CLOSED

sexualpower
post Apr 29 2010, 05:15 PM

1,964 posts

as today is last day of promotion prices, I plan to get either ST2210 or ST2410~

sifus, size doesn't matter for me, only the picture quality, will these two be the same?~
sexualpower
post Apr 30 2010, 10:18 AM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(Onion-KiD @ Apr 29 2010, 09:45 PM)
Actually that can consider not a promotion prices. you will notice it if you visit their page every week in every month. even after today. there will be same thing came out with difference expire date.

Pick 2209WA if size doesn't matter but picture quality.

The example for "real promotion discount" Dell monitor discount with coupon conditions apply.
crap! I ordered ST2210 instead of 2209WA~ is there any way I can change the order?~
sexualpower
post Apr 30 2010, 11:20 AM

1,964 posts

just went over to dell's webby, prices of ST2210 and 2209WA have risen since yesterday when I placed the order~ ST2410 is still RM679 but no more bundle offer with the V3V RM50 printer~ this should be their pricing tactic for PC Fair to clear stock~

I think I'll have to stick with ST2210 instead of 2209WA~ crap~
sexualpower
post Apr 30 2010, 04:19 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 30 2010, 12:04 PM)
have u tried calling their service advisor?

i suggest ringing up their customer service and tell them ur issue and see if they can do anything for u.
QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Apr 30 2010, 01:50 PM)
2nd this option, you may still be able to change, who knows
Maybe this will help
Dell : 1800-88-0525 , option 4, sales assistance
wow, thanks for your help~ the DELL guy says that I can edit since I'm paying by credit card and there is allowance of time since no one have yet to call me for payment confirmation~

2209WA and ST2210, last chance for me to choose is on Mon (probably someone will call me then)~

I read earlier that 2209WA is an older model, how would 2209WA and ST2210 compare for me who only watch movies with the monitor?~
sexualpower
post May 3 2010, 05:45 PM

1,964 posts

just realized that u guys are saying that 2209WA is IPS and i was comparing S2209W and ST2210~

anyway, because I watch movie and don't bother about how far I sit, therefore, no issue on the screen size, it seems that ST2210 may be my best~ arriving tomorrow~ hope to test dead pixels... gonna download some programs and test tomorrow~
sexualpower
post May 4 2010, 05:57 AM

1,964 posts

I'll be getting my ST2210 from Dell today, I'm gonna test it for dead, stuck, crazy pixels and will not accept if got any~ I think it's the best for others who buy from Dell as well~
sexualpower
post May 4 2010, 05:29 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(mddl_fngz @ May 4 2010, 07:40 AM)
please recommend me a good 22" or 23" lcd monitor.it will be my main monitor at home so i will use it for anything from web surfing to gaming and some light photoshopping.dont tell me to get the dell 2209wa coz it's out of my budget and seems that all lcd monitors have gone up in price.my budget is RM600.thanks.
I think if that's the budget, give Dell ST2210 a try, since it's one of those models that don't have terribly bad review here~

QUOTE(accs_centre @ May 4 2010, 09:20 AM)
How u able to reject on the spot? Courier man wont wait u to test it out 1st then only signed the parcel...

Added on May 4, 2010, 9:22 am

If u r just bought the monitor, best way i think is request for return to Dell.. U will lose small charge of handling/shipping fee only.. (around RM80)
I thought Dell will have internal staff to deliver... wahlau, now only I know that it's Skynet!~
sexualpower
post May 5 2010, 06:02 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ May 4 2010, 05:45 PM)
those with Dead Pixels.. hmm since that monitor has 3 years warranty, and ur scared to get refurbished one, why not just around 3 years then call Dell for a change? 1 dead pixel is not that big problem eh..

As for me, I don't have other monitor so i'll just use it till cun cun nearly 3 years, then i report problem wahahaha

Edit:eh wait.. they should do a 1 to 1 exchange, so might as well report back for warranty claim now la i guess.. stupid me doh.gif
the policy states that only 5 dead pixels can qualify for warranty~ does DELL somehow allow warranty for monitors that are not damaged for the first 3 years?~

QUOTE(mddl_fngz @ May 4 2010, 07:58 PM)
i believe u already got yours right?how do u find it so far?
I'm new to LCD panels~ the panel is very good, backlight bleeding is at the bezel sides like mentioned in previous posts but not that noticeable coz the whole bezel side bleeds~ picture quality is nowhere near the LED pic as shown in a previous pic~ 1 dead pixel anyway, zzzzz~ tried to call DELL but they need service tag , damn, really hard to know which number is which coz got so many barcode tags anyway~

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 4 2010, 10:36 PM)
Guys,

How is the ST2410's black levels?
very good, except for the bleeding on the sides, near the bezels~

QUOTE(vearn27 @ May 5 2010, 02:17 PM)
Dream on I would say tongue.gif

First, it's not all about the year of product, but it is the panel that matters. I just bought Dell's ST2410 with TN panel and I would say my 5 years old Dell's E1905FP MVA panel display actually better than the ST2410. Personal opinion only of course.

