Home theatre/gaming room, Wanna convert my empty room.

TSpoyol
post Nov 10 2009, 01:55 PM, updated 17y ago

481 posts

Ok not sure where this topic belongs.. I'm aware that there are a couple of home theatre setup threads in here. But those threads are for "showing off" sweat.gif

So anywayz, I have this empty room which I thought of converting into my movie/gaming room. Any sifus here can give me a rough checklist of what I'm going to need? The room is completely empty. Size is roughly 300sqft

I'm not looking for a high-end setup, dun need AVRs and all that at the moment.

Just a decent set will do as far as speakers are concerned.

At the top of my head I can think of a few things;

1) TV - suggestions?

2) Cabinet - suggestions?

3) Couch - suggestions?

4) Speakers - simple below 1.2k set will do. suggestions?

Thanks! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by poyol: Nov 10 2009, 03:27 PM
richard912
post Nov 10 2009, 02:50 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Stating the room size would help
TSpoyol
post Nov 10 2009, 02:53 PM

481 posts

oops..sorry.. the room is about... 6.5ft x 8.5ft
Dark NT
post Nov 10 2009, 02:57 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Nov 10 2009, 02:53 PM)
are you sure...? its kinda.. very small.

kianwee
post Nov 10 2009, 02:59 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

LOL, you sure? My toilet is bigger than that. 6.5meter x 8.5meter izzit?
Dark NT
post Nov 10 2009, 03:02 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Nov 10 2009, 02:59 PM)
6.5meter x 8.5meter izzit?
That's very big then... sweat.gif can play badminton already...
richard912
post Nov 10 2009, 03:03 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Nov 10 2009, 02:59 PM)
LOL, you sure? My toilet is bigger than that.
Elite spotted....cabutz
kianwee
post Nov 10 2009, 03:04 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Nov 10 2009, 03:03 PM)
Elite spotted....cabutz
TTDI elite comes in and pijak. vmad.gif
TSpoyol
post Nov 10 2009, 03:23 PM

481 posts

OMG you guys are right.. the measurements I gave is really small..LOL

wait wait I double check and then update here again...

EDIT: ok..haha I'm not sure if this is right.. but I THINK it is about 300sqft...

This post has been edited by poyol: Nov 10 2009, 03:27 PM
richard912
post Nov 10 2009, 03:38 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Based on your room dimension, here are my thoughts:

1) TV - anything bigger than 40" may be an overkill considering you wll likely be seated 6 feet away from it

2) Cabinet - drop by to Ikea. There are lots of choices for you to select from and I am sure, you'll find one suited to your budget there. Check it out here

3) Couch - I would suggest a Lazyboy but alas, it would set you back a fair bit. Given yor room size, a 2-seater would be ideal. For good deals, drop by one of those Cavenzi shops. Personally, this is what I like Ikea EKTORP MUREN recliner

4) Speakers - simple below 1.2k set will do. Why not consider a HTIB?

Added on November 10, 2009, 3:44 pm
QUOTE(poyol @ Nov 10 2009, 03:23 PM)
OMG you guys are right.. the measurements I gave is really small..LOL

wait wait I double check and then update here again...

EDIT: ok..haha I'm not sure if this is right.. but I THINK it is about 300sqft...
Like this, totally different ball game already thumbup.gif Alas, depends on the budget you intend to set aside for this little "project" sweat.gif

This post has been edited by richard912: Nov 10 2009, 03:44 PM
TSpoyol
post Nov 10 2009, 03:45 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Nov 10 2009, 03:38 PM)
Based on your room dimension, here are my thoughts:

1) TV - anything bigger than 40" may be an overkill considering you wll likely be seated 6 feet away from it

2) Cabinet - drop by to Ikea. There are lots of choices for you to select from and I am sure, you'll find one suited to your budget there. Check it out here

3) Couch - I would suggest a Lazyboy but alas, it would set you back a fair bit. Given yor room size, a 2-seater would be ideal. For good deals, drop by one of those Cavenzi shops. Personally, this is what I like Ikea EKTORP MUREN recliner

4) Speakers - simple below 1.2k set will do. Why not consider a HTIB?
Thanks dude,

Those IKEA cabinets do look promising.
As for the couch..err..way out of my budget..haha but thanks anyway. Will prolly drop by one of those Cavenzi type shops.

What's a HTIB?
braveheart
post Nov 10 2009, 03:45 PM

208 posts

If your space is 300 sq ft then you will really need a kick ass system. Won't be cheap though.

