v5.0 - The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2009 thread, The EXCITEMENT in the CITY never SLEEPS!

arlam
post Jan 26 2010, 10:20 PM

just to say hi.
After reading through 5 versions of postings I've decided to share abit. blush.gif

I'm currently driving 5G City Manual.

I travel about 100km per day between sending my wife to work, going to work, going to pick her up and then going home.

I've tried different brands of petrol so far.

I average a fuel consumption of 14-15km/ltr.
My highest recorded is 17.55km/ltr with Caltex.

I'm currently still running the stock wheels 185/55/16.
Looking to upgrading to 17" rims, looking to go for 205/45/17, just wondering, anyone has any idea what kind of wheel offset you are using? willing to share? +45 or +40, which one is a better choice?

arlam
post Jan 26 2010, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Jan 26 2010, 10:47 PM)
U service there??? I did my 40k there, I don't like the service ppl there.. Quite "lan c"... Tenaga Setia better, found some of my Team City kaki there... Some ppl also came up to me and ask me out bout my car modifications hehe smile.gif

Added on January 26, 2010, 10:48 pm

Honda City 5G got manual meh?? tongue.gif
Yupz! pretty sure mine is manual, 3 paddles at the foot, 1 5-speed gear stick and a very tired left foot. ehehhhehe
arlam
post Jan 27 2010, 10:01 AM

QUOTE(bjay1482 @ Jan 27 2010, 09:23 AM)
u r not from malaysia? or u import ur NHC?
Yah, um from across the border. tongue.gif

Um actually very happy with the NHC, had a uphill run with a Audi A4 this morning, he suddenly surge up from behind and I just drop 2 gear and Vtec cuts in and left him behind for a short while before I turned off the road. heheheheh

Now I just want better rubber, since our original rims (which I also like the design) can't fit anything more than 195, I'm having problem looking for a good set of nice looking rims to match the car that has a good 7J or 7.5J width to fit 205 or 215 tyres.. um also concerned about the offset of the rims, dn't want the wheels to stick out too much and end up looking like a buggy.
arlam
post Jan 27 2010, 12:39 PM

QUOTE(bjay1482 @ Jan 27 2010, 12:22 PM)
Thailand? I thought the car is there longer than it is in Malaysia. But I cant help u much with rims as i'm stil sticking back to my stock rim and happy with it stil biggrin.gif
But manual City is interesting. haha
static charge? i think that basically that has nothing to do with the car but is just u urself only.
I had a few friends that will get this kind of shock when they approach metal thing which i don't get it if i touch the same thing at the same time.
Down under in the land of fines. tongue.gif

Manual is very fun to play, test drove the Auto before I bought manual cos can play tongue.gif

I like the stock rims as well, can't find another one that compliments the City's strong lines.
too bad it is 6J instead of 7J if not I'd have changed to 205 width tyres immediately.
the stock tyres are quite lousy, it became very noisy after around 8k of mileage and wet grip is not good.

arlam
post Jan 27 2010, 10:47 PM

I forsee that FC will suffer once I upsize to 17, and pickup will be affected as well, but then again, since I'm running long distances, I hope it doesn't go down too much. smile.gif

I'm looking to change to Hankook V12 Ventus, since I think I can't fit S1 Evo 215/45/17.

Added on January 27, 2010, 10:50 pmAren't those chains usually installed on trucks/lorries, especially fuel tankers, to avoid sparks from static?

This post has been edited by arlam: Jan 27 2010, 10:50 PM
arlam
post Jan 28 2010, 02:16 PM

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Jan 28 2010, 02:00 PM)
Bro, I'm using 205/40/17 for my City... I don't think City can use 215/45/17.. Will kena fender.. 205/45/17 also no good as full load will have problem.. The tyres I am using is S1 Evo, who said don't have?? Good tyres, cornering 120 km/h also can... Better than most Michelin and Bridgestone tyres cause the price is cheap but it is UHP tyre... I can give u link for comparison test...

My Myvi using 195/50/15 Hankook V12, silent and good also... Cornering also good but not as good as S1 Evo.. V12 more for comfort..

