Recommended GPS App For iPhone , Q&A Discussion Thread

SUSgogo2
post Apr 28 2011, 03:03 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(raeshad @ Apr 28 2011, 02:58 AM)
i finally bought Sygic Singapore & Malaysia after deliberating for about a day.

For the current price [USD12.99] and the UI + map; i think Sygic is a good enough GPS app for a secondary irregular driver like myself la.

My advice if you're still undecided on which one to buy? Try and test/use the apps on the road yourself.

Tomtom is all-right. I particularly like their user friendly UI, but all in all too expensive for my needs.

For Papago M8, no matter how good the map is; I can't get over how horrible their navi voice for malay language is. Like super seriously horrible, to the point of it being unusable. [to me at least]

I experimented with Sygic/Mobile Maps, Tomtom and Papago M8 for about a week in KL and S'gor [KLCC,Bangsar Village, Sunway, Shah Alam, Subang, and Sg Buloh]. I keep coming back to using Sygic, and when priced at USD 13, it's an easy enough decision for me. This is just my thoughts though, as everybody else is content with Papago.

and @uncontrolled - of course la you've to turn on the location service! biggrin.gif
oh no, I bought the SEA one. Am I do it wrongly? I know someone bought the SG & Msia. But added Thailand is very tempting.

Added on April 28, 2011, 3:16 ami just open the apps. startup fast. I click start, it straight lock to location. OMG.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Apr 28 2011, 03:16 AM
SUSgogo2
post Apr 28 2011, 02:37 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(raeshad @ Apr 28 2011, 02:35 PM)
What do you mean by you're doing what wrongly? It's up to you to buy the SEA one. I rarely do road trips outside M'sia, that's why Msia and Spore's enough for me.
oh, I mean, its better to buy Msia and Singapore is it?

Now I know why you buy. Then its ok bro.

I'm in Penang. Probably I'll get myself to Thailand driving sometimes.

Should I buy 3D building and City Guide? USD4.99 each...
SUSgogo2
post Apr 28 2011, 03:13 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(raeshad @ Apr 28 2011, 03:06 PM)
When I tried/compared Sygic Msia & S'pore and Sygic SEA - their UI is hugely different, and I kinda hated the SEA's version. That's also one of the reasons why I opted for the former. The SEA's version is not user friendly, with the keyboard being the thing I hate most. I can't imagine typing to find something on the go with that. Then again, this is only my opinion.

I don't know about the inapp purchase, as it costs a bomb for each. it's up to you really, but the 3D buildings are kinda limited to major city like KL and Spore [don't know bout the rest of SEA] so I won't suggest you to buy that. City guide is quite nifty though, although only limited to JB, KL, Langkawi, Malacca and Penang in Malaysia. You might wanna get that if you want, but it's still expensive at USD4.99 actually. I'm a bit stingy, so if you ask me; I'll buy neither  sweat.gif
oh is it?

I didn't compare UI at all. I just buy because its the cheapest yesterday. Further more, people complain Papago graphic sucks.
Sygic graphic is retina support which is awesome.

Furthermore, Sygic also can be used in Ipad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'll probably get both 3d building and guide just for the completion. Haha
SUSgogo2
post Apr 28 2011, 03:31 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(raeshad @ Apr 28 2011, 03:21 PM)
lol. Good for you.

Also, same reason why I bought it yesterday too, and why I said no to Papago; the graphics really is bad!
well, the only reason to buy Papago is Malfreemaps.

I wonder if Sygic accept Malfreemaps. I read somewhere Malfreemaps can covert to Atlas map also for Sygic.
SUSgogo2
post Apr 28 2011, 04:05 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(raeshad @ Apr 28 2011, 03:38 PM)
@gogo2, true.
that's a plus if it's true. but i'd bet that it'd be pretty tedious even if it can be done.  rclxub.gif
Yeah, the reason I use iPhone is because I dun want tedious thing liao. I want it to just work. LOL.

QUOTE(Roysmith @ Apr 28 2011, 04:01 PM)
Hi, am using papago msia & sgpore. Seems i cannot start it. Anybody care 2 guide me on using it.?
Is it downloaded from iTunes?

0.0431sec    0.51    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:04 AM