Philosophy Do Human Need Religion?, some people say they can live without it

xlidric
post Mar 15 2010, 09:35 AM

42 posts

to be honest.
if not for religion.
i wouldn't care about any human laws that governs us.
i would kill everyone i hate.
and i would steal for the sake of surviving.

i'm replying after i heard someone said religion is like electricity. something we can live without, but makes our lives easier.

you forget that today's world was built on religion.
every religion is basically the same, maybe except satanism.
all religion differentiates clearly between wrong and right.

if you think that the world is modern right now.
think again. you are rich, wealthy, can get internet, and post on lowyat.net
i'm sure you have a nice bedroom and a great toilet and dinner ready served on the table every night.
some things we take for granted. and we forget how lucky we are.
most religions tell you to be grateful, practice gratitude. give back to the poor.

let's say right now, i'm a poor fella. and you can imagine how many poor fellas there are out there.
and statistics have shown that in the poorer rural areas, religion is practiced more actively.
if not for religion, and if i was one of the poor fellas, to hell with human laws.
the first rich man i see, i'm gonna rob him, and i'm going to bring chaos. i'll make my other poor companions join me.
definitely will create war. perang saudara. die also die la, life also not worth living already. die also no afterlife what? so what to worry? better just die or steal.

most people forget that religion embraces gratitude. and when we are rich and wealthy, most men forget about religion.

i end this reply with a story of alexander the great (iskandar zulkarnain):
when king alexander was about to die, he asked for 3 wishes:
1. for his physicians to carry his coffin to the grave
2. for his treasures (gold and silver) to be the laid on the ground as his coffin is brought to the grave
3. for his hands to be dangling out of the coffin

his close companion told/asked him, "i shall fulfill all your requests my dear king but with all due respect, why all these strange requests?"

he answered:
1. to tell the world that no doctor can save your life. they are powerless and in the end you have to submit to death.
2. to tell the world that chasing wealth is a waste of time as these treasures cannot be brought along with me (though i understand that the chinese burn treasures to bring to the afterlife, i'm sorry if this statement has offended any)
3. to tell the world that i was born empty handed and i shall leave empty handed.

conclusion is, life is more than about chasing wealth. money helps being happy and comfortable. but chasing too much of it might just do the reverse.

This post has been edited by xlidric: Mar 15 2010, 09:50 AM
xlidric
post Mar 15 2010, 12:47 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Mar 15 2010, 10:05 AM)
the story about Alexander ask for his hands to be dangling out of the coffin is a myth, this same story have been use with Napoleon. and i dont believe Alexander is driven by wealth i think he is more driven by desire to achieve fame and the glory of conquest and thus obtain immortality in the history book.

the argument that without religion no one will follow laws does not make any sense, the secular country often have lower crime rate than more religious country. Europe should become more and more unstable since WW2 if your argument is true, but as Europe become more and more secular, there is no more war fight between them and they enjoy the best quality of living in the world. in the past they get hardly go 30 years without getting into one major war.
Myth or no myth. I didn't say it was true. The morals of the story are there. You don't need something true to inspire someone or make them realize.

You have obviously forgotten that the westerners are all joyously living happily with their wealth and stable economy. That is what makes a country peaceful. Their economy. If you say being non-religious relates to less crime, have you seen the statistics on wealth disparity?

They have forgotten all about religion, and all wealthy men do. But they also forget that religion has been the very foundation of their country and history.

In the olden days, people went to war for ideologies and wealth. These days it's still the same. Whether it be a physical war between U.S. and Middle East stealing oil. Or mentally, by telling all the developing countries to cut back on green house emissions and not develop as rapidly. Ever read what happened in Copenhagen? Ever heard about whites plotting for the 1997/98 asian financial crisis? You think the greenhouse effect is a full proof theory? It's a bloody white man's theory. If you ask me, tell the west to destroy their buildings and build more trees.

Think about it in terms of human rights, everyone should deserve to live the best quality of living as you've already said. The west are obviously trying to control the world economy, sustaining the wealth that they already have.

If you want to look in terms of country, fine. Look at your dumb statistics. Only 10000 people died in NYC WTC. More than 1000x died in Afghan/Iraq, and they are STILL dying.
Think about it in terms of the whole world. You think the wealthy controlling the world isn't a crime? They are all sinners chasing wealth. They do it subliminally. Pure capitalism.

