Recommended GPS App For iPhone , Q&A Discussion Thread

lchee
post Dec 31 2010, 11:03 AM

511 posts

Using tom tom v1.5 and papago M7.1.5. I can say papago has the better map, during navigation, papago map viewing is more pleasant. Also when searching for POI, it is easier with papago, whatever i type in, it can find, in fact, the POI list is more comprehensive such as nice places to eat etc.... even when travelling on highway.. it warns me of where the speed camera is.... only gripe is when i use it with all kit fm modulator, papago software will not transmit the voice over to my car speakers.

Tom Tom has better interface for sure. In fact, it even has the itunes control built into the navigation screen. Very nice touch. You can control your ipod to play songs, skip songs (that's it, you cannot actually browse your mp3 list, but it is good enough) while navigating. When you reach a junction, it will auto tune down the mp3 volume so that the voice navigation can be heard clearly. Very Very nice touch. But problem is the map is not as comprehensive as papago. When I try to key in search for places, i always have trouble finding places.... POI list is so much more less compared to papago. Best thing is, tom tom voice navigation system works through my fm modulator. Overall, the software of tom tom is much better written than papago.

My question is, is there anyway I can SSH into my phone and copy the MFM map into Tom Tom so that it can have the latest updated map in the better GPS user interface? If anyone has done that appreciate some pointers from you all.
lchee
post Jan 18 2011, 12:36 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(poex @ Jan 14 2011, 05:59 PM)
i'm one of papago m7 user..

pros:
1)satellite response quite fast (within 10sec)
2)map quite accurate
3)real image junction view
4)allowed multi task

but still got some cons:
1)lag sometimes
2)drain your battery very fast

Overall i'm quite impressed with papago m7...

i heard garmin currently releasing the garmin iphone app for us n canada..looking at their map wallao..really cannot tahan..very nice..hopefully garmin release for malaysia map as well later..
I am a papago M7 user also, but I don't understand the point no. 4 you mentioned "allowed multi task". My papago cannot multi task. When i launch papago that is the only app running on screen. When calls come in, it will exit papago screen and then turn the screen to phone mode, or when I wanna play music, i need to go into ipod to play music, thus exiting papago screen. So how is papago multi task? Tom Tom on the other hand allows real multi tasking, you can answer calls and listen to phone without exiting the GPS screen. The software is very comprehensive written to include those features in the interface. But then again, I still use papago simply because it has the better map database.

One problem I have is when I connect my Iphone to my car auxiliary in port, the voice of papago is too soft. Any way to increase the volume of papago voice? I don't have this problem with tom tom or playing Ipod from my car audio system.
lchee
post Jan 18 2011, 02:22 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(acoms @ Jan 18 2011, 02:10 PM)
I'm Papago and Tom tom user. No current p7 version cannot multitask. Bad if u must answer a call during navigation. Tom-tom really excell in that area. But tom tom maps not as current as p7. I wish Tom Tom features plus p7 map. That would be perfect!
Exactly, I wish so much for that also. Best of both worlds.

0.0579sec    0.40    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:12 AM