how to play media files, just bought xbox360 elite

TSuniquexme
post Nov 16 2009, 08:18 AM, updated 17y ago

839 posts

guys, i just bought a xbox360 elite from USA coz i went there for holiday in Oct... so i got it modded to play backup games... while buying games, only then i realise that not every game is playable coz i get them to pop into the xbox to see if it runs before i pay... which makes me puzzle as the guy who served me are saying that xbox games are different from wii coz wii games states the region outside on the cover, while xbox are not stated. hence i assume that i can only play USA region games..... but anyway, its no big deal.... er.. i try asking the guy what modchip is installed, but he told me they are using softmod, which i assume is using program to mod.... hmm.. so can i enable it to play all region games?

Another thing i wanna know is how do we play movie with rmvb, avi, mkv extenstion on xbox? i plug in my external HDD, but the only files playable are wmv, as for avi, it does show the icon, but not playable, asking me to go to xboxlive.... or something... so guys, if i were to do the update, will it void the ability to play backup games? And if possible, is there anyway we can get those files on DVD coz i dun have internet connection in my home yet...

oh. another thing guys, i try to hook up my laptop running vista to xbox coz i m thinking of transfering some mp3 to the xbox HDD.. but i have no luck with this... how can we transfer files to xbox?
dark lenanza
post Nov 16 2009, 10:17 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

connect to live
download xbox media format from xbl marketplace
Jcsy
post Nov 16 2009, 10:33 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

transfer files to xbox? not really easy to do and must be in specific format .. biggrin.gif

use a thumb drive but u wouldnt be able to transfer just like that

xbox hard disk is slightly more "prisoned" and harder to get things in there

ps3 however, can just direct copy inside.. i heard.. i dont own 1 though =.=
msn83235502
post Nov 16 2009, 01:33 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

yeah..unfortunately..u can only play region free games or NTSC/UC games only. and it's kinda hard to get it since pirated games also follow Asian region.
advice, sell ur xbox.. get a new one here locally.

u cant transfer mp3 to ur hdd. what u can do is rip the song from cd. that's all.. haha..

hardmod maybe can enable u to play all region games..but hard to get.. and i'm not sure it can or not. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by msn83235502: Nov 16 2009, 01:35 PM
TongCN
post Nov 16 2009, 03:16 PM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,716 posts

Sometime the song hardly rip out from your own burned CD sad.gif
Orignal Audio CD 100% copy into...
Mamin
post Nov 16 2009, 10:29 PM

if you want to play unsupported files like mkv, rmvb, etc...I'd recommend you getting Tversity ( http://tversity.com ). You can't play them through a disc on your console, but you can put them onto your laptop's hdd and stream it from there using Tversity.
TSuniquexme
post Nov 17 2009, 06:43 AM

839 posts

hmm. can anyone advise if i update using the xbox live, will it refrain me from playing pirated games from then? also whats the best mod out there? softmod or modchip?
IccyAsd
post Nov 18 2009, 09:01 AM

846 posts

>.> please read other post about connecting yr modded xbox online, what will happen & so on.
msn83235502
post Nov 18 2009, 11:11 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Nov 17 2009, 06:43 AM)
hmm. can anyone advise if i update using the xbox live, will it refrain me from playing pirated games from then? also whats the best mod out there? softmod or modchip?
softmod wont let u play all region games.. modchip is kinda hard to find.. just sell the console. losing few hundred bucks doesnt really matter rite since u can took a holiday at states...

0.0163sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:33 PM