36 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

The Spectacles Thread

Velent
post Jan 8 2013, 02:54 PM

106 posts

Bro jialat, interested to change my lense to carl zeizz transition.. Any best price?? Using half frame oakley valve now.
jialat
post Jan 8 2013, 03:23 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Velent @ Jan 8 2013, 02:54 PM)
Bro jialat, interested to change my lense to carl zeizz transition.. Any best price?? Using half frame oakley valve now.
hi, whats your eye power? i will inform my friend to give good price. let me check with them on the pricing 1st after knowing your refractive error.
nuttyking91
post Jan 8 2013, 05:14 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 8 2013, 03:23 PM)
hi, whats your eye power? i will inform my friend to give good price. let me check with them on the pricing 1st after knowing your refractive error.
bro, any review or personal opinion on polycarbonate v trivex lens?
jialat
post Jan 8 2013, 05:23 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 8 2013, 05:14 PM)
bro, any review or personal opinion on polycarbonate v trivex lens?
this is the reply from my optometrist friends:

polycarbonate lens is 1.59 index, thinner, low abbe value, cant contant with erosive chemical, more impact resistant

trivex is 1.53 index, slightly thicker, higher abbe value, optical performance better, better tensile strength

Again, it depends on what is the main purpose of the lens you want to have.

Look for professional optometrists for eye check and they will recommend the best lens according to your need, rather than those chain store where the staff fit lens according to which brand gives them a fitter incentive.

nuttyking91
post Jan 8 2013, 06:08 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 8 2013, 05:23 PM)
this is the reply from my optometrist friends:

polycarbonate lens is 1.59 index, thinner, low abbe value, cant contant with erosive chemical, more impact resistant

trivex is 1.53 index, slightly thicker, higher abbe value, optical performance better, better tensile strength
Again, it depends on what is the main purpose of the lens you want to have.

Look for professional optometrists for eye check and they will recommend the best lens according to your need, rather than those chain store where the staff fit lens according to which brand gives them a fitter incentive.
my optometrist recommend me polycarb for my frame, so i already choose Essilor Airwear. but as what i know polycard has a low abbe value, which means optical performance is not as good compared to Trivex? both Trivex and PC have the advantages in terms of strength and UV protection, just thebig difference is the Abbe value. hmm.gif
jialat
post Jan 8 2013, 07:33 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 8 2013, 06:08 PM)
my optometrist recommend me polycarb for my frame, so i already choose Essilor Airwear. but as what i know polycard has a low abbe value, which means optical performance is not as good compared to Trivex? both Trivex and PC have the advantages in terms of strength and UV protection, just thebig difference is the Abbe value.  hmm.gif
yup, polycarbonte is thinner for high power lens but lower abbe value.
nuttyking91
post Jan 9 2013, 06:21 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 8 2013, 07:33 PM)
yup, polycarbonte is thinner for high power lens but lower abbe value.
so does the difference in Abbe value is felt in real world enough to annoy you or just affect a certain ppl?
jialat
post Jan 9 2013, 06:30 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 9 2013, 06:21 PM)
so does the difference in Abbe value is felt in real world enough to annoy you or just affect a certain ppl?
depends on how sensitive your eyes is and how clear your previous glasses is. you should really ask the person who sold you the glasses before you paid for it, lets hope you are not sensitive to the difference in clarity in vision.
nuttyking91
post Jan 10 2013, 11:03 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 9 2013, 06:30 PM)
depends on how sensitive your eyes is and how clear your previous glasses is. you should really ask the person who sold you the glasses before you paid for it, lets hope you are not sensitive to the difference in clarity in vision.
first time wearing. i have an antimetropia vision 450 myopic with 50 presbyopic.
jialat
post Jan 10 2013, 08:26 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 10 2013, 11:03 AM)
first time wearing. i have an antimetropia vision 450 myopic with 50 presbyopic.
50 presbyopic?
nuttyking91
post Jan 11 2013, 11:57 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 10 2013, 08:26 PM)
50 presbyopic?
as what the optician say if i remembered correctly +450 and -50 power for my eyes.
jialat
post Jan 11 2013, 01:13 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 11 2013, 11:57 AM)
as what the optician say if i remembered correctly +450 and -50 power for my eyes.
weird, good luck to u because that optician gave u a very strange reading. for your eye sake, please consult optometrist next time.
Jit
post Jan 11 2013, 04:55 PM

374 posts

know any shops.that sells wide range.of evisu frames?
jialat
post Jan 11 2013, 05:09 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Jit @ Jan 11 2013, 04:55 PM)
know any shops.that sells wide range.of evisu frames?
beware that many fake evisu frames in market now, must make sure they provide 1 year warranty, 1 to 1 exchange, not repair if damage. Only original frame supplier provides 1 to 1 exchange warranty. I see many seling fake frame online in lowyat garage sale.
nuttyking91
post Jan 12 2013, 09:34 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 11 2013, 01:13 PM)
weird, good luck to u because that optician gave u a very strange reading. for your eye sake, please consult optometrist next time.
well its indeed weird, I've consulted several optometrist and asking for their price quotations before making a deal. short sighted in left eve and long sighted in the another eye sweat.gif
jialat
post Jan 12 2013, 10:46 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 12 2013, 09:34 AM)
well its indeed weird, I've consulted several optometrist and asking for their price quotations before making a deal. short sighted in left eve and long sighted in the another eye  sweat.gif
Thats quite common, its antimetropia. Its long sighted on 1 eye, not presbyopia.

Just have to get full prescription glasses then it should help reduce eye strain and headache.

nuttyking91
post Jan 13 2013, 10:37 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 12 2013, 10:46 AM)
Thats quite common, its antimetropia. Its long sighted on 1 eye, not presbyopia.

Just have to get full prescription glasses then it should help reduce eye strain and headache.
ok icon_rolleyes.gif thx for the handy advice notworthy.gif i thoght my eye condition was abit unusual.
SUSPhilHellmuth
post Jan 25 2013, 10:58 AM

699 posts

any good recommendation for shops around klang valley?

theandy95
post Feb 5 2013, 12:05 AM

120 posts

Guys what do u all think of this pair of spectacles? (Picture taken from a random blog I stumbled upon, while searching for the man in the picture,whose name is Ethan Curzon, acted before in JinnyBoy's videos)

jialat
post Feb 5 2013, 12:54 AM

2,364 posts

its called clubmaster, kind of old trend now, its been at least 1 year since hollywood artist wear this type of frame.

36 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:04 PM