The Spectacles Thread
nuttyking91
Dec 7 2012, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(potsicle @ Aug 2 2012, 09:18 AM) repost..ispec2u is a legit or replica online seller? according to the website, its oem, but since icberlin is made by THEMSELVES and not other factories, im very skeptical about this. most likely a aaa grade fake Added on December 7, 2012, 5:46 pmbtw Im looking for IC berlin yevgeny, hope to get the real authentic one but with lower price as I'm still student, perhaps 800++ for the frames only? I know RRP is around 1.5k which is too much for me. This post has been edited by nuttyking91: Dec 7 2012, 05:46 PM
nuttyking91
Dec 7 2012, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 7 2012, 06:30 PM) If you are a student but can't afford such luxuries, don't buy la. What's so great bout a spec that cost 1,5k that works the same with another that cost 600?  maintenance free specs, lightweight frame. i don't go for brands though, i go for features. maybe save up lo...  If can I'd love to have it lasts for a very long time  that's why I'm looking for shops with better deals. of course i don't wanna pay 1.5k for a spec until i work... 500-1k is alright for me This post has been edited by nuttyking91: Dec 7 2012, 06:54 PM
nuttyking91
Dec 7 2012, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 7 2012, 07:01 PM) My Oakleys has lasted more than 4 years for the 1st pair, and the 2nd one just came in last month. I guess you don't need to go for IC Berlin for quality, there are plenty of other good frames that last very long too. Maybe bro Jialat can help you get cheaper but don't expect till 1,5k --> 900+ la  Not to add, the prescription ain't cheap too nowadays. oakleys are great, i have a pair of sunglasses, their lens...  superb! well I'll see if jialat have my model or not  they're also other threads selling these type of specs, anyone bought from them b4 or any experience over here in LYN? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2572343
nuttyking91
Dec 8 2012, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 7 2012, 09:06 PM) sorry bro, i dont know the IC Berlin supplier, and my friends are clearing off their stock and switching to markus T. markus T design seems unique as well
nuttyking91
Dec 8 2012, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 8 2012, 05:58 PM) yes, it has no fake yet. unlike IC berlin, too many fake in market and all genuine sellers are clearing their stock. what about the price range for this brand?
nuttyking91
Dec 10 2012, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(potsicle @ Dec 10 2012, 10:16 AM) great encounter with this site..its a fake.. contacted the main distributor of ic berlin in pandan.. i checked their specs and its the same as in TAOBAO!! nice one  should have bring down this website. Was thinking of getting it from ebay as well but customs might be a troublesome think LOL http://www.ebay.com/itm/Brand-New-ic-berli...-0050568f0149_1
nuttyking91
Dec 10 2012, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(potsicle @ Dec 10 2012, 11:55 AM) yup2..misleading and tricky..anyone knows how to report and bring down this con man? or anyone has been conned by this site? anyway my colleague is currently wearing ic berlin prescription (original from proeyes  ) and it scratches easily but in terms of durability seems like its like bulletproof haha proeyes... I saw it in most new shopping malls in Pg, but selling at RRP, 1.5k.  out of budget lah
nuttyking91
Dec 16 2012, 02:57 AM
QUOTE(potsicle @ Dec 13 2012, 03:24 PM) correct me if im wrong but i thought i saw markus t in proeyes..either curve or ioi mall proeyes ada? must be expensice... price range?
nuttyking91
Jan 6 2013, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(stinger82 @ Jan 6 2013, 04:18 PM) guys, any brand to recommend for glasses like this?  you mean lens for this type of frame?
nuttyking91
Jan 6 2013, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(stinger82 @ Jan 6 2013, 08:24 PM) actually i mean other brands for the frame, but yea, you reminded me, brand of the lens too  i'm not so sure of other brands of the same/almost same design but you can try to survey in different optical shops. if u r looking for frameless specs, the lens that you need to prescribe is limited to polycarbonate and trivex. I'm not sure if there are other type of lens that can be used for this frame. I just found out that Trivex is better than PC lens in terms of optical quality (Abbe value). can anyone here shed some light on the real world difference between these 2 lens? as i have just ordered my Essilor PC lens. unfortunately Essilor don't have Trivex lens. Added on January 6, 2013, 9:09 pmQUOTE(stinger82 @ Jan 6 2013, 08:24 PM) actually i mean other brands for the frame, but yea, you reminded me, brand of the lens too  depending on your budget as well This post has been edited by nuttyking91: Jan 6 2013, 09:09 PM
nuttyking91
Jan 8 2013, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(linkinawe @ Jan 7 2013, 03:04 AM) hello, do u think I can get a good spec + lens under Rm400 ? I usually went to those shop that sell no-brand spec like playboy and transformer. I got myself "crocodile" spec + lens from them at around Rm600. After two years, the painting were heavily fading and the scratch on lens is obvious. One of my fren that work in spectacle shop before told me I was cheated. The cost for spec and glasses is actually very low. Any recommendation ? did your friend recommend any nice specs for u?
nuttyking91
Jan 8 2013, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 8 2013, 03:23 PM) hi, whats your eye power? i will inform my friend to give good price. let me check with them on the pricing 1st after knowing your refractive error. bro, any review or personal opinion on polycarbonate v trivex lens?
nuttyking91
Jan 8 2013, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 8 2013, 05:23 PM) this is the reply from my optometrist friends: polycarbonate lens is 1.59 index, thinner, low abbe value, cant contant with erosive chemical, more impact resistant trivex is 1.53 index, slightly thicker, higher abbe value, optical performance better, better tensile strength Again, it depends on what is the main purpose of the lens you want to have. Look for professional optometrists for eye check and they will recommend the best lens according to your need, rather than those chain store where the staff fit lens according to which brand gives them a fitter incentive. my optometrist recommend me polycarb for my frame, so i already choose Essilor Airwear. but as what i know polycard has a low abbe value, which means optical performance is not as good compared to Trivex? both Trivex and PC have the advantages in terms of strength and UV protection, just thebig difference is the Abbe value.
nuttyking91
Jan 9 2013, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 8 2013, 07:33 PM) yup, polycarbonte is thinner for high power lens but lower abbe value. so does the difference in Abbe value is felt in real world enough to annoy you or just affect a certain ppl?
nuttyking91
Jan 10 2013, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 9 2013, 06:30 PM) depends on how sensitive your eyes is and how clear your previous glasses is. you should really ask the person who sold you the glasses before you paid for it, lets hope you are not sensitive to the difference in clarity in vision. first time wearing. i have an antimetropia vision 450 myopic with 50 presbyopic.
nuttyking91
Jan 11 2013, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 10 2013, 08:26 PM) as what the optician say if i remembered correctly +450 and -50 power for my eyes.
nuttyking91
Jan 12 2013, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 11 2013, 01:13 PM) weird, good luck to u because that optician gave u a very strange reading. for your eye sake, please consult optometrist next time. well its indeed weird, I've consulted several optometrist and asking for their price quotations before making a deal. short sighted in left eve and long sighted in the another eye
nuttyking91
Jan 13 2013, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 12 2013, 10:46 AM) Thats quite common, its antimetropia. Its long sighted on 1 eye, not presbyopia. Just have to get full prescription glasses then it should help reduce eye strain and headache. ok  thx for the handy advice  i thoght my eye condition was abit unusual.
nuttyking91
Dec 21 2020, 12:55 AM
my first pair of ic berlin is officially dead after 8 years of daily wear and abuse. time for a new one. what's the market rate now after discount? I got a deal 2.1k for frame + Essilor Eyezen 1.59.