1) TV - nothing less than 50". Should be a projector setup for 100" screen.

2) Without a high powered AVR you will be in trouble. About 10k at least needed.

3) Speakers for such a size 1.2k may just be enough to buy cables and interconnects. Also another 10k needed for speakers.

richard912
post Nov 10 2009, 03:51 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Nov 10 2009, 03:45 PM)
Thanks dude,

Those IKEA cabinets do look promising.
As for the couch..err..way out of my budget..haha but thanks anyway. Will prolly drop by one of those Cavenzi type shops.

What's a HTIB?
Home Theater in Box...AVR+builtin player+5.1 speaker system. Again, lots of choices here from many established brand names. But you will need to up your budget to maybe RM2k

Edit: I have seen Cavenzi advertise their single seater recliner from as low as RM199....or was it RM299 hmm.gif Fabric of course, not even PVC. The catch is, they will charge you something like RM150 for transport doh.gif

This post has been edited by richard912: Nov 10 2009, 03:56 PM
TSpoyol
post Nov 10 2009, 04:00 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(braveheart @ Nov 10 2009, 03:45 PM)
If your space is 300 sq ft then you will really need a kick ass system. Won't be cheap though.

1) TV - nothing less than 50". Should be a projector setup for 100" screen.

2) Without a high powered AVR you will be in trouble. About 10k at least needed.

3) Speakers for such a size 1.2k may just be enough to buy cables and interconnects. Also another 10k needed for speakers.
Wah dude..kenot ler...WAY out of my budget. the rest of the space I can fill with bean bags, cabinets for my BDs, gaming peripherals (sticks, guitars, drums, etc) all that nonsense.

QUOTE(richard912 @ Nov 10 2009, 03:51 PM)
Home Theater in Box...AVR+builtin player+5.1 speaker system. Again, lots of choices here from many established brand names. But you will need to up your budget to maybe RM2k

Edit: I have seen Cavenzi advertise their single seater recliner from as low as RM199....or was it RM299 hmm.gif  Fabric of course, not even PVC. The catch is, they will charge you something like RM150 for transport doh.gif
Ahh..Home Theater In a Box..haha cool... Yeah I think that is what I was talking about when I said budget around 1.2k for speakers. I guess anything below 2k is doable.

About the Cavenzi, guess I'll have to go check it out myself..if I'm not mistaken...there is one big showroom along Puchong rite?
richard912
post Nov 10 2009, 04:21 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Nov 10 2009, 04:00 PM)
About the Cavenzi, guess I'll have to go check it out myself..if I'm not mistaken...there is one big showroom along Puchong rite?
Check out their website for nearest outlet to youhere

Their motto is corny: If Air Asia can fly everyone, Cavenzi can furnish everyone's home! "We Let Our Price Do The Talking" rolleyes.gif
TSpoyol
post Nov 10 2009, 05:08 PM

481 posts

LOL!! that motto works on ppl like me tongue.gif
driftmeister
post Nov 10 2009, 07:15 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

just beware of cavenzi's bad quality thou
and the puchong branch staff is damn cocky
peter32
post Nov 10 2009, 07:51 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

If your room is confirmed to be only 8' long, i suggest just to get a Media Centre CPU with BD & DVD, with enough power to address a full fetch gaming graphics and sounds.

Then your chair should be at about 6 ft from the screen. That leaves u about 2 ft from the wall behind. You will need some space for the rear surrounds speaker to work wonders. For 6 feet viewing, you just need a 32' LCD monitor or TV. I don't think you need a couch for that 6ft viewing. Just a comfortable office chair with good support and you will need a table right in front for your keyboard etc.
kelvinsin
post Nov 10 2009, 07:53 PM

224 posts

Does a living room with 10ftx16ft shud get a bookshelf 5.1system like 1010i or get a floor type like jamo606?
peter32
post Nov 10 2009, 07:57 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

kelvin, if your budget allows, get the separates.

If your budget does not allow, get the used separates.

If your budget does not allow and you mean it, get the 5.1 units.

If your budget does not allow, you mean it and your wife threaten with divorce if you get anything like that, then just opt for a normal TV, and connect its audio output to a stereo old amp with decent speakers. Its sound will still beat any of the modern LCD TV anytime.

This post has been edited by peter32: Nov 10 2009, 07:59 PM

0.0196sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:00 PM