The Spectacles Thread

theandy95
post Feb 5 2013, 12:05 AM

120 posts

Guys what do u all think of this pair of spectacles? (Picture taken from a random blog I stumbled upon, while searching for the man in the picture,whose name is Ethan Curzon, acted before in JinnyBoy's videos)

theandy95
post Feb 6 2013, 12:27 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Feb 5 2013, 12:54 AM)
its called clubmaster, kind of old trend now, its been at least 1 year since hollywood artist wear this type of frame.
Oh so what's the latest trend now? I thought this specs and those big black frames are the latest trends? They are not already considered old trends are they ohmy.gif
theandy95
post Feb 6 2013, 11:07 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Feb 6 2013, 02:17 AM)
nerdy look glasses, like rayban RB5281 - 2000 .
Wow that looks pretty ugly to me.

How about these kind: RayBan
theandy95
post Feb 6 2013, 10:54 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(rroflyc @ Feb 6 2013, 10:49 PM)
Thick plastic frames has been the "trend" for like, ages. Everywhere you go everyone, and I mean everyone sports one. Do we really need another guy on the street looking generic? I think no.
End of the day, it's a question of what frame suits your face shape. Disregard trend or whatever. I noticed you were looking at Clubmasters earlier. What's to stop you from wearing one if you like the look and it suits your face? Poster above says it's an old trend, to be exact the look was quite happening around 2009. Never really took off here though, Malaysian tastes are weird. They can't accept the Clubmaster but think that weird cyber-punk spectacles look fine.
So if I wear a Clubmaster, people might see me and think what kind of weird specs is that right?

Of course I know the specs must suit my face, but I also do not want a funny-looking specs that might make people laugh at me . I am who I am and I do not care what others think of me, but I also want to look good with a nice-looking pair of spectacles man smile.gif So maybe u guys here can recommend me some nice glasses? From pics on the internet I can already judge if it suits my face or not nod.gif

This post has been edited by theandy95: Feb 6 2013, 10:54 PM
theandy95
post Feb 6 2013, 11:13 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(rroflyc @ Feb 6 2013, 11:10 PM)
Your first preference is the Clubmaster, yeah? Do you think you look good in Clubmasters? If yes, disregard what others think. It's a question of taste. If an ah beng came and told you your Aviators look stupid, would you care? And would you like to be everyone else, with the safest taste possible?
If it's too bold for you, then do look through premium eyeglass makers for some tips. You could always see what Porsche Design has for example, then pick something similar to it. Heck, you could mention your face shape and let the people choose for you.
Yea how much would a pair of Clubmaster cost? And can I buy a frame from somewhere, then get the lenses done at an eye hospital perhaps?

I'm not really that deep into designs of glasses, so could u give me a link for those premium eyeglass makers u mean? And I think my face shape is oval/strong.
theandy95
post Feb 7 2013, 03:29 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(rroflyc @ Feb 6 2013, 11:19 PM)
Just google Porsche Design, browse around. They tend to make very classic eyeglasses, conservative yet modern. Regarding the cost of Clubmasters, I would say you can get a discount of maybe 40% or more off RRP of rm650+. Be careful though, Ray Bans are known for being counterfeited.
You can always get the prescription glasses done separately, no problems with that. But maybe you'd have to look around, Clubmasters sold here only comes in 51 and quite big so maybe the lens could be a problem.
Thanks for the info. So eyeglasses are becoming more of a fashion accessory already isn't it? Even people who don't need to wear any glasses start wearing those plastic frames just to blend in. I hate those stereotype that think wearing glasses are for nerds or geeks. I have been wearing glasses for years and I think it makes me look pretty good. Doesn't mean I'm a geek/nerd or anything like that.
theandy95
post Feb 8 2013, 01:35 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(rroflyc @ Feb 8 2013, 01:13 AM)
Yeah they are, the power of the mass media. Everyone thinks it's cool to sport a pair of acetates now. As for those who thinks glasses are for nerds, maybe they should turn the TV on or something. Last time I checked Jay-Z is far from a nerd. Silly primary school kids, he he!
What are acetates? Just recently watched a video from a famous Youtuber, and when he said that when he wear glasses and feel like a nerd, I felt something,lol. Not sure if he was just joking or it was for the sake of the video, but this stereotype has got to go man.

This post has been edited by theandy95: Feb 8 2013, 01:36 PM
theandy95
post Feb 11 2013, 05:48 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Bill2012 @ Feb 11 2013, 12:05 AM)
Need a sweat proof (titanum, stainless steel?) frames, not able to afford branded one for now..

any cap ayam but good quality suggestions? appreciate..

what is the best expected price i can get it around kl?
IMO, I just go to any trusted spectacles shop and choose a frame which looks nice to me and suits my face,regardless of the brand,but of course the total cost of the frames and lenses would amount to average RM300++ anyway. I don't necessarily just buy a branded spectacles just for the 'brand'.

This post has been edited by theandy95: Feb 11 2013, 05:49 PM
theandy95
post Feb 11 2013, 08:43 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Bill2012 @ Feb 11 2013, 07:25 PM)
thanks, 300++ is really acceptable,
just hope for quality + cheap lol..
will this price range means the spectacle spoiled easily?
really hope it last for years.. style isnt priority but the longevity for me.. smile.gif

maybe i can wait for another month to cash out more if the price is really worth the build & quality, thanks!
Yea, my specs is cheaper than those branded ones which can be more than RM1k, but feels quite quality as well. I don't really know about brands of spectacles anyway, so I just decide my spectacles based on the look and whether it fits my face. I don't think my spectacles spoil easily, it can last a few years, just that the words of the brand inside the frames can fade and come off over time.

0.0165sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:28 AM