Recommended GPS App For iPhone , Q&A Discussion Thread

jackyyong
post Feb 10 2012, 09:55 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(mohdanwar @ Feb 7 2012, 05:31 PM)
is waze sucking data? if yes i wont use it
From my experience, Waze uses very minimal data. On my recent trip back to hometown, I turned on Waze all through the trip to check whether there is any traffic jam in the highways. By the end of the trip (about 1.5 hours), I used barely 5 MB of data. If you can afford 5 MB of data, Waze is a great tool to use!! rclxms.gif

I also recently installed Garmin Streetpilot, the US version. This is the "map-on-board" version. You can actually download the Malaysia map into it using iExplorer or other file viewer. I prefer the Garmin map compared to the Papago version. So in this poll, I'll vote for "Other - Garmin Streetpilot"

This post has been edited by jackyyong: Feb 12 2012, 09:02 AM
jackyyong
post Feb 10 2012, 10:31 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(NoiZy @ Feb 10 2012, 10:13 AM)
I like to use garmin, but don't know how to incorporate our map/weather into it. Any tips? New to iPhone. Using a 4S
Not sure if a jailbroken iPhone is needed. But a file viewer (iExplorer or iFunBox) and a file permission modifier (iFile) were what I used to copy the .img file to the folders in the app. Google it for more info, I forgot the link already. Did it long time ago.
jackyyong
post Feb 11 2012, 07:12 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 10 2012, 07:55 PM)
Did you try with MFM Custom POI ?
Which one should we use ?
(i) Nuvi (.wav)
(ii) Garmin (.mp3)
(iii) MobileXT (Boh-Sia)

Also, which folder to put ?
(i) /private/var/mobile/Applications/xxxxx/Library/sdcard/Garmin/POI
or
(ii) /private/var/mobile/Applications/xxxxx/garmin-nav.app/storage-usa/POI
I think it should be \garmin-nav.app\storage-usa\poi

Remember to use iFile to change the permission for all the files that you added:

Ownership:
Owner: mobile; Group: mobile

Access Permissions:
User: Read, Write, Execute
Group: Read, Execute
World: Read, Execute

I dun use custom POI, so I can't really help .....

Added on February 11, 2012, 7:16 am
QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Feb 10 2012, 09:13 PM)
The Streetpilot similar to MobileXT? I'm kinda interested w/ it brows.gif
Yes, very similar indeed. I used to have a Nokia 5800 XM, so I can compare between the two. Initially when I bought my iPhone, I was very reluctant because the best thing about the Nokia 5800 was the Garmin MobileXT. At that time, there was no GPS that was comparable to it on the iOS platform. Now that I found out about this, I finally feel my migration to iOS is justified. Please share and distribute the news! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jackyyong: Feb 11 2012, 07:17 AM
jackyyong
post Feb 11 2012, 11:51 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Feb 11 2012, 01:25 PM)
I saw two versions. One is onDemand and one is the normal streetpilot. Any differences between these two?

I saw the price has increased from 39.99 to 59.99 rclxub.gif
The version I have is this:

http://itunes.apple.com/mt/app/garmin-u.s....d435490305?mt=8

It cost 39.99 euro, not dollar. The onDemand needs subscription service to download the map on-the-fly. It also means that it uses data. The OnBoard version has the map pre-installed, thus freeing your iPhone from downloading data. OnBoard is the version that you can load Malaysia's map inside. Must be clear between these two.
jackyyong
post May 26 2012, 07:42 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(liverpool red @ May 25 2012, 09:16 AM)
Garmin MY/SG has just been released! using malsing maps as indicated in the description. Priced reasonable but its a huge file download, a whopping 1.24GB!

Anyone using it already? Can review?
+1!!

I am already using the US version but hacked with the MY/SG map for months before this came out. Not sure about this particular version. Yes the file size does sound scary, and I dunno what they mean by free lifetime map. But it sure looks promising. I prefer this interface rather than PAPAGO. TS pls update this poll, coz Garmin is gonna get a lot of users here now
jackyyong
post Jun 14 2012, 06:31 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(zhiyuel @ Jun 14 2012, 06:16 PM)
i was just installed Garmin SG/MY.. i was so happy having HD garmin apps in my ip4s.. its really nice one as im using garmin all these time.. it is stated that the Garmin SG/MY contains Navteq and Malsing map but u can ad MFM maps ...
Can you manually update the map from the malsing map community? Tried before? Their map is very updated. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jackyyong: Jun 14 2012, 06:32 PM
jackyyong
post Jul 2 2012, 03:25 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Jun 20 2012, 04:50 PM)
guys, i bought garmin my/sg for ios... but i have a problem, when i navigate my map doesnt move along with the car icon.
well, what i mean is i have to manually swipe to move the map... lets say my car location has passed the map thats on the screen, the map doesnt move... the car moves out of the screen.... so i have to move the map to see the car again. anyone knows t solve this? pls help..thankss
You need to tap the car icon on the bottom left.

Added on July 2, 2012, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(zhiyuel @ Jun 15 2012, 01:00 AM)
jackyyong ive manage to add the MSM 2012 NT v5.56 to the apps.. yes it can be done...  look the snapshot below..
[attachmentid=2894345][attachmentid=2894347]
Very interested to know, I have pm-ed you wink.gif

This post has been edited by jackyyong: Jul 2 2012, 03:29 PM
jackyyong
post Jul 9 2012, 11:46 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(zhengdek @ Jul 8 2012, 11:21 PM)
IS THERE ANY FREE GPS? ALL MUST PURCHASE FROM STORE? OR IS IT AVAILABLE FOR JAILBROKEN IPHONE TO GET FREE GPS?

Added on July 8, 2012, 11:22 pmanother question is ~~ purchase papago ... it needs data to load the app?
Chill dude, no need to SHOUT here .... rclxm9.gif

Papago does not need data when you use it. Only you need to download the big app (more than 1 gig i think) once you buy it.

As XiuKeong said, Waze is free, but it will need data to operate. In my opinion, Waze is much more updated and reliable.
jackyyong
post Jul 27 2012, 09:52 AM

431 posts

In some way, you can still use Waze while off-ing the data. Just download the data before you drive. After you have downloaded, you can off the data, and drive normally. You don't get the "live" update, but I can still live with data a few minutes old lar ....
jackyyong
post Mar 18 2013, 06:18 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Mar 16 2013, 01:35 PM)
This morning I was using waze for about 1.5 hours. Waze was on when I was running errands. The usage for this morning was 1.16 MB exactly. Now if i do this everyday for one month I only use 35 MB. That is a very small fraction of 1GB quota given by celcom. Why are we so worried about waze's data usage?
Agreed, I tried using Waze from KL to Melaka, about 2 hours drive. Only about 6 MB of data (including other applications running in the background). Very minimal lar, no worries actually
jackyyong
post Mar 18 2013, 11:08 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Mar 18 2013, 09:49 PM)
mind to share how much battery it used for that 2 hours?
Can't remember, but quite substantial. If I remember correctly, it's more than 60% gone! BTW mine was old iPhone 3GS

0.0465sec    0.43    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:41 AM