You will never ever see CNN showing the terrible scenes and what not in Iraq. Have you seen the new movie The Hurt Locker. Pure mind control that is. A self indulging movie where they portray 3 bomb disarmers in Iraq going through a "tough life". Winner of best picture for the academy awards. How controversial...

So back to your argument, 30 years without getting into a major war? Best quality of living? Just think of it in a broader picture. In China, they say they have the highest pollution. But when you see it in terms of per capita, or should I rather say, per HUMAN RIGHTS; they're not even on the top 20 list. Australia's the highest followed by the U.S. So before you look for statistics within a country on religion, just remember that that's pure bullshit propaganda.

This post has been edited by xlidric: Mar 15 2010, 12:54 PM
xlidric
post Mar 15 2010, 02:37 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Mar 15 2010, 01:27 PM)
why discussing about the effect of religion you rumbling about the white man conspiracy? are all european white, are all american white? how does this have to do with religion?

and about CNN no showing terrible scenes in Iraq, have you seen any gory image on CNN? they cannot show then, which tv station except those on premium cable paid tv are allow to show gory image?

also what is so controversial about the hurt locker, is it wrong to have a movie about bomb squad, or must every iraq movie be about the evil white man come to killed innocent civilian?

China do have highest level of pollution, have you seen how polluted china major city are? but china is not stuck in blaming everything on the evil white man, they know pollution and energy security are paramount to country's future, they are moving in a big way into clean energy, so that they can leap frog the US and other developed country. and the communist central control of the country may well make then adopt green tech faster than any other country.
obviously you didn't read the part where i said "If you want to look in terms of country, fine. Look at your dumb statistics"

your statistics are country based.
and i'm saying here, that your peaceful non-religious european countries are all a single entity guilty for committing war crimes. you want to say the european countries are "peaceful" and relating it to them not being religious. pure deviation.
and ooo cnn cannot show gory, but can show people jumping off wtc in their last moments of desperation. yaya save me your lame argument on that please. and about china's polluted city, obviously you didn't read the "per capita" part. or maybe you just don't understand.

also on your cheap shot on me calling the west "whites". it's a metaphor. lol. you must be real grown up not to have realized that. you can call me racist but i'm sticking to my generalisation.

china was stuck in Copenhagen. again obviously you didn't read any post mortem on that. sure they're gonna adopt green tech. but hopefully not by means of buying tech from the west and cooperating with google. haha.

p/s: it's "rambling" not "rumbling". this ain't wwe.
xlidric
post Mar 16 2010, 10:09 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Mar 15 2010, 04:04 PM)
the religious indifferent of the Europe today are is influence by the the event of WW2, the holocaust is partly cause by the christian tradition of discrimination against the Jews, the Pope even done deal with Hitler. the destruction of the war made people wonder where is this loving God, why have he not strike down those Nazi before they can get the war started?

CNN show people jumping of building, but does they show the bodies when they hit the ground. the thing you are complaining is that CNN does not how bodies being blow up in the markets in Iraq?

Australia dont have the highest per capita carbon emission country like Qatar, UAE, Kuwait, Bahrain, Aruba ... are higher. but you cannot compare the Australia with China level of pollution. Australia is the size of an entire continent but with only 22 million people. China have 60 time more population, several city have more people that entire Australia, so the effect of pollution are going to be more intense since so many people are pack together. thus the pollution in cites become a major problem for the chinese official.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_count...ions_per_capita

how come China is stuck in Copenhagen? they could have refuse to sign, what can the other country do to china. impose sanction on currently the biggest growing economy while the world is trying to get out of recession? China and India just last week agree to join the goal of limiting the rise in global temperatures to no more than 2 degrees Celsius, or 3.6 degrees Fahrenheit, beyond pre-industrial levels. China know very well they can profit from the green energy, they are the best market to roll out these technology in large scale.
wow so now the europeans are in peace because they seek retribution from the aftermath of the holocaust? hmmm. okay you can have your say but seriously, wars are still going on till today between countries. remember russia and georgia? last last year only. and they're barely religious countries. ideologists/communists. georgia was a country struggling with it's economy and their US-educated president moved forward with military development. note that russia and georgia are considered developing countries (not first world) still not as wealthy and developed as west europe.

nazi's were also ideologists, not religious people. if you think they are christians going against jews, that's inaccurate. every religion teaches peace. nazis conspired that jews would one day take over the world, even till today that is still an on-going conspiracy. so you blame religion? or ideologists?

