pricier side. 50ml retails for RM87. There is men version from Clinique called M Gel Lotion, which is basically the same thing..retails for RM140 for 100ml...its cheaper per ml than the 50ml womens. A 50ml tube lasts me around 3-4 months.

No idea about Issey Miyake skincare products.

thx for the recommendation... thumbup.gif
btw...other than clinique M gel lotion,any other budget product...cz im still a student. tongue.gif
anyway...the lotion its apply the whole face or just shave area? icon_question.gif

Added on November 19, 2009, 7:27 amhi,patryn33,thx for joining us...and thx for the detailed info....^^
anyway...mind to share ur experiences as well? what type of aftershave care/treatment u using now? ^^

This post has been edited by k!d0: Nov 19 2009, 07:27 AM
TSk!d0
post Nov 24 2009, 01:16 PM

199 posts

den which 1 is the best budget before shave & after shave?
pre-shave conditioner as well..^^
TSk!d0
post Nov 28 2009, 03:29 PM

199 posts

Depends on how much facial hair u have. If u got the Chinese kind of facial hair like me then u won't need so many products or a very complicated pre and post shave routine. Just wash your face properly before u shave, use a good shaver and a decent aftershave lotion/balm should be sufficient.

dude...if i use the aftershave lotion...do i nid to apply my toner and moisturizer as well? icon_question.gif
TSk!d0
post Nov 30 2009, 12:24 PM

199 posts

Issey Miyake L'eau D'issey Pour Homme Soothing After Shave Balm
VS
Issey Miyake L'eau D'issey Pour Homme Intense Soothing After Shave Balm
can anyone told me which the best? icon_question.gif
TSk!d0
post Dec 1 2009, 12:36 PM

199 posts

student no $$ can afford designer brand products.... wow!
Nivea For Men, Gillette, old spice should work just as well, only no fancy designer smell..
want a quality aftershave product get those skin care brands

FYI,these are the brand that my frens recommend me...they say not bad to use... tongue.gif
TSk!d0
post Dec 1 2009, 04:48 PM

199 posts

how much it cost? where can i buy?
TSk!d0
post Dec 1 2009, 05:11 PM

199 posts

bro...which the best out of the 3?^^
TSk!d0
post Dec 1 2009, 06:18 PM

199 posts

yea...im oso using toner + moisturizer as my aftershave....but still works well.xD

0.0181sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:22 PM