Home theatre/gaming room, Wanna convert my empty room.

kelvinsin
post Nov 10 2009, 08:03 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Nov 10 2009, 07:57 PM)
kelvin, if your budget allows, get the separates. 

If your budget does not allow, get the used separates. 

If your budget does not allow and you mean it, get the 5.1 units. 

If your budget does not allow, you mean it and your wife threaten with divorce if you get anything like that, then just opt for a normal TV, and connect its audio output to a stereo old amp with decent speakers.  It still beats any of the modern LCD TV anytime.
my budget is very tight,not more than 3.5k (including avr). actually not used by me,im working outstation,just for my parent normal usage,so i think temporary get 5.1 enuf.
For the separate system,i think i'll only get after get my own house. wife wont marah lah, the trick is how much the price you tell her. brows.gif
May i know what is the price for jamo S606?it doesnt come with active sub right?
i'll buy the avr in singapore here if the budget for speaker set really need to top up a bit.
richard912
post Nov 10 2009, 08:10 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Nov 10 2009, 07:57 PM)
kelvin, if your budget allows, get the separates. 

If your budget does not allow, get the used separates. 

If your budget does not allow and you mean it, get the 5.1 units. 

If your budget does not allow, you mean it and your wife threaten with divorce if you get anything like that, then just opt for a normal TV, and connect its audio output to a stereo old amp with decent speakers.  Its sound will still beat any of the modern LCD TV anytime.
peter32
post Nov 10 2009, 08:15 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Kelvin, just for fun sharing from my own experience.

If you just want it for your parents, I would suggest any device with minimal controls. Eg. a good 42 inch LCD means much more than a whole system with 4 remote controls.

I got one for my parent too, and to teach them to change 4:3 to wide screen, either full screen or native 19:6 can already be difficult. Perhaps your parents are tech savvy? Whats your take in this?

Stereo Amp comes with only simple big volume Dial, ideal for them.
TSpoyol
post Nov 10 2009, 11:36 PM

481 posts

hahahaha peter32 is funny.

sigh can't wait to get my small little "project" underway...

keep the suggestions coming in guys!
kobe24bryant
post Nov 10 2009, 11:54 PM

67 posts

Does the 1.2k budget include money for a receiver? Because I didn't see anything on it. But if you are as tight on cash as I am, might as well just settle for a 5.1 HTIB and then save up for a better set. I did this because I couldn't wait long enough for me to save up for the separate subwoofers, and rear speakers, yet alone the high end cables.
peter32
post Nov 11 2009, 12:23 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

What I did when I was just a poor worker last time was, first, get a cheap Kenwood prologic receiver, it was quite cheap. Then I settled with only one pair of front speakers.

After a year, I got a 2nd hand pair of speaker, slightly better than the first pair, to be the front R & L. The original pair went to become the surrounds.

After a short while, I bought One hifi speaker to be the centre.

That was almost 17 yrs ago! And all of them are still working well today.
ar188
post Nov 11 2009, 12:31 AM

9,206 posts

can always go cheap with used WDTV and MKVs.. tongue.gif and free popcorn converter to convert DTS to DD tracks..

+ a used 2-3 year HTib for couple of hundred.. biggrin.gif

TV use a 2nd hand CRT 29 or 34inch flat

all for under 1k.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Nov 11 2009, 12:32 AM
TSpoyol
post Nov 11 2009, 09:56 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Nov 10 2009, 11:54 PM)
Does the 1.2k budget include money for a receiver? Because I didn't see anything on it. But if you are as tight on cash as I am, might as well just settle for a 5.1 HTIB and then save up for a better set. I did this because I couldn't wait long enough for me to save up for the separate subwoofers, and rear speakers, yet alone the high end cables.
Nope, in my first post I mentioned that I wouldn't need an AVR yet... How is the performance of your 5.1 HTIB? Can give a short review?

QUOTE(peter32 @ Nov 11 2009, 12:23 AM)
What I did when I was just a poor worker last time was, first, get a cheap Kenwood prologic receiver, it was quite cheap.  Then I settled with only one pair of front speakers.

After a year, I got a 2nd hand pair of speaker, slightly better than the first pair, to be the front R & L.  The original pair went to become the surrounds.

After a short while, I bought One hifi speaker to be the centre. 

That was almost 17 yrs ago!  And all of them are still working well today.
Wow..sounds like a plan..what is the MINIMUM amount I need for a decent receiver + 2 front speakers, a sub and all the necessary cables.

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 11 2009, 12:31 AM)
can always go cheap with used WDTV and MKVs.. tongue.gif and free popcorn converter to convert DTS to DD tracks..

+ a used 2-3 year HTib for couple of hundred..  biggrin.gif

TV use a 2nd hand CRT 29 or 34inch flat

all for under 1k..  thumbup.gif
shakehead.gif shocking.gif
peter32
post Nov 11 2009, 10:42 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Believe it or not, I still do not have a subwoofer !! Will slowly hop in once I settle in new place.

I think a decent AVR will cost at around 1.5K nowadays. Pls read other forum posting about it. I got mine 2nd hand, so less tech but with good DTS and other decoding with pre-post amp facilities.

I think a good floor standing speakers, used item again, can be very good for less than 1K, and with good bass too. No need a sub initially

TSpoyol
post Nov 11 2009, 11:03 AM

481 posts

Oh man.. I missed out on this..
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1089499

0.0154sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:54 PM