did i mention anything about bomb-blowing? lol. a simple show of how they are being treated in iraq is good enough. but guess what they show? haitians being rescued by the oh-so-loving americans. of course they look good. got money give la. in the end look good, but still got enough cash to be prosperous and wealthy. you really don't believe in media control do you?

lol and your wikipedia data is outdated. that's 2006 data when the middle east were developing massively. please get your 2009 data and then talk. and duh, of course countries with a larger pop will cause higher pollution. but isn't that fair? i breath the same air you breath. if i pollute 1mg of CO2, you should too. and you say that since australia got bigger land? so what. per capita doesn't include land. if i have 22mil people. the amount of CO2 emissions should be linear. why do the australians get to have more factories, more development and what not? and you forget that 1/3 of australia is covered with desert. and in true fact china has a bigger land size than australia + it's islands combined anyway.

china doesn't have the technology capabilities. they have the limitless number of cheap labour. their green tech is immature. why do you think obama had to resort in a green economy? nothing else to go for what. end tail of development already. seriously they should just pay american citizens to plant trees. if you say china can "profit" with single moms working 2 shifts at factories, that's just sad. in the end, who holds the wealth? who's living a better life? soon they will come up with a new idea, just watch.

and in all of this you conclude due to them being non-religious hence they are more peaceful.
here's mine:
human equality (not in terms of communism) = world peace
everyone knows asians are more hardworking than the west.
religion = a way of life and the very base and foundation of today's world
if killing wasn't a sin, i'd get on a plane and shoot george bush for committing war crimes. why tony blair kena charge but he never kena? think about it. it's a clear cut of who's controlling the world today. and it's controlled without human equality.
xlidric
post Mar 18 2010, 09:38 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Mar 16 2010, 02:09 PM)
you said that religion is the foundation of today world, and if there is no religion you would be free to kill anyone you hate. then why is it the middle east, the origin or world major religion is no heaven on earth where everyone do not sin and follow the teaching of religion.

so your point is because the European countries are rich and developed that is why they have low crime rate, while other poor country though religious but turn to crime due to poverty?

i dont believe you need religion to follow the law, you just need effective enforcement of laws, moral are not exclusive to religion. if religion is required why is the Czech republic no in chaos right now, they have the lowest number of people believe in god and even those that do believe, do trust organized religion.
law is created by man. morals are created by man. which man is superior enough to tell me what i can and cannot do? the world was in chaos before religion (dark ages). incest, rape, murder, killings of babies etc. did you ever think it was human morals that stopped all these doings rather than religion being the very base of determining wrong doings. let's say we were still in the dark ages, would incest be a trend? a normality? perhaps after science discovers that it was cause inbreeding, then would humans stop. but wait. let's talk about homosexuality. obviously everyone has their own right, but everyone isn't stupid enough to know that being homosexuals will not sustain the human race. look at america, a world torn down without religion, and homosexuals are in the uprising. now being homo is becoming a normality having others lose the sanctity of marriage. kids now have a reason to "not like" the opposite sex, an easy answer for them is to resort being gay/lesbian. so which human law is going to stop that? they're slowly growing, now if i'm not mistaken states of florida and san fran have made it legal for same sex marriage. let's just say one day all these homos come up with a new virus even deadlier than HIV. ever thought about the consequences?

so you say middle east is bounded by war and crime. who came into iraq/afghan? americans, british, french, germans etc you name it. to find weapons of mass destruction? to find al qaeda? to seek revenge on 10000 americans that died in 911 and kill millions? which human law stopped that? which human law charged george w bush when tony blair was easily charged for war crimes? you talk about moral? f*** that. enforcement my ass. let's look at dubai. richhhhhhhhhhh. ever see anything there? chaos? nope. don't think so right? wow. how come? human laws? morals? the great prince is the ever so giving and kind? it all comes down to the wealthy and the powerful.

you talk about czech being non religious. alright. in terms of political stability and wealth they're fine. they rank top on the global peace index. similar to new zealand. would they be ever so different if they were religious? do you really think that if they were religious that chaos would come upon them? especially new zealand??? their country is at peace. stability. like i've said earlier, every wealthy man will in the end forget about religion. the need for gratitude is no longer there. there was one day when new zealand was religious. but all that faded away when they had everything. loss of gratitude leads to loss of religion. i've mentioned to you before on your country statistics, especially the global peace index, is a subliminal attack and propaganda against religion. and someone such as you has fallen for it very convincingly. it's just so funny how they put peace beside religiousness statistics instead of other comparable factors and data.

i won't defy the fact that the world is changing and becoming modern and this is the time that religion needless. but one day, when humans don't have anyone to turn to, they will eventually come back and lean on an idea/concept that shaped the world as we know today. religion.

