Philosophy Do Human Need Religion?, some people say they can live without it

maranello55
post Dec 8 2009, 02:56 PM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(kubing @ Dec 7 2009, 01:16 PM)
go watch cannibal holocaust. then you know why people need god..
go watch 9/11 and u'll see why ppl dont need god.

Added on December 8, 2009, 2:58 pm
QUOTE(perswis @ Dec 8 2009, 02:24 PM)
People need religion because it should provide a standardize way of living morally that does not change with the change of time.
Religion have different standards between themselves.

This post has been edited by maranello55: Dec 8 2009, 02:58 PM
maranello55
post Jan 30 2010, 05:16 PM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(SevenTwentyOne @ Jan 29 2010, 12:08 PM)
Religion provides a solution for humankind that is curious in its nature of questioning the person behind all these thing that we seen, like the universe, earth, etc. Because the people feels like there should be 'the one' that creates and manage all the thing in life and also a feeling of security that there are 'a higher order' brings about the need of religion among people.

Also, religion unites people from various geographical locations, ethnic, races and strata under one single belief. While the most important factor would be it teaches good value and moral, something that distinguishes the human from other living beings.

Added on January 29, 2010, 12:11 pm

This is not kopitiam, please do away with such replies.
Religion provides basic moral guides for early civilizations to kick start humanity. But now, like a child on a tricycle, we just rise and stroll away.

Religion and unity is just an illusion. It comforting to know that there is another group of person believing in a same God on the other part of the globe. But U are divided by nationalism and capitalism, amongst other things that religion are powerless to handle.

Good values and moral teaching can be found not only in religion. U can draw example from the order that the ancient Greek have. Their superior social heirarchy and the invention of Democracy.
maranello55
post Oct 18 2010, 03:08 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Oct 15 2010, 11:12 PM)
science is not a guideline. science is knowledge/tool. atheist's guideline is their own moral compass and some say the golden rule
Science is a manifestation of how mankind have moved on. It is how the mind have evolved over the ages.

Think about it. We are made of stardusts, and becoming a sentient being, we are studying abt stardust and being aware and learnt about our own beginnings. Like Carl Sagan said,

"we, who embody the local eyes and ears and thoughts and feelings of the cosmos, have begun to wonder about our origins star stuff contemplating the stars, organized collections of ten billion billion billion atoms, contemplating the evolution of nature, tracing that long path by which it arrived at consciousness here on the planet earth to that cosmos ancient and vast from which we spring." -Sagan

We (the humans that originated from stardusts) are the Universe (because we were stardusts and humans, a part of the universe) becoming aware of itself!

The universe spawned us, for us to be aware of itself! make sense?
maranello55
post Oct 18 2010, 09:29 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(setanselatan @ Oct 18 2010, 03:43 AM)
Science says we are evolution from a stardust...
Science says that we came from monkeys...
Why the dust on the ground still a dust after thousands of years...
And why monkey still a monkey after thousands of years...
Not all stardust turned to mass n living organism. The stardust that they talk abt is not normal dust u see on ur table. It contain vital elements for the creation of planets and stars, thus living organism if the condition permits.

Not all monkeys turned to humans. Some extincts and some moved on. Its natural selection. And evolution dont happen in thousands of years. Homo sapiens emerged around 250,000 years ago. We wont see any changes in evolution in our lifetime. We can see that thru fossils found and thru carbon dating.
maranello55
post Oct 18 2010, 11:38 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(SpikeMarlene @ Oct 18 2010, 11:11 AM)
At some point in our discoveries, we have come to understand the world to be much bigger, much more awesome and mysterious than what were narrated and given by holy books. God as described in those holy books seems petty, small, emotional, pale in comparison with what we would now think a god should be. There may well be some kind of a god out there but definitely it is not the one given to us by some ancient goat herder or some wandering nomad tribe. How much more confidence that we need from firmly knowing the world than to buy into the ambigious and frequently wrong visions of these religions?

We need a "religion" but not the ones from the past.
Religion WAS a good guide to kick-start humanity and we WERE progressing as a civilization because of it. But its time has passed and now its the time for a new religion to tackle new challenges.
Apparently, with 3 main religion is in childish conflict in the middle east (as Bill Maher put it). I cant find it convincing for the same ppl from the same creed to take about peace and tolerance.

God in the Koran and in the Bible does not suit as a Supreme Being and the creator of the universe having to send a soul to be tormented in hell for eternity for some temporary sin on earth. Fairness in punishment is not there.

An eye for an eye.

If the Most Just and Most Fair does not give us this example, then who will.

