Target Name: www.facebook.com
IP: 69.63.181.15
Date/Time: 12/11/2009 22:12:40

1    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms  [192.168.0.1]
2   *       *      709 ms   *      867 ms  [219.93.218.177]
3  649 ms   *      745 ms  754 ms  859 ms  [219.93.216.173]
4  N/A     N/A     782 ms  N/A     845 ms  [10.55.32.128]
5  790 ms  825 ms  944 ms  981 ms 1123 ms  [58.27.106.230]
6  952 ms 1034 ms 1132 ms 1196 ms 1311 ms  ge-7-16.car3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.71.140.13]
7  981 ms 1029 ms 1112 ms   *     1313 ms  ae-63-60.ebr3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.69.144.52]
8  975 ms 1017 ms 1117 ms 1205 ms   *      ae-2.ebr3.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.132.9]
9   *     1010 ms 1106 ms 1198 ms   *      ae-63-63.csw1.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.134.226]
10  945 ms 1028 ms 1094 ms 1204 ms 1322 ms  ae-14-69.car4.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.68.18.6]
11   *      939 ms 1030 ms 1128 ms   *      FACEBOOK-IN.car4.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.71.114.122]
12  878 ms  957 ms 1022 ms 1130 ms 1259 ms  ae1.bb01.sjc1.tfbnw.net [74.119.76.23]
13   *      992 ms 1014 ms 1134 ms 1251 ms  ae4.br01.snc1.tfbnw.net [74.119.76.24]
14  872 ms   *     1009 ms 1127 ms 1243 ms  eth-17-1.csw01a.snc2.tfbnw.net [204.15.22.1]
15  882 ms   *     1014 ms   *     1237 ms  www-12-01-snc2.facebook.com [69.63.181.15]

Ping statistics for www.facebook.com
Packets: Sent = 5, Received = 3, Lost = 2 (40.0%)
Round Trip Times: Minimum = 882ms, Maximum = 1237ms, Average = 1044ms

TM having serious routing, packet loss and latency problems tonight...
andrew9292
post Nov 12 2009, 10:50 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(MusicForLife @ Nov 12 2009, 10:40 PM)
WIRED VERSUS WIRELESS

user posted image user posted image
Heavy rain now...STREAMNUTX  notworthy.gif
wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

Potonglah kita semua ; )
andrew9292
post Nov 12 2009, 11:10 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

TM's new speedtest server results.

(Censored private info)

[attachmentid=1301092]
andrew9292
post Nov 12 2009, 11:26 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(Acrisius @ Nov 12 2009, 11:23 PM)
Andrew, your login will exposed on this speedtest? But what I got was just my Current IP address on the login column
You have to complete it first, then the details will come out. It will also send you an email to your streamyx account about the speedtest results. Usefull when you need to forward it to TM when complaining i guess.

But the speed tonight is just horrible
andrew9292
post Nov 13 2009, 07:12 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Macam ini baru betul...

[attachmentid=1301331]

But international still capped to 1mbps
No idea why
andrew9292
post Nov 13 2009, 07:22 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

1mbps, using fixed 218.111 range...
After much complains to many different organizations and emailing here and there...
Even so, 218.111 has its problems sometimes
E.g Look at my speedtest yesterday night at the previous page.

Added on November 13, 2009, 7:22 am
QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Nov 13 2009, 07:15 AM)
andrew, what package u using?
This post has been edited by andrew9292: Nov 13 2009, 07:27 AM
andrew9292
post Nov 14 2009, 07:34 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

OH! No wonder my internet getting slower lately. Cause all RS kaki found a way to bypass throttle and makan the remaining bandwidth =.-'

Jokes lar... dont take it seriously. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
my speed so far so good for now, but later around 11pm confirm drop around 50% happened 2 days in a row de
andrew9292
post Nov 22 2009, 12:39 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Got disconnected and cant login 10 mins ago. DSL line stable, but somehow it says remote computer not responding error 678.

Call TM, the technican at call center couldnt do a soft reset on my port either. As if there is no "link" to my port.

Then after 15 mins putting down the phone, i was able to connect again.

Weird

What are the possible causes?