This post has been edited by xlidric: Mar 18 2010, 09:44 AM
xlidric
post Mar 19 2010, 12:22 PM

42 posts

did i say everyone's gonna turn gay? sexual preference? yeah so what? against nature itself. if you're saying that emitting co2 is causing the destruction of nature f*** that. i don't care. no one has the right to question whether i want to pollute or not. so go to hell with the green house bullshit stories? smile.gif

have you ever heard to pornstars are admitted into hospitals in the US everyday for STI? you think they're practicing religion? you think that one day any type of STIs won't be immune to our ever-so-expiring medications? same case with gays. majority of them get AIDS via sodomy. you think creating rubber latex condoms and inserting it into the anus is a natural thing to do? who has the right to question them? nature itself. also gay people say they're just born that way. wow. what a great excuse. all natural right? now kids who think they're homos can all just resort to being gay. i hope your kid does.

and america the most religious nations. LOLz. haven't been to mecca or syria have you? i would also say the vatican is a small and religious nation, but the rumours about are rapidly growing there.
america is filled with christians. but their religion is dead. they don't practice. majority don't.
they're just christian by registration.
i like how you're so educated reading the times and newsweek and no other source of unfiltered info delivered by the west. it's no wonder you're like this.

haha. so you believe what bush said? clap clap clap. once a liar always a liar. weapons of mass destruction?
have you even seen how the WTC magically demolished itself into oblivion?
ever heard of the Carlyle Group?
wait let's not forget. where the f*** is bin laden? suddenly everyone just forgot?
went to war because God ordered him to do it. LOL.
it's like saying anwar ibrahim committed sodomy. TWICE. what a cheap lie.

baseless claims? facts right? your facts are so filtered it's so boring to hear what you have to say because i've heard it all.

practiced in moderation. yaya. we've heard all the lame excuses. yada yada yada.

and duh america as a country is in debt you doofus. highly geared on china. everyone knows that.
but who's doing the hard labour? china or america? who's living the easier life?
"don't i read?" ooooooooo cheap shot wise guy. lol.

Quote from robertngo:

bwaahahahahaha you serious? ban straight sex? oh when will that day become i wonder. perhaps when technology comes up with a way for gays to reproduce. lol.

i don't think i'll even bother replying your next replies because people with religion suddenly have been accused of being shallow. yes the modern world as we know today disses religion everyday. i will accept all your hard "evidence" and "facts" via wikipedia, newsweek and times. smile.gif i suppose us shallow people can hide in our holes now.

This post has been edited by xlidric: Mar 19 2010, 12:26 PM
xlidric
post Mar 26 2010, 09:48 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(CleverDick @ Mar 24 2010, 01:04 PM)
first off,i don't want to elaborate on how HIV spreads,read this before your misconception gets deeper...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AIDS
and read these as well cuz homosexuality is NOT exclusive to humans,animals have been observed to display homosexual behavior and this gives scientists the indication that,sexual preference might be somehow genetically determined along with several other factors, together influence the sexual proclivity of animals...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biology_and_sexual_orientation
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animal_sexual_behavior
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Choice_and_sexual_orientation
last but not least,you have just showed me how distorted and narrow minded a religious person can be,let me just share some of my personal experience with you,I used to say and do exactly the same thing as what you're doing right now when I was a devoted believer,but after running several rounds of debate with a group of erudite atheists(actually not a debate,feud is the more appropriate term,i condemned while they carried out the debate reasonably and sensibly),i started to question my belief,did an investigation regarding my belief,and i realized that religion is not as benign as people thought it was and i soon quit my belief after that ,btw,you've made me curious ,have you ever questioned your belief?what makes you think it's the absolute truth and the 'sacred' book you read is believable?is the book inerrant?does religion turn me into someone that I don't even recognize? have you ever asked yourself these questions?anyway, if you think that religion does,to some extent,helps you to become a better person and you find comfort in what you believe,then go ahead,but DON'T impose your belief on others as if it was an irrefutable fact that everyone is obliged to practice...
quoted from your o-lovable wikipedia
"...and the risk for transmitting HIV through unprotected anal intercourse is greater than the risk from vaginal intercourse or oral sex."