My 195/50/15 is RM 175 per tyre and 205/40/17 is RM 275 per tyre.. Changed it at Klang, rims and tyres heaven.. Friend's shop, so damn cheap.. Much better than stock tyres, Goodyear NCT 5 or NHC Goodyear Excellence, which are rubbish tyres... 185/55/16 weird size some more... Cheers smile.gif

p/s : Bro, join Team City forum www.myteamcity.com

Many sifu there, here only talking bout FC and tinting lah, new car lah.. etc... No performance mods... Some of Team City members heavy mod the 5G city.. tongue.gif Poison u..
I went to ask here, the S1 Evo they don't have 205/40/17 leh.

wouldn' using 205/40/17 mean the car is actually travelling slower than what the speedometer says? 205/45/17 gives it a closer reading.
I'm checking against this site http://www.wheelsmaster.com/rt_specs.jsp for information.

How much is the S1 Evo you got?
arlam
post Jan 28 2010, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Jan 28 2010, 02:25 PM)
U r from Singapore or Malaysia??

I already said my tyre is RM 275 per piece.. I am driving 4.5G City.. Original is 185/55/15.. I assume u are driving the new City?? Original is 185/55/16 or 175/65/15 then...

205/40/17 gives better reading as it is within the 3% rule.. 205/45/17 is more than 5%..

Anyway I read from fellow members that changing to 17" no pick up and very high FC for 5G... 1 20 - 140 km for half tank.. That person using 205/45/17 and regretted...

For my 4.5G it is ok, cause the V-Tec open earlier... If go uphill, 6.5 k RPM.. Haha... Full tank still can go 300 km+..

My rims is Lenso Samurai SC 06.. Very light, 7 kg only..
hheheheh... me from Sillypore.
yah, um driving 5G city, original stock is 185/55/16 that's why based on that calculation i come to conclusion to 205/45/17
wow, such a big drop in fuel economy ah..
i used the site to calculate and 205/40 gave a 2.3% drop while 205/45 gave a 1% increase... interesting to note that such a small change in the configuration results in such a huge difference in the FC.
arlam
post Feb 1 2010, 10:06 PM

Hi, anyone know how much is the parts for the retractable side mirrors?
arlam
post Feb 3 2010, 09:02 PM

QUOTE(bjay1482 @ Feb 3 2010, 01:58 PM)
the whole mirror is rm850 from honda according to some.
cry.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif so RM1700 for a pair!!!!???!?!?

arlam
post Mar 2 2010, 04:38 PM

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Mar 2 2010, 03:25 PM)
i'm looking into it. I heard GLS Auto in USJ7 does it.
price was about RM120-RM150 i think

result should be something like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30VVSQ-EBVU&feature=related

still using same remote key.
This does not include the original motorised mirrors i suppose right?
cos from what i know the motorised mirrors cost at least RM800 each. sad.gif
I don't have the motorised mirrors. sad.gif
arlam
post Mar 2 2010, 09:04 PM

QUOTE(jytanx @ Mar 2 2010, 08:15 PM)
I agree. Listening to the conventional gearbox types of revving really is fun. I drove a 4G city and am placing my booking on the NHC tomorrow. I was SO happy when I noticed about the changed of gearbox. 2 thumbs up.

Added on March 2, 2010, 8:29 pmBtw, just asking before getting the car. What's the proper way of breaking in a new car? There's 2 saying. Trash it after the 1st service, another saying is trash in before the 1st service. Sifu help?
I test drove the City before I bought it, um used to driving a manual, and i can say the new city's change of gearbox back to normal AT instead of CVT is very good. Never really liked CVT. I'd have to say the new AT feels really good in sports mode when you use the paddle shifters to downshift and overtake. It help for the fact that I was able to order a manual. tongue.gif
Loved it since day one. heheheh
arlam
post Mar 12 2010, 08:23 PM

Hi hi, picture says a thousand words

arlam
post Mar 12 2010, 11:11 PM

QUOTE(aarex @ Mar 12 2010, 10:41 PM)
Wow... thumbup.gif How much the Rim? and ur Ori rim trade in how much?  biggrin.gif
after trade in? SGP1600 (~RM3,786.52)
arlam
post Mar 13 2010, 04:51 PM

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Mar 13 2010, 02:57 PM)
Nice rims bro but why didn't u get hankook s1 evo which is better and higher performance? Did u lower your car?
over here, S1 Evo don't have 205/45/17. it's only 195/40/17 for entry S1 evo which makes it not an appropriate size at more than 3% smaller than my stock.

