Casing recommendations thread, What to buy, where to buy, how much?

redlyfs
post Feb 13 2014, 09:18 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Feb 13 2014, 03:41 AM)
sorry for being out of thread topic. i asked because on the Z77X-D3H, only SYS_FAN_1 can be used to control the voltage(3pin fan); while SYS_FAN_2 and SYS_FAN_3 can only be used to control PWM fan
Hmm didn't notice it before. Thanks for the info man, it didn't occur there's difference between sys_fan. Although.. while testing before and I had thought all sys_fans did react to changes I made in speedfan. Anyhow I'll check again

This post has been edited by redlyfs: Feb 13 2014, 09:18 AM
ntw
post Feb 13 2014, 05:25 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(redlyfs @ Feb 13 2014, 09:18 AM)
Hmm didn't notice it before. Thanks for the info man, it didn't occur there's difference between sys_fan. Although.. while testing before and I had thought all sys_fans did react to changes I made in speedfan. Anyhow I'll check again
Maybe ur fans are pwm then
Lurker
post Feb 16 2014, 05:48 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

currently i am using a CM690 II, is there any case similar size but the side panel opening is on the other side??
ntw
post Feb 17 2014, 12:19 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Feb 16 2014, 05:48 PM)
currently i am using a CM690 II, is there any case similar size but the side panel opening is on the other side??
One of the more recent case with the layout is Bitfenix Outlaw
Clem1982
post Feb 18 2014, 08:53 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Feb 17 2014, 12:19 AM)
One of the more recent case with the layout is Bitfenix Outlaw
+1, there is also the Silverstone RV04 wink.gif not many btx chassis out there smaller ones will mean the BitFenix Prodigy-M, Phenom-M. and Colossus-M wink.gif but they're M-Atx chassis tongue.gif
plain21
post Feb 27 2014, 06:41 PM

126 posts

Sifus please sugest me any casing, that's slim if u put i vertically, i googled on rvz01, its slim, but doesnt look nice >0< any other suggestions?
(preferablly width <150mm)
Cyru$
post Mar 2 2014, 07:10 PM

57 posts

hey guys, I need suggestions for casing that is around RM250-299.

I have been using the old CM690 for quite sometime now and love the amount of fans it could mount but absolutely hate how much of a dust vacuum it is, hence I would like to change to a better casing that comes with lotsa dust filters and good amount of space for fans.

So can anyone please help? =)
Clem1982
post Mar 3 2014, 11:51 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(plain21 @ Feb 27 2014, 06:41 PM)
Sifus please sugest me any casing, that's slim if u put i vertically, i googled on rvz01, its slim, but doesnt look nice >0< any other suggestions?
(preferablly width <150mm)
Slim chassis that looks nicer than RVZ01... that's a tough one... I can only think of the Asrock M8 at this point, otherwise you'd have to look at the lesser brands

QUOTE(Cyru$ @ Mar 2 2014, 07:10 PM)

I have been using the old CM690 for quite sometime now and love the amount of fans it could mount but absolutely hate how much of a dust vacuum it is, hence I would like to change to a better casing that comes with lotsa dust filters and good amount of space for fans.

no matter the environment, if you have fans in the chassis, it will suck up dust.. I'm guessing that you place the CM690 on the floor and have more fans exhausting?? try going for just one intake at the front and one exhaust on the back, the dust accumulation should be slower

but just in case you're looking at a new one anyway. here are my suggestions:

CM HAF XB
CM Storm Scout II
Corsair 300R
Thermaltake MS-1
BitFenix Shinobi Window
BitFenix Shadow
BitFenix Ronin
Cyru$
post Mar 3 2014, 01:04 PM

57 posts

Nah not really, I placed my chassis on the table top. But still accumulates dust really quickly. Thanks for the suggestion mate.
usop8290
post Mar 4 2014, 09:18 AM

998 posts

same thing happened to me bro..im used to have the first generation of cm690 and the 2nd gen cm 690 ii. all dust magnet. doh.gif
OCTech
post Mar 16 2014, 01:16 PM

TRY SILVER STONE KL04 RM 299
BRO

kelv1983
post Mar 19 2014, 05:15 PM

680 posts

Can anyone help me choose between

NZXT 410
NZXT Guardian 921RB
CM K380

What about CM haf series good? Old school?
Clem1982
post Mar 19 2014, 06:53 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 19 2014, 05:15 PM)
Can anyone help me choose between