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Nov 22 2009, 12:40 PM
andrew9292
post Nov 28 2009, 06:29 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Regarding Youtube slowdown to all LYN B-U2U frequents:

Why dont you call complain to MCMC/CFM/MOSTI?

Quoting Fair Usage Policy (FUP)

The Fair Usage Policy automatically identifies the extremely heavy users and manages their bandwidth in order to protect the service of all our other customers. This traffic prioritization policy will protect the quality of service for the majority of our customers when they use the service, while at the same time, still allowing the extremely heavy users to continue to send and receive files with certain restrictions. With this policy in place, we will prioritize Internet activities like web browsing, live streaming, messaging applications and VOIP access while traffic to P2P sites will be given lower priority, due to the high bandwidth consumption of such services.

For example, some customers use P2P or file sharing software, which constantly sends and receives videos and other types of very large files, throughout the day. These activities (download and upload continuously) use a lot of bandwidth and can significantly reduce the connection speed, which other customers are getting to access the Internet during peak hours. We don’t believe this is fair to the vast majority of our customers.

As far as my knowledge of internet concerns, Youtube can be considered a live streaming site and should be given priority as stated in the FUP.
I'm not an extreme heavy user and they should at no time prioritize my traffic usage.
As far as the FUP is concern, it will only limit P2P and P2P sites that consume a lot bandwidth and/or users who use extremely lot of bandwidth.
Youtube is not a p2p system or site.
Youtube is not a file sharing software.
TM broke their own Fair Usage Policy by limiting our Youtube speed.
Their FUP got loophole because it states Extreme heavy usage? How much is extreme? for normal user like me, extreme means >20GB a month. But to all torrent and RS kaki, your extreme is 100GB+- a month.

(That is on the assumption they throttle Youtube)
There might be other possibilities like they are starting their own cache server and need some time to set it up and get all the videos in it. Other possibilities are server problem etc.

However, a user in the forum has told us that Premium Customer Service told him that they are throttling Youtube and Rapidshare.

I am now quite busy, so i suggest you guys to complain to relevant complain bodies 1st. Giving a pre-amp situation and a platform for our pledge to begin.

I should be free after 2nd week of December and if by then it doesn't improve, i will exhaust all time and resource to take this case up to the highest level possible as i always do with fellow LYN members...

Please, you have to take make a report and take this case up with higher authorities. But i STRONGLY suggest you contact TM though e-mail 1st and see what reasons they give and whether they do throttle Youtube. If they are denying and being unreasonable, giving excuses, then take it up to relevant complain bodies.

* Remember, this in on the assumption that they do throttle Youtube. The signs are there, anyway do make a case and see what they have to say.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Nov 28 2009, 06:38 PM
andrew9292
post Dec 1 2009, 06:17 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(azwan92 @ Dec 1 2009, 04:25 PM)
MOSTLY TM workers are brainless, they fail at life. Even they got straight A's for SPM or PhD, they only success on the paper not life-skill, that's why when you call them, they just talk the same thing and doesn't even understand us. Seriously, I see failure in the management.
Don't say that, when you're out and working for your people, you have to follow their instructions and do what you are told to do, your job.

Those people who work in TM don't have a choice either. CSO or technician. It's either they work there and get paid, or leave and find another job, which is quite hard during times like this.

That's why i only deal with the higher level customer support or top management people, write letter to MCMC/CFM or whatever complain body i wont blast their low-level workers, except if they are really really unreasonable (like a technician was sent to my port 5 times this year and he coundnt solve the problem until recently).

Yes i blasted the technician for his incompetence to his higher levels, previously when he talked to me he was very arrogant, plus he coundnt fix my problem and think of me as trouble to him. Heh, that day he called me, he sounded so nice and explained everything...

Yes, failure in the upper management. If you want to blame people in TM, blame their higher levels and management, it's them who are calling the shots and decisions.
It is them who tells the Customer Service Officer to read from a script.
It is them who tells the Network Operation Center(NOC) on how to prioritize the bandwidth.
It is them who tells what excuse to give when a customer complaints.
It is them who decides in everything.
The lower ones are just following "upstairs" instructions only.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Dec 1 2009, 06:32 PM
andrew9292
post Dec 1 2009, 06:33 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(sleyer @ Nov 30 2009, 09:05 PM)
after my RS download slow and ytube slow ... i send email complain about this problem ...  and this is what they reply

Terima kasih di atas e-mel anda kepada TM. Kami memohon maaf di atas kelewatan membalas e-mel ini.