Added on March 13, 2010, 4:52 pm
QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Mar 13 2010, 02:57 PM)
Nice rims bro but why didn't u get hankook s1 evo which is better and higher performance? Did u lower your car?
No didn't lower the car, what you see in the picture, the car was still suspended, that's why the wheels look weird.

This post has been edited by arlam: Mar 13 2010, 04:52 PM
arlam
post Mar 13 2010, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Mar 13 2010, 08:28 PM)
I see bro. How heavy are your rims? How much is per tyre? Nice rims. Hankook v12 is a good tyre. Comfort and not too noisy. I am using it for my myvi. My city using s1 evo. A bit noiser but handling much better hehe. The v12 thread very aggressive

my rims cost me 1500 while s1 evo 1100. Expensive man Singapore. Once u used good tyres, u will know how lousy the city stock tyres in handling smile.gif
it's about 8.9kg each i think, didn't weight the original rims, anyone knows what weight it is?
What size S1 Evo you using?
I wanted S1 Evo, if not for the fact that there is no size for me.
wow! 1100 for S1 Evo is cheap! the V12 cost me about 1600!

I know how lousy the stock tyres is on the 1st week of getting my car.
I almost crashed the other day going downslope at 50-60km/h on a slightly wet/damp road.
ABS Kicked in while braking hard and I eventually had to downshift 2 gears before the car finally stopped.
arlam
post Mar 15 2010, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(spadecrew @ Mar 15 2010, 02:59 PM)

got a new set of rims rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  18" n wrapped in 215/35/r18 thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
WOW! it fits! my SA tells me it won't fit! and he say it will affect steering power!
that's why i stuck with 205/45/17
arlam
post Mar 15 2010, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(spadecrew @ Mar 15 2010, 03:24 PM)
yupz...it fits nicely with a damn big space like the car is hanging look...dislike that look..need to lowered the car....but when use 18" max height of tire can only be 35....40 will sangkut

whut do u mean by will affect steering power??

Added on March 15, 2010, 3:26 pm

you can buy in langkawi....no tax maa....when bring to mainland the gov will tax u n the price will be the same....if u want to keep it as a langkawi car...it can only on mainland if i'm not mistaken 1 month per year....
he told me best if stick with 16, 17 ok, but don't go wider than 205 cos the power steering pump may not be strong enough to tahan the weight, thus steering will become slower like kena stuck in mud.

arlam
post Mar 16 2010, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Mar 16 2010, 10:50 PM)
agree. don't bother with trade in value and all that la. just use what u have now till takde bunga then change to a better set of tyres
Agree, although I wanted to change in the 2nd week i got the car, i tahan until now almost 30k travelled and 3-4 skidding almost buang incidences, then i change to a good set of tyres and rims. brows.gif
arlam
post Mar 17 2010, 08:42 PM

QUOTE(sawmania @ Mar 17 2010, 08:18 PM)
anyone knows whether we need to warm up nhc 2009 everytime before driving or not?
my friend who is driving accord says no need
not sure about city
Don't know about our NHC's L15A, but from what I understand from some engines, there is a valve that closes so the water in the engine block don't flow during warm up, thus it "warms up" faster, anyways, it doesn't take long for warm up (unless after rainy cold day).

Just don't rev hard your engine during warm up.

Added on March 17, 2010, 8:46 pm
QUOTE(sawmania @ Mar 17 2010, 08:25 PM)
thanks for replying
on what rpm is count as reving?
2-7K rpm?!? blush.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif
heheheheheh

This post has been edited by arlam: Mar 17 2010, 08:46 PM
arlam
post Mar 19 2010, 09:42 PM

QUOTE(Jacks123 @ Mar 19 2010, 05:55 PM)
[attachmentid=1491413][attachmentid=1491409][attachmentid=1491411]

anyone know where can i get this type of skirt????it sold in malaysia or what???
Nice! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

0.0525sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:20 PM