NZXT 410
NZXT Guardian 921RB
CM K380

What about CM haf series good? Old school?
What are you looking for in terms of features??
kelv1983
post Mar 19 2014, 07:52 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Mar 19 2014, 06:53 PM)
What are you looking for in terms of features??
Design and airflow
Clem1982
post Mar 20 2014, 08:44 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 19 2014, 07:52 PM)
Design and airflow
well looks like airflow is your top priority then.. design is not a feature IMO, its a preference

so here are some that have good airflow within the same price range as the NZXT 410

BitFenix Shinobi Window
BitFenix Outlaw
Cooler Master 690III
Cooler Master ScoutII
Cooler Master HAF 912 Adv
Corsair 300R
Thermaltake MS-1
Thermaltake Lvl 10 GT

take a look at them and select the design you want, most important is that you go and look at the chassis before buying wink.gif
kelv1983
post Mar 20 2014, 10:01 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Mar 20 2014, 08:44 AM)
well looks like airflow is your top priority then.. design is not a feature IMO, its a preference

so here are some that have good airflow within the same price range as the NZXT 410

BitFenix Shinobi Window
BitFenix Outlaw
Cooler Master 690III
Cooler Master ScoutII
Cooler Master HAF 912 Adv
Corsair 300R
Thermaltake MS-1
Thermaltake Lvl 10 GT

take a look at them and select the design you want, most important is that you go and look at the chassis before buying wink.gif
I brought CM HAF 912 Adv 3 years back ! Quite nice thou but now building up a new PC so need to buy another one ! yes design is preferences so I would like to ask is the CM K380 is it worth it ? It does looks like HAF 912 but at lower price range !

What about NZXT 410 air flow ? From the way you reply me ! It doesnt looks good ? But the design wise I like it, alien style design. Do you know roughly how much?

Naturally the casing need to fit into the below gig:-

Intel Core i5 4440
Asrock H87 Pro4
Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD plextor M5S 128GB
Gainward GTX 760 Phantim 2GB DDR5
FSP Raider 650W PSU
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD
Cooler Master K380 Casing
Viewsonic VX2370S 23" IPS LED
Lite-On 24x DVDRW

This post has been edited by kelv1983: Mar 20 2014, 10:06 AM
StevenYWH
post Mar 20 2014, 11:29 AM

Throw away your old and dusty CPU away, but before you do that, SNAP a picture of it and join this contest by #AMDMy here : http://on.fb.me/1drMt8Z
Clem1982
post Mar 20 2014, 12:49 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 20 2014, 10:01 AM)
I brought CM HAF 912 Adv 3 years back ! Quite nice thou but now building up a new PC so need to buy another one ! yes design is preferences so I would like to ask is the CM K380 is it worth it ? It does looks like HAF 912 but at lower price range !

What about NZXT 410 air flow ? From the way you reply me ! It doesnt looks good ? But the design wise I like it, alien style design. Do you know roughly how much?

Naturally the casing need to fit into the below gig:-

Intel Core i5 4440
Asrock H87 Pro4
Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
SSD plextor M5S 128GB
Gainward GTX 760 Phantim 2GB DDR5
FSP Raider 650W PSU
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD
Cooler Master K380 Casing
Viewsonic VX2370S 23" IPS LED
Lite-On 24x DVDRW
The CM380 is a good chassis, I didn't include it because you already have it in consideration in the first place, the NZXT 410 as well, all of these chassis are good so it's all up to you what you're looking for... external looks, interior colour, rubber gromets placement, cable management options, HDD/SSD options, Front I/O placement etc etc etc

like I said, preference is key wink.gif I just gave you a list to compare similar price range chassis
kelv1983
post Mar 23 2014, 09:35 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Mar 20 2014, 12:49 PM)
The CM380 is a good chassis, I didn't include it because you already have it in consideration in the first place, the NZXT 410 as well, all of these chassis are good so it's all up to you what you're looking for... external looks, interior colour, rubber gromets placement, cable management options, HDD/SSD options, Front I/O placement etc etc etc

like I said, preference is key wink.gif I just gave you a list to compare similar price range chassis
I just browse thru the NZXT web and I found the H440 very nice design

Any comment on these casing ?

I check with idealtech but they say the casing yet to launch in malaysia

Anyone had any idea when it will be launch ?
Clem1982
post Mar 24 2014, 11:34 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 23 2014, 09:35 AM)
I just browse thru the NZXT web and I found the H440 very nice design

Any comment on these casing ?

I check with idealtech but they say the casing yet to launch in malaysia

Anyone had any idea when it will be launch ?
the H440 is a good chassis, very new and just launched last month IINM... not too sure abt the pricing and availability... best to check with them in their FB page wink.gif NZXT Malaysia

108 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 >Top

0.0220sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:01 PM