What are the odds ?, HDMI or DVD player

TS812799
post Nov 13 2009, 10:17 PM, updated 17y ago

837 posts

Today i turned on my HDMI DVD player , and slot in a dvd and then there are funny colourful lines on the LCD ...

At 1st thought the problem is with the LCD but end up using AV , it works , both HDMI slots are working as i tested connecting my PC to it ...
Normally when i off the DVD player it will state "NO SIGNAL" on the LCD , but just now it stated "INVALID FORMAT" ...

so i guess my TV is running fine and the problem is either the HDMI cable or the HDMI slot @ the DVD player ...

so sifus out there ... what are the odds that the

1) HDMI cable is damaged
2) DVD player is damaged ... FYI if i use AV , can be watched , but when use HDMI , funny lines ...

please enlighten me , thanks
moomoos
post Nov 13 2009, 11:24 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Nov 13 2009, 10:17 PM)
Today i turned on my HDMI DVD player , and slot in a dvd and then there are funny colourful lines on the LCD ...

At 1st thought the problem is with the LCD but end up using AV , it works , both HDMI slots are working as i tested connecting my PC to it ...
Normally when i off the DVD player it will state "NO SIGNAL" on the LCD , but just now it stated "INVALID FORMAT" ...

so i guess my TV is running fine and the problem is either the HDMI cable or the HDMI slot @ the DVD player ...

so sifus out there ... what are the odds that the

1) HDMI cable is damaged
2) DVD player is damaged ... FYI if i use AV , can be watched , but when use HDMI , funny lines ...

please enlighten me , thanks
1) have you swapped another HDMI cable, since your htpc has hdmi also
also you can try not to upscale to confirm
if yes and same problem

2) try normal
~ video RCA(yellow one), s-video or component to confirm you DVD ok

if have tried no 2 and no problem, then shud be the DVD HDMI section, smile.gif

This post has been edited by moomoos: Nov 13 2009, 11:25 PM
TS812799
post Nov 14 2009, 12:23 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Nov 13 2009, 11:24 PM)
1) have you swapped another HDMI cable, since your htpc has hdmi also
also you can try not to upscale to confirm
if yes and same problem

2) try normal
~ video RCA(yellow one), s-video or component to confirm you DVD ok

if have tried no 2 and no problem, then shud be the DVD HDMI section,  smile.gif
the problem is i don't have another HDMI cable ... my GPU output are both DVI , and i only had another HDMI to DVI cable ...
i've tried method 2 and it's working , so i can be sure that it's either
1) HDMI cable or
2) HDMI slot at the DVD player ...

p/s : i've tried connecting the LCD TV to my PC on both HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 , both working perfectly , so problem shld be either above ,
ah_chak
post Nov 14 2009, 12:25 AM

Vroom..
2,341 posts

Borrow another HDMI cable from a friend.. you should have your answer by then..
TS812799
post Nov 14 2009, 12:40 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(ah_chak @ Nov 14 2009, 12:25 AM)
Borrow another HDMI cable from a friend.. you should have your answer by then..
i wish it was this easy , but none of them uses HDMI , i also speechless right now ... maybe i will try 2 source for 1
moomoos
post Nov 14 2009, 07:13 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

in that case better take your DVD and hdmi cable to the service centre to check, ( still under warranty )

tracktion3
post Nov 14 2009, 05:40 PM

532 posts

sounds like your DVD HDMI video output is progressive vs your TV can only accept interlace. When a DVD player uses HDMI, it sounds like is a upscalling model. So, there is a possibility you upscale your DVD video out where your TV are not capable. So the possibility are:
1. Your TV is HD ready, which is 720P and you push your DVD upscale to 1080p or 1080I. ( or more than 720p)

2. Your TV can only support 1080I or your upscalled to 1080P.

Test it... I'm just guessing. So not sure whats your DVD player or TV models.

This post has been edited by tracktion3: Nov 15 2009, 07:49 AM
TS812799
post Nov 15 2009, 12:22 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Nov 14 2009, 05:40 PM)
sounds like your DVD HDMI video output is progressive vs your TV can only accept interlace. When a DVD player uses HDMY, it sounds like is a upscalling model. So, there is a possibility you upscale your DVD video out where your TV are not capable. So the possibility are:
1. Your TV is HD ready, which is 720P and you push your DVD upscale to 1080p or 1080I. ( or more than 720p)

2. Your TV can only support 1080I or your upscalled to 1080P.

Test it... I'm just guessing. So not sure whats your DVD player or TV  models.
it was working fine when i 1st bought it like 3 weeks ago and all of a sudden become like this alrdy , erm all this while been running 1080i
tracktion3
post Nov 15 2009, 07:49 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Nov 15 2009, 12:22 AM)
it was working fine when i 1st bought it like 3 weeks ago and all of a sudden become like this alrdy , erm all this while been running 1080i
Not sure what DVD player you use. But some of them got a short cut button. My older Samsung DVD with upscalling capability will rotate the setting every time your press the button at the remote. It might be the case you accidentally or some one accidentally press the button. Have you check?

If you say all this while you run 1080i, then your TV cant support progressive. There is a high chance an accidental changes in your DVD player upscalling. Anyway, if I'm right, you might have tested it already. smile.gif

So could be other cause.

0.0151sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:05 AM