what misconceptions you were saying again? smile.gif

and oh wait, we're suddenly comparing ourselves to animals? hmmm what happened to the gift our brain and free will?
an excuse for being homo, mass adultery and what not will always fall back on science.
i'm not blaming science or anything. it does give you the facts.
i guess i'll just be homo now since science just explained everything for me rather than relying on religion to re-align the natural order.

and yes i've questioned my belief. let's go back to science.
theories suggests that everything was created via the big bang. and we know that matter can be created out of nothing (anti-matter). let's talk about time. some scientists has theorised that time was created. and it is part of another dimension. that there was a beginning of time. others believe that time has always existed, but this will rule out the fact that time travel is impossible which contradicts what one of the greatest scientist, einstein has ever said. so enough blabber about quantum physics, would you rather believe that the everything was created without the hands of a supreme being? there are more stars than there are grains of sands on earth. how bout you re-question your disbelief?

and you call me narrow minded? lol.
i've probably watched every conspiracy out there against/on religion. i did my phd on the relationship between science/religion and i've probably read more about religion than you. the question is now, have you? or you just gave yourself another excuse to give up the belief bestowed upon you by your parents and did not go anywhere from there? religion, just like science, relies a lot on research and reading. you've probably become a victim of what i simply call "the easier way out".
xlidric
post Mar 26 2010, 04:09 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(CleverDick @ Mar 26 2010, 12:52 PM)
1.as ianlee pointed out,heterosexuals as well have the risk of infected by HIV,but you fervently claimed that the homosexuals are condemnable because they somewhat have higher risk of getting infected?i mean,come on,every individual has the risk of getting infected if unprotected and promiscuous sex are upheld,if this is not misconception then what is it?
2.next,you're not answering the question,i was talking about science and now you're redirecting me back to religion,argument is considered invalid here....
3.we are yet to unfold the complete puzzles regarding the birth of the universe,so it's utterly fallacious to use these uncertainties as the evidence of your god's existence,again this is not a valid argument,and throughout the comments you have committed at least two logical fallacies,if using fallacies to strengthen your argument is the best you can do,then i must say,you're totally undeserving of the title PHD since PHD in my impression,is the one that could think critically and reasonably,however in your case,the opposite is true...
with respect to your last paragraph of your remarks,ironically,the more research i do,the more that i'm convinced that religion is nothing more than an entity that drives people going towards extreme agressiveness,and the book that is claimed holy(inerrant!?) throughout the history is just a compilation of unreasonabilities and unreliabilities,contradictions throughout,backed by fragmented evidence,most of the instances evidence found are against it,not supporting it(not to mention it holds absolutely no ground in the face of concrete scientific evidence that are against it),even the greatest religious scholars of all time are no longer able to defend effectively,the history of religion?well,full of violence,intolerance and not the otherwise was promoted,unreserved massacre incited by religion is found throughout the history,the injustice is still happening now,though have been scaled down considerably,thanks to the enforcement of laws.All these things led me to conclude that religion is totally unreasonable,you may convince yourself and argue that,oh well,there must be explanations for these,or in your case,brand them as conspiracies?but the more investigations you do,the more it strays you away from your religion,not brings closer....

Added on March 26, 2010, 12:59 pm
yet he claimed that he's a PHD student,do you believe that?
ooo contradictions. 60% of heteros have anal sex. how many % of that are religious? lol.
unprotected/promiscuous sex... hmmm, which human law controls these acts if not the good practice of religion?
back to the birth of the universe, we have no answers. i've already said they're theories. all we have is something, but without an explanation. when will science provide full-proof evidence of it?
i am merely a scholar whom relates science, religion and politics. it's a fact that people are leaning more towards science instead of religion. more and more think religion isn't something required anymore. but i theorised that people will fall back on it in the end eventually.
the belief in a supreme being is also theory. just like science, theories are ready to cross over to being facts. but such a far-fetched theory is impossible to be a fact. and just like many theories, it is only logical to believe that it took more than just pure coincidence of how the universe was born.
i also believe in newton's third law. balance. for every extremist out there, there are the peaceful and humble. but all we see on tv are violence coz peace is just so boring to watch.

0.0192sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:17 PM