Advise Needed, Home theater sys. with wireless speakers

TSenriquelee
post Nov 11 2009, 09:21 AM, updated 17y ago

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

Hi all,
I just got myself a PS3. Plan to use it to watch blueray in my bed room.
I considering to pair it with a home theater system will the following criteria, (mostly due to my room is too congested now)

1) All the devices shall be as small as possible. (Amp and speaker)
2) Wireless speakers. (Probably many may say, wireless = bad SQ, but nevermind)
3) Prefer wall mounted speakers.

Thx in advance
DarkNite
post Nov 11 2009, 09:29 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Nov 11 2009, 09:21 AM)
Hi all,
I just got myself a PS3. Plan to use it to watch blueray in my bed room.
I considering to pair it with a home theater system will the following criteria, (mostly due to my room is too congested now)

1) All the devices shall be as small as possible. (Amp and speaker)
2) Wireless speakers. (Probably many may say, wireless = bad SQ, but nevermind)
3) Prefer wall mounted speakers.

Thx in advance

Wireless speakers still need electrical power wat.t

TSenriquelee
post Nov 11 2009, 02:59 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Nov 11 2009, 09:29 AM)
Wireless speakers still need electrical power wat.t
Yes, i know. There are power sockets at my wall. Thus, the cable will be minimal.
DarkNite
post Nov 11 2009, 04:25 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Nov 11 2009, 02:59 PM)
Yes, i know. There are power sockets at my wall. Thus, the cable will be minimal.
If you are not too particular about SQ, have you test out those Yamaha Sound Bar system?
TSenriquelee
post Nov 12 2009, 12:01 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Nov 11 2009, 04:25 PM)
If you are not too particular about SQ, have you test out those Yamaha Sound Bar system?
What is Yamaha sound bar system? Sorry, i am a newbie to home theater.
Wireless kind of thing?
sonerin
post Nov 12 2009, 07:43 AM

8,739 posts

You can check out the sound bar from yamaha website.
yfyap69
post Nov 12 2009, 11:39 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Nov 12 2009, 12:01 AM)
What is Yamaha sound bar system? Sorry, i am a newbie to home theater.
Wireless kind of thing?
Basically a sound bar is a speaker system which consist of many small speakers at different angle. The concept is to use the wall to reflect the sound thus creating a surround sound effect. To be effective you need to have side wall for the sound to reflect. So bedroom is a good place to use sound bar. However, it's not good for living room whereby you only have 1 side wall while the other side is open. Hope this help.
TSenriquelee
post Nov 15 2009, 06:02 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Nov 12 2009, 11:39 AM)
Basically a sound bar is a speaker system which consist of many small speakers at different angle. The concept is to use the wall to reflect the sound thus creating a surround sound effect. To be effective you need to have side wall for the sound to reflect. So bedroom is a good place to use sound bar. However, it's not good for living room whereby you only have 1 side wall while the other side is open. Hope this help.
I got it thks.
After do some survey, i found not only Yamaha, many facturer actually do produce ther own sound bar. eg. B&W, Marantz, M&K, philips, polkaudio and definitive Technology.
Some of them even don't need to rflect wall, they achieve 'the surround' by using 'time delay'

I wonder do we have sound bar user here in Lowyat Forum who used these sound bar, and their review will be very much appreciated.
chengkl8
post Dec 12 2009, 10:01 AM

120 posts

Nobody used these sound bar, because everyone also know these system cannot really be a Hometheather system.

Friendly speaking, I dun thing the sound bar can produce the good sound sytem with sound reflect wall or even 'TIME DELAY'

Anyway, sound bar should be better than nothing, if u still prefer it, no need to ask, just buy a cheaper sound bar with HD system.
eye
post Dec 12 2009, 10:05 AM

1,166 posts

it'll be good if u indicate yr budget first. easier to suggest. else ... no end ler the poison .. ahahahahaha
DarkNite
post Dec 12 2009, 11:45 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Dec 12 2009, 10:01 AM)
Nobody used these sound bar, because everyone also know these system cannot really be a Hometheather system.

This not the real reason, the cost is the main prohibitive factor for real good ones especially with the typical Malaysian's mindset - One single unit vs a combination of 5 separate speakers + an AVR.

You no need to think whether the sound bar can produce the good sound, you only just have to audition it. wink.gif

TSenriquelee
post Dec 12 2009, 12:01 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Dec 12 2009, 10:01 AM)

Friendly speaking, I dun thing the sound bar can produce the good sound sytem with sound reflect wall or even 'TIME DELAY'

Anyway, sound bar should be better than nothing, if u still prefer it, no need to ask, just buy a cheaper sound bar with HD system.
Nobody use this sound bars? Actualy people do Read here
Yamaha going to launch their new sound bar, even premium brand like B&W also have their sound bar too. As a result,i believe sound bar should not term as 'cannot really be a Hometheather system', they have their own sector of market.
IMO, it is a less quality home theater system which use by people who unable to compromise in space and messy wires

QUOTE(eye @ Dec 12 2009, 10:05 AM)
it'll be good if u indicate yr budget first. easier to suggest. else ... no end ler the poison .. ahahahahaha
LOL, yeah keep the poison continue. biggrin.gif
My budget is RM5k
chengkl8
post Dec 12 2009, 12:49 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Dec 12 2009, 12:01 PM)
Nobody use this sound bars? Actualy people do Read here
Yamaha going to launch their new sound bar, even premium brand like B&W also have their sound bar too. As a result,i believe sound bar should not term as 'cannot really be a Hometheather system', they have their own sector of market.
IMO,  it is a less quality home theater system which use by people who unable to compromise in space and messy wires
LOL, yeah keep the poison continue.  biggrin.gif
My budget is RM5k
Of cos there is a lot of premium brand selling Sound Bar, but my meaning is Sound Bar cannot perform like AVR + Separate speaker with 5.1/6.1/7.1 HD system, even you using the premium brand like B&W. I would say - Sound Bar is good for thoose are not so sensitive or demand in terms of sound quality cool.gif or effect, and just for thoose to have some sound effect / quality better than nothing(mean TV speaker).

For my opinion - If ur room really 2 small, I'll suggest you use satelite system (5.1). I think will Much Much better compare with Sound bar. thumbup.gif

Anyway this is just my opinion. and here just for sharing. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSenriquelee
post Dec 13 2009, 09:35 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Dec 12 2009, 12:49 PM)
Of cos there is a lot of premium brand selling Sound Bar, but my meaning is Sound Bar cannot perform like AVR + Separate speaker with 5.1/6.1/7.1 HD system, even you using the premium brand like B&W. I would say - Sound Bar is good for thoose are not so sensitive or demand in terms of sound quality  cool.gif or effect, and just for thoose to have some sound effect / quality better than nothing(mean TV speaker).

For my opinion - If ur room really 2 small, I'll suggest you use satelite system (5.1). I think will Much Much better compare with Sound bar. thumbup.gif

Anyway this is just my opinion. and here just for sharing.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I try to avoid wires too. Thus, 5.1 will be my last option. (If really can't accept the quality of sound bar or other alternative) wink.gif

0.0249sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:09 AM