Koranic and Biblical God were there to educate ppl in that intended period alone - be it thru fear of eternal fire. But as mankind has evolved, God should treat that development with respect and give us a new revelation, instead of putting a stop to it all with Armageddon and Judgement Day. It will be such a waste to His own creation which has grown to be such an intelligent being. Does He afraid that we have grown to be too smart?
maranello55
post Nov 16 2010, 12:22 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Nov 15 2010, 11:55 PM)
It did. But that's probably not because religion is to blamed, but religion CAN be CONVENIENTLY blamed. Remove religion out of the picture, and you will see war will still happen, and instead of blaming religion, they will simply justify that survival of the fittest is really, the evolutionary imperative for all mankind, hence, justifying war.
Religion is the cause of the Crusades. It is not a convenient reason. It is the fact why it happened. If u remove religion out of the Crusades, there will be no war.

Fact is there are confrontations of course, and not all of them caused by religion, but there are so religion IS one of the causes of confrontation. War, wuteva the cause is, indeed is the trial of the more powerful or survival of the fittest. Its not because one is holier than the other, like wut holywars believed in.

Added on November 16, 2010, 12:25 amReligion do not unite races. Take Islam and how it is weak, divided and leaderless. It has been separated into clans, nationality, continents and packs. Do not use Haj as an example because thats what they have to do anyways, for personal salvation and not for the unity of the brotherhood.

This post has been edited by maranello55: Nov 16 2010, 12:25 AM
maranello55
post Nov 16 2010, 01:36 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Nov 14 2010, 04:21 AM)
It helps with the moral compass, usually. I wouldn't force a religion to a man's throat, but to those who think a world without a religion is a wonderful utopia, you might have forgotten the abusive nature of mankind to their taken-for-granted-selfish-benefits, i.e. human nature.

There was an idea, which I think it has formed its way into a novel, about a visionary who actually built a city with no religions, no restrictions, no censorship, basically total freedom.

Guess what happened?

Human nature got in the way. And it was discovered that even the absence of religion, is, in ACTUALITY, a religion in human nature itself.

The city falls, only because of one man's vision of a city with no religion. He thought he will enrich man's advancement in science and humanity itself, alas, he did not understand the intangible implications of human nature itself, conveniently forgetting that religion might be just the answer for that.
QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Nov 15 2010, 04:56 AM)
No, you don't understand. The novel made it clear that with religion ceased to exist, the moral compass becomes utilitarianism, and with the progress of science and technology, humanity's expectations become higher as well, changing all standards of utilitarianism, conveniently gratifying what may be thier biggest vices, and that is usually SELFISHNESS and GREEDINESS.

That is human nature. Perhaps one or two people in a community will have their own self-created virtues and moralities, but if PEOPLE actually found out that they will have NO CONSEQUENCES to even the SLIGHTEST VICE in their lives, they will partake larger crimes I will assure you.

And your example of Resident Evil is weak. The comunities of Resident Evil are typically like our modern world, with technology co-existing with religion. The novel about the city without religion is an idea of the absence of religion is ACTUALLY a religion unto itself. That means while people do not carry the names of their religion to do their killing, they carry on the ABSENCE of religion, as an evolutionary imperative, that they should have the right to kill someone for they are the superior ones, forever never compromising with those who are weak.

RELIGION = Kill in the name of religion

NO RELIGION = Kill for the sake of evolutionary imperative, i.e. survival of the fittest, as how human nature dictates it.
QUOTE(maranello55 @ Oct 18 2010, 11:38 AM)
Religion WAS a good guide to kick-start humanity and we WERE progressing as a civilization because of it. But its time has passed and now its the time for a new religion to tackle new challenges.
Apparently, with 3 main religion is in childish conflict in the middle east (as Bill Maher put it). I cant find it convincing for the same ppl from the same creed to take about peace and tolerance.

God in the Koran and in the Bible does not suit as a Supreme Being and the creator of the universe having to send a soul to be tormented in hell for eternity for some temporary sin on earth. Fairness in punishment is not there.

An eye for an eye.

If the Most Just and Most Fair does not give us this example, then who will.

Koranic and Biblical God were there to educate ppl in that intended period alone - be it thru fear of eternal fire. But as mankind has evolved, God should treat that development with respect and give us a new revelation, instead of putting a stop to it all with Armageddon and Judgement Day. It will be such a waste to His own creation which has grown to be such an intelligent being. Does He afraid that we have grown to be too smart?
maranello55
post Nov 16 2010, 10:09 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Nov 16 2010, 05:50 AM)
You were discussing the specifics of religion of how it can be used to cause wars.

Yet you forget, of how religion can be distorted, and how religion is actually not perfect.

You may view religion as a perfect guidance as a moral compass, but what you didn't realize about religion is that, it is the ONLY thing to deters humanity's lack-of-intelligence moments when they are at its most emotional state. Those who deny this has no understanding of the human psyche.

I was implying that the human psyches are the causes of sex and violence, hence war, be it with religion or not.