Merujuk kepada maklumbalas anda mengenai capaian kelajuan Internet, setelah membuat semakan, didapati bahawa capaian Internet anda telah menepati kriteria yang telah ditetapkan (kelajuan dalam lingkungan 80% dari 1Mbps dan 'latency' <85ms untuk laman web tempatan). Oleh yang demikian, anda diminta untuk merujuk kepada kenyataan yang dikeluarkan oleh pihak TM di pautan berikut untuk makluman lanjut:

http://www.streamyx.com/customer_care/cust...ir_usage_policy

Sekali lagi kami ingin memohon maaf sekiranya penjelasan berkenaan tidak dapat menyelesaikan kesulitan yang anda alami ketika ini. Untuk pengetahuan anda, kami sentiasa cuba memperbaiki mutu perkhidmatan dan kami amat berterima kasih di atas maklumbalas daripada pihak anda. Kami juga ingin mengambil peluang ini untuk memaklumkan kepada anda bahawa sebagai pelanggan kami, segala kepentingan pelanggan merupakan keutamaan bagi pihak kami.

Untuk sebarang pertanyaan lanjut atau maklumbalas, sila e-mel kami di help@tm.com.my.
Anda juga boleh menghubungi TM di talian 100 dan pilih 2 untuk ?Perkhidmatan Internet? untuk bantuan lanjut.

Kami amat menghargai maklumbalas anda dan akan terus berusaha untuk mempertingkatkan lagi kualiti perkhidmatan kami.

Yang benar,

Ahmad Farid
Customer Care Support, Internet Services,
Customer Service Management,
TM Retail.

www.tm.com.my
^That guy wants to bring you to see the FUP? let me show you..
Quoting Fair Usage Policy (FUP)

The Fair Usage Policy automatically identifies the extremely heavy users and manages their bandwidth in order to protect the service of all our other customers. This traffic prioritization policy will protect the quality of service for the majority of our customers when they use the service, while at the same time, still allowing the extremely heavy users to continue to send and receive files with certain restrictions. With this policy in place, we will prioritize Internet activities like web browsing, live streaming, messaging applications and VOIP access while traffic to P2P sites will be given lower priority, due to the high bandwidth consumption of such services.

For example, some customers use P2P or file sharing software, which constantly sends and receives videos and other types of very large files, throughout the day. These activities (download and upload continuously) use a lot of bandwidth and can significantly reduce the connection speed, which other customers are getting to access the Internet during peak hours. We don’t believe this is fair to the vast majority of our customers.

1. As far as my knowledge of internet concerns, Youtube can be considered a live streaming site and should be given priority as stated in the FUP.
2. I'm not an extreme heavy user and they should at no time prioritize my traffic usage.
3. As far as the FUP is concern, it will only limit P2P and P2P sites that consume a lot bandwidth and/or users who use extremely lot of bandwidth.
4. Youtube is not a p2p system or site.
5. Youtube is not a file sharing software.
6. TM broke their own Fair Usage Policy by limiting our Youtube speed.
7. Their FUP got loophole because it states Extreme heavy usage? How much is extreme? For normal user like me extreme means >20GB a month. To all torrent and RS kaki, your extreme is 100GB+- a month?

Tell him (ahmad farid) you do not wish to speak to him further and you wish to speak to a representative from NOC (network operation center) for clarification on the matter and or top management for further discussions as he is just a low level customer support officer and he cannot help you further, and he is just a low level guy who doesnt know TM's internal situation. AND he doesn't even know what is he talking about, FUP has nothing to do with youtube slowing down (but it might apply to RS).

