Stock Market V.44, Warren Buffett say Go buy stock

TSdarkknight81
post Nov 13 2009, 11:41 AM, updated 17y ago

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

The world's richest men say go buy stocks, global economic panic is over

Buy attractive stocks, they say

NEW YORK: Capitalism is still alive and well, say the world's two richest men, despite lingering shocks from the longest, deepest recession since the Great Depression.

"The financial panic is behind us," said famed investor Warren Buffett, who recently made what he called an "all-in wager" on the U.S. economy by acquiring railroad Burlington Northern Santa Fe.

"The bottom has come in stocks. Don't pass on something that's attractive today."

Sitting facing each other in an auditorium filled with nearly 1,000 cheering people at Columbia University in New York, the CEO of Berkshire Hathaway Inc. and Microsoft founder Bill Gates fielded questions from Columbia Business School students on the recession, investing and what's the next Microsoft.

There were at first reassurances that the U.S. economy had not collapsed since the last time the two sat in front of a student audience, in Nebraska in 2005.

"We proved that we can make mistakes," said Gates.

"But the fundamentals of the system, a marketplace-driven system where we invest in education and a great infrastructure for the long-term, that's continued."

Even in the country's "darkest hour," he said, American businesses were still innovating.

"Last fall was really blindsiding," Buffett said later.

Still, "I did not worry about the overall survival of our economy."

The worst recession since the 1930s may be over, but the recovery isn't expected to be strong enough to stem job losses and get businesses hiring again.

Employers shed a net total of 190,000 jobs in October, a government survey showed Thursday.

It was the 22nd straight month of losses.

And the unemployment rate jumped last month to 10.2 percent, a 26-year high.

Buffett also commended the Bush administration's actions last September, saying "only the government could have saved things" after the collapse of Lehman Brothers triggered a freeze-up in credit markets and panic on Wall Street.

In the future, however, Buffett said "there should be more downside to the head of any institution that has to go to the federal government to be saved for reasons of the greater society. And so far, we have been better at carrots and sticks in rewarding CEOs at the top. But I think some more sticks are called for."

The two endeared themselves to the audience with tips.

Buffett exhorted students to "marry the right person" and said, "The worst investment you can have is cash."

Gates, meanwhile, said he sees big opportunities in environmentally friendly energy and medicine.

"Capitalism is great," he said.

Gates wore a suit and tie, flashing the inner red lining of his jacket as he walked to his chair. Buffett, who earned a master's degree from Columbia in 1951, wore a sweater with the Columbia insignia.

Students in the audience said they were glad the two were so confident about the economy.

"That probably weighs a lot to a lot of people to hear Buffett say we're out of the crisis," said Andrea Basche, an Earth Institute student at Columbia. - AP
So don wait buy as many as you can thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by darkknight81: Nov 13 2009, 11:45 AM
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Nov 13 2009, 11:43 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

New thread new fate.........haha
panasonic88
post Nov 13 2009, 11:44 AM

37,028 posts

yay new home!

cosy sofa, can i have a glass of te'quila, chef?
David_Brent
post Nov 13 2009, 11:44 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

Clocking on for work... icon_idea.gif
TSdarkknight81
post Nov 13 2009, 11:46 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Nov 13 2009, 12:44 PM)
yay new home!

cosy sofa, can i have a glass of te'quila, chef?
Of course but money lai first wink.gif
ashiezai
post Nov 13 2009, 11:46 AM

699 posts

yea new thread, and good luck to my MAXIS
Junior83
post Nov 13 2009, 11:47 AM

Investor
1,256 posts

ok, new thread, test luck, itching hand bought M3Tech @0.26 rclxub.gif
crossed finger

This post has been edited by Junior83: Nov 13 2009, 11:47 AM
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Nov 13 2009, 11:47 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(cyaw @ Nov 13 2009, 11:37 AM)
Maybe it is a good idea for them to dump on the first day as Maxis only includes in CI on the second day?
Spent some money (few million) to boost CI

yeah, I think so, only one day for them to goreng, 2nd day start must show green green, our 1Man definitely not allow it drop few % and adjust the CI.

Added on November 13, 2009, 11:48 amHope CI 1300 before this thread end...... lol

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Nov 13 2009, 11:48 AM
ashiezai
post Nov 13 2009, 11:48 AM

699 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 13 2009, 11:47 AM)
QUOTE(cyaw @ Nov 13 2009, 11:37 AM)
Maybe it is a good idea for them to dump on the first day as Maxis only includes in CI on the second day?
Spent some money (few million) to boost CI

yeah, I think so, only one day for them to goreng, 2nd day start must show green green, our 1Man definitely not allow it drop few % and adjust the CI.

Added on November 13, 2009, 11:48 amHope CI 1300 before this thread end...... lol
So the price will be goreng up or down?
panasonic88
post Nov 13 2009, 11:49 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(Junior83 @ Nov 13 2009, 11:47 AM)
ok, new thread, test luck, itching hand bought M3Tech @0.26  rclxub.gif
crossed finger
m3tech... stock pick by stock market tailou forum ka? laugh.gif

how's your CIMB? plan to hold for turkey feast or KFC chicken plate? tongue.gif
kroegand
post Nov 13 2009, 11:52 AM

Ding Ding Gale!!!
1,022 posts

Punching in ...

Hope new thread will give better luck to all my jatuh longkang counters esp LCL icon_question.gif

On the side notes I got Maxis and TA Global to look forward next week brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by kroegand: Nov 13 2009, 11:52 AM
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Nov 13 2009, 11:53 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(ashiezai @ Nov 13 2009, 11:48 AM)
So the price will be goreng up or down?
yawn.gif I m not the big shark, where to know.......
Junior83
post Nov 13 2009, 11:58 AM

Investor
1,256 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Nov 13 2009, 11:49 AM)
m3tech... stock pick by stock market tailou forum ka? laugh.gif

how's your CIMB? plan to hold for turkey feast or KFC chicken plate? tongue.gif
beside from stock market tailou forum, my fren oso gave same tips on buying M3tech
htt
post Nov 13 2009, 12:05 PM

4,305 posts

Check in.
panasonic88
post Nov 13 2009, 12:26 PM

37,028 posts

have you ever doubting that...

1) Why EPF buy big qty of certain counters and sell it on the same day too or maybe few days later?

2) Why we see a blocking in a particular counter price from going up or going down by parking big qty in the sell queue or buy queue?

then you gonna hear what Dali, finance malaysia blogger have to say!
mopster
post Nov 13 2009, 01:17 PM

m o p p y
7,960 posts

Checking in Version ~~ XLIV ~~

yeah maxis will be in FBMKLCI on 20th Nov... a day after listing.. I'm also interested to know whats the weightage put on Maxis... then can estimate how much it affects KLCI...

----------

Today ™ may release their report.. i hope it's within expectation..

This post has been edited by mopster: Nov 13 2009, 01:20 PM
protonw
post Nov 13 2009, 01:19 PM

5,191 posts

So V44 open, lai lai lai, buy big or small.. laugh.gif

debbieyss
post Nov 13 2009, 01:20 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

I'm interested to know who will be kicked out from FB30
protonw
post Nov 13 2009, 01:23 PM

5,191 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Nov 13 2009, 01:20 PM)
I'm interested to know who will be kicked out from FB30
Who else.... MAS lor, already announced! brows.gif

chyaw
post Nov 13 2009, 01:26 PM

7,176 posts

checking in.... still don't know when is the right timing to swap some Latexx to Supermx...

127 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:26 AM