Religion has become a tool for war, and yet you blame it on religion and call it the "cause", when the cause is ACTUALLY HUMAN NATURE.
No...i was stating an example of a religious war. Ive said earlier that religion is not a cause for all wars, some caused by it and some caused by other things.
I do not share religion as 'a perfect guidance' or as a 'moral compass'. As in my quote earlier, I said that it WAS a good kick-start but it has passed its time.

Of course its human phsyce. No denying that. But what provoked such is another factor - it can be religion or race or other things.
Human phsyce is the tool of manipulation to cause violance. U provoke ppl to hurt another by spreading war propagandae, or spread hate into one race or religious group. Hence trigger emotion n reaction.

Bolded - u may see in most cases, that is not the case. Religion mostly become the fuel to the fire. Im not denying it but the evidence around us speaks for itself. All I need to have to stop getting angry and being provoked. If im not in the religion in the first place, others wont have anything to provoked me abt, hence save confrontation.

maranello55
post Nov 16 2010, 10:34 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Nov 16 2010, 09:08 AM)
The one "less" tool is imaginary, and inevitably there will be another tool.

You see, the "tool" is a symptom of mankind's disease of causing wars.

But if you were to find a "cure", you don't just cure the symptoms, you cure the disease.

That disease, is human emotions, and human nature itself.

Can you remove human nature?

There will be a new debate going on if people are focusing on that instead of religion.

What's funny is, instead of blaming human nature's superstitions and imaginations, they blame ON the superstitions and imaginations.

Whether religion is man-made or not, it has been used, modified, for misinterpretations.

To blame on religion for being making humanity stupid is to exempt the infinite possibilities that humanity can be stupid in many ways, i.e. human nature.

Why blame religion for making people stupid, ALLOWING people to believe that the removal of religion will also remove their stupidity as well?

This is how it'll happen:

Remove religion, and mankind's will find a NEW religion:

It is called utilitarianism. Will mankind be so stupid to use this a new tool like how do they do it in religion? Oh yes. It is called, the evolutionary imperative, the best excuse for the superior to have TOTAL power over the inferior, justifying MURDER and KILLING as a NATURAL RULE for the survival of the fittest, esepcially the rule of "good and evil" are beset among those who in the majority who THINK it's good because it serves their purpose, and to those who studied psychology, the emotion of FEAR, will finally have NEW excuses to think that "necessary evils" are completely justifiable by utilitarianian rule. And will that start another war? You bet.

And those who like NUMBERS, and think religion caused the most deaths in wars, Y'ALL OBVIOUSLY HAVE NOT HEARD OF GENGHIS KHAN'S GENOCIDES, which is completely non-religious.
Remember it is also human psyche that make us decide not to cause war as well. Human phsyce is not all negative.

The new religion will not work because we as a civilization learn from our past and its time for us to move on as a better species. The new religion is as simple as to embrace new ideas and leave the old and obsolete. But many will stay in the old premise of religion, trapped in time and fear. Which is their choice, which is also human pshyce to be able to choose.

I never state religion as the BIGGEST KILLER OF ALL. Religion IS one of the reason, but not all the time. If u wanna compare Genghis Khan and the Crusades, Conquistadores, The Inquisition, the Witch Hunt and the 911, all involve killing. It is what motivates them to do it matters here. U cant remove human psyche. But we all have a choice.

maranello55
post Nov 16 2010, 11:45 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Nov 16 2010, 10:46 AM)
You must be quite naive about the human psyche to think that mankind are more inclined to do good than evil. Human nature is not all negative, but most it is. Only a few are able to see through their own vices, and live beyond it, in comparison to the masses of other humans. If you have studied social psychology along the history, you will realize that most of humanity are always enveloped in fear, laziness, and stupidity, leaving only a VERY FEW smart an wise ones who are often taken for granted.
If u wanna stay n be engulfed in the negativity, its ur choice. One thing u should learn from ur study and history is try not to repeat it. One reason why there are still negativity is because there are people thinking like u.
Im moving forward. Change, if u desire for it, comes from within, which is also the human psyche.

This post has been edited by maranello55: Nov 16 2010, 11:46 AM
maranello55
post Nov 16 2010, 11:53 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Nov 16 2010, 11:48 AM)
Look around you, and tell me negativity isn't in the reality of humanity. You and I may not be negative about certain things, but I'm sure you're old enough to understand why there are more stupid people than smart ones in life.
Where did i say theres NO negativity? doh.gif
If theres more stupid people, then there is alot of positive things to do abt that, rite? laugh.gif
maranello55
post Nov 16 2010, 12:47 PM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Nov 16 2010, 12:01 PM)
Not when you trace back the human psyche back to its roots and origins.

It is like questioning black matter and the Big Bang itself.
Neither that i argue the negativity in the past DIDNT HAPPEN.

Wut im saying is move on and advance as a better civilization and species.

0.0568sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:54 PM