Then, state your new queury about the FUP and how if affects youtube/rs and demand answers from upper levels otherwise you will bring the case up to MCMC/CFM especially on the throttling of Youtube. (since RS actually contains illegal content and they might just brush you off, so focus more on Youtube)

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Dec 1 2009, 06:49 PM
andrew9292
post Dec 1 2009, 09:58 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(sleyer @ Dec 1 2009, 09:16 PM)
thx men ... i will use that for replay back to them ...
Wish you all the best, took me more than a month playing "merry-go-round" emails with them and MCMC only they decided to assign me 218.111 IP adress (premium/4mbps users IP)

It was good 2 months back, but even now this 218.111 ip just feels like 60.XXX during those days, plus now youtube is extremely slow on most videos...

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Dec 1 2009, 09:58 PM
andrew9292
post Dec 2 2009, 05:59 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(sleyer @ Dec 2 2009, 03:25 PM)
this next reply ...  vmad.gif    tm ckp pusing2 jugak ... sialan
that's usual, that's what they told me last time too for more than a month! but i kept insisting and push the case further. You'll have to figure it out yourself already, cant tell you what to say word by word...

Plus it really takes your time and energy speaking to these ppl...
andrew9292
post Dec 2 2009, 06:13 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

BTW, this is Youtube when i'm using a Singaporean VPN to bypass TM's throttle

[attachmentid=1334742]
As you can see from the NetMeter bandwidth monitor, my max speed was around 3.7Mb/s when streaming the video.
I think we can conclude TM is throttling youtube

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Dec 2 2009, 06:14 PM
andrew9292
post Dec 4 2009, 05:03 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

CODE
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Andrew>ping forum.lowyat.net

Pinging genesis.lowyat.net [210.5.46.17] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 210.5.46.17: bytes=32 time=137ms TTL=53
Reply from 210.5.46.17: bytes=32 time=121ms TTL=53
Reply from 210.5.46.17: bytes=32 time=179ms TTL=53
Reply from 210.5.46.17: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 210.5.46.17:
   Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
   Minimum = 55ms, Maximum = 179ms, Average = 123ms

Latency rather high, but still can load not much problem...
Youtube as usual slow.
International sites okok, not too bad still can load in less than 45secs
andrew9292
post Dec 4 2009, 05:09 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

pinned thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1248774/latest
andrew9292
post Dec 4 2009, 05:19 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

try test youtube speed. any difference?
andrew9292
post Dec 4 2009, 05:31 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

my youtube speed back to normal...
andrew9292
post Dec 7 2009, 08:41 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(Lakum @ Dec 7 2009, 08:33 PM)
I notice slowdown on youtube. Surfing web is still ok for me.
Try using google DNS, many have reported full youtube speed after using it

Primary - 8.8.8.8
Secondary -8.8.4.4

Recommend you go:
Start Menu > Run > Type in "cmd" > when command prompt comes out, type in "ping 8.8.8.8"

* type without the inverted commas ""
* windows 7/vista users if you cannot find "run" try searching for "run" at the searchbox at your startmenu.

if the ping average results are around the same as mine you should be able to use it.

C:\Documents and Settings\Andrew>ping 8.8.8.8

Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=244
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=245
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=244
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=65ms TTL=245

Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 62ms, Maximum = 66ms, Average = 64ms

Once you confirm the ping time is okay, you can proceed to the pinned "DNS thread" at the main index of Broadband User 2 User for instructions on how to change DNS. I'll still post the steps here for convinience:

Vista/Win7 (sorry i dont have win 7 but it's about the same)
Click the Start Orb, then select Control Panel.
Click on View network status and tasks.
Click on View status.
Click the Properties button.
Vista may ask for your permission to make changes. If so, click the Continue button.
Select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4), then click the Properties button.
Click the radio button Use the following DNS server addresses: and type in OpenDNS addresses in the Preferred DNS server and Alternate DNS server fields.
Click the OK button, then the Close button, and the Close button again. Close the Network and Sharing Center window.

Win XP
Select Control Panel from the Start menu.
Click Network Connections from the Control Panel choices.
Choose your connection from the Network Connections window.
Click Properties button.
Select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) and click Properties.
Click the radio button Use the following DNS server addresses and type in OpenDNS addresses in the Preferred DNS server and Alternate DNS server fields.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Dec 7 2009, 08:47 PM
andrew9292
post Dec 16 2009, 11:53 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Kota/Mutiara Damansara reporting, so far so good despite school holiday.
Expected the young ones to flood the internet...

0.0219sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:45 AM