Technical Cleaning Xbox 360 Disc, Original, not pirated plz ..

TSTongCN
post Nov 10 2009, 11:48 AM, updated 17y ago

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,716 posts

Say guys. Just wanna have a share that how you guys often clean and protect your precious Xbox 360 DVD?
Using alcoholic to clean? Spray? Cleaning cloth only?

I'm not sure but recently found that one of the DVD game got some small tiny dots on it and cannot be removed by rubbing cleaning cloth on it sad.gif
Can I just use those DVD cleaning tools to spray on it and rub ?

Hope can share more thought about it tongue.gif
Also can share how to remove some minor scratches whistling.gif

Pic will be provided on those tiny dots after getting back the camera, hp camera is so bad on capturing it sweat.gif

This post has been edited by TongCN: Nov 10 2009, 11:48 AM
chinook
post Nov 10 2009, 08:56 PM

273 posts

Dont fix what isnt' broken.

Trying to clean a disc with any cloth (with or without spray) will scratch it even more. Lint or dust stuck on the disc or cloth will cause thin/small scratches when you wipe it around the surface of the disc.

Only attempt to clean the disc if you keep getting 'unreadable disc' errors.
trogdor1oh1
post Nov 10 2009, 09:59 PM

101 posts

Oh, tried and tested, use toothpaste. WHITE TOOTHPASTE, NOT THE GEL KIND.
That actually works, but make sure when you rub it you use a toilet paper, and you rub from inside to out, NOT AROUND THE DISC.
Then you wash the disc. It's worked for my ahem PS2 games, but I haven't tried it with my Xbox games, mainly because they all work =\
IccyAsd
post Nov 11 2009, 10:27 AM

846 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Nov 10 2009, 09:59 PM)
That actually works, but make sure when you rub it you use a toilet paper, and you rub from inside to out, NOT AROUND THE DISC.
Then you wash the disc. It's worked for my ahem PS2 games, but I haven't tried it with my Xbox games, mainly because they all work =\
So its those normal toothpaste? coldgate, darlie ? got mint can or not ? laugh.gif

how did you first got an idea of using toothpaste out of so manythings ? hmm.gif
TSTongCN
post Nov 11 2009, 10:33 AM

6,716 posts

Haha... I do use toothpaste for those video/audio CD before, quite nice tongue.gif
But not sure for 360 DVD... Since it's D9

Heard that Blu-ray is not easily get scratch, right ?
msn83235502
post Nov 11 2009, 01:20 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 11 2009, 10:33 AM)
Haha... I do use toothpaste for those video/audio CD before, quite nice tongue.gif
But not sure for 360 DVD... Since it's D9

Heard that Blu-ray is not easily get scratch, right ?
D9 or D5 is just the same.. data is not stored on the plastic surface..it is stored on the printed surface...so what u're cleaning is just the plastic.so doesnt matter d5 or d9..still the same plastic.
croco_2002
post Nov 15 2009, 11:19 PM

194 posts

the tootpaste work fine.had done it many time for ahem2 dvd movie.but not brave enough to test it on my xbox dvd.

This post has been edited by croco_2002: Nov 15 2009, 11:19 PM
TSTongCN
post Nov 16 2009, 09:55 PM

6,716 posts

Hi, guys. Any idea this will cause any problem to the disc ?
Just unbox the game and check out the disc, it appears to be that sad.gif
But i was able to install it and play it.

As you can see, around the top of the disc, you can see a slightly curved area there...

With flash light, it will be clearer, i think.

Well, to make it clear, something like this:

Hope to get some help, thanks.

This post has been edited by TongCN: Nov 16 2009, 09:58 PM
trogdor1oh1
post Nov 16 2009, 10:01 PM

101 posts

Take the WHITE toothpaste(I used Colgate), mix it with A BIT of water on a toilet paper, then slowly and gently rub it from INSIDE TO OUT AND NOT AROUND THE DISC.

When the disc has been basted with BBQ Sau-- er toothpaste, you leave the disc there for 10 minutes, then wipe off the toothpaste with a clean toilet paper(once again, INSIDE TO OUT). If in any doubt, rinse the disc after that.
chinook
post Nov 16 2009, 10:04 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 16 2009, 09:55 PM)

As you can see, around the top of the disc, you can see a slightly curved area there...

If you don't get any disc read errors, leave it be for now. Try the toothpaste thing only if you do get errors.

PS - I tried the toothpaste thing on my Oblivion disc once, no luck. Had to buy Disc polish to do it.

This post has been edited by chinook: Nov 16 2009, 10:05 PM
TSTongCN
post Nov 16 2009, 11:42 PM

6,716 posts

However, that's not a scratch sad.gif
It's more like the inner disc's wave...
Or maybe not correctly write onto it?

You may see 2 different color by there if look closely...

This post has been edited by TongCN: Nov 16 2009, 11:46 PM
77hunter
post Nov 20 2009, 12:37 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Nov 10 2009, 09:59 PM)
yes agree with u. all kind of disc hv to rub from inside to outside.. this is the correct to clean ur disc. but for tooth paste, i nvr try b4.

This post has been edited by 77hunter: Nov 20 2009, 12:38 PM
revived_irfan
post Dec 9 2009, 05:37 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 16 2009, 09:55 PM)

I once leave my GTA 4 in my car during hot afternoon, also happen like that, but still the xbox can play it.
TSTongCN
post Dec 10 2009, 08:42 AM

6,716 posts

so u means it's like the heat problem? XD

0.0241sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:05 PM