Please do let us know if you could find any 24" IPS panel which actually cheaper than the U2410 smile.gif
crap, now only got review on ST series... *cries*

conclusion: satisfied with the black levels and the speed of delivery~ just dissatisfied with the toughness of communication with DELL~
sexualpower
post May 5 2010, 06:18 PM

1,964 posts

already mentioned, the year the panel is commercialized doesn't matter~

I'm using ST2210 with Gforce 4 ti, is DVI better than using just VGA?~ where can I get HD or Full HD material?~ I now can't stand low quality stuffs~
sexualpower
post May 6 2010, 01:00 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ May 6 2010, 01:22 AM)
I did not do any review on the ST series (unless you mention other sites), I only put up my personal comment since I'm having both 24" IPS and TN panel. It would be absurd to compare between 2 items with different class. The IPS I'm using cost RM3K+ retail and only can be ordered by business customer while on the other hand, the TN just RM679 and for any end consumer.

Value wise, definitely ST2410 the winner, nuff said. It provides almost all that you need for moderate to high satisfaction level (depending on how you set for yourself). Look at our maDmaN, he's happy with his dual ST2410s despite the white thingy stucking in the middle laugh.gif tongue.gif

Just I have not try on the U2410 myself, but I suppose it almost the same with my LP2475w smile.gif
Yes, DVI / HDMI = Digital while VGA = Analogue. Despite the facts that VGA technology might have improved all these while, but DVI still provides the least fraction of signal loss. Go all the way to the LCD's native resolution on DVI or HDMI, you couldn't be wrong smile.gif

The latter part... well... GOOGLE!
thanks, I didn't know that your old one is an IPS~ IPS wins from what I've seens through pics shown in this thread~

I think I got the value out of it~ but I disagree with DELL having good customer service~ I went home to check and still fail to find the 9-digit service tag needed to get through their toll free line for CS~

I asked yesterday~ blue ray is the only HD available material and it seems no Full HD material is available except maybe rare trailers~ so I seriously think that many people have been duped to think that the better the screen, the better the quality~ it's only partially correct as the input quality is as important when it comes to the second half; the pixels or detail of a video shown~ now I can only watch normal DVDs which I can see a large difference from smaller screens; I see it being more blocky sweat.gif
sexualpower
post May 6 2010, 06:04 PM

1,964 posts

i'm hungry for HD material now~ and I don't think compressing video files will get u better quality, unless it's variable bitrate setting as bitrate is the determinant for quality but not noticeable at some inactive screens~
sexualpower
post May 7 2010, 11:35 AM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(Onion-KiD @ May 6 2010, 06:06 PM)
Yea Full HD LCD but without FullHD movie source... it will make your movie even worse if you only watching 500mb movie. tongue.gif
yes, the junk DVDs can now be seen more blocky as compared to 700MB movies, comparing lower resolution to higher resolution~ I don't enjoy the pixels on lousy material (except the Resident Evil : Afterlife trailer) but picture quality is no doubt better~

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 6 2010, 06:19 PM)
depends what its encoded to.
if 1gb for a 3min music file...then i wouldnt like to imagine the size of HD movies and how they would even publicly release them on physical formats playable on a entertainment system...
ic, I've no idea about encoding and their effects but drop in bitrate on a fixed rate should be bad for quality as the bitrate decreases~

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 7 2010, 10:53 AM)
Need URGENT advices... Kindly advise...
Say I've a monitor with following specs:

[1] Native resolution: 1920 x 1080
[2] VGA and DVI inputs
Say my graphic card has the following specs:
[1] Max. resolution (VGA: 2048x1536; DVI: 2560x1600) (my graphic card is 8600GT, is the resolution correct?)
[2] VGA and DVI outputs
If the resolution is set to be lower than the native resolution, e.g. 800x600, the following are observed:

[i] Monitor VGA connected to graphic card VGA: the image is not sharp with colour bleed and text looks fuzzy due to the Analog to digital conversion and the pixel mapping goes astray.
[ii] Monitor DVI connected to graphic card DVI: the displayed text sharpness will still be as good as when the monitor resolution is set at native resolution.

Do you think the above comments are correct?

Added on May 7, 2010, 10:59 amAnyone own or view or evaluate a BenQ G2222HDL before?
How's its performance (e.g. image quality, text sharpness, etc.) compared to monitor [2], [3], and [4]?
Is the screen of monitor [1] a "matte display" or "glossy display"?

[1] BenQ G2222HDL
http://www.benq.com/products/LCD/?product=1617

[2] Samsung SM-2233SN 22" Widescreen LCD Monitor
[3] Viewsonic VA2213W 22" TFT Monitor
[4] BenQ G2220HD - LCD display - TFT - 21.5"
should be the problem of refresh rate, as the resolution goes up, your monitor may not be able to take in such high refresh rate~
sexualpower
post May 11 2010, 04:04 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ May 11 2010, 02:43 PM)
I just bought one for PS3 purpose in my small rented room. Value for it, but word of advise you should be exactly "horizontal" along with your monitor. Don't in a situation where you sit lower but the monitor placed at higher elevation. You'll get "dark" screen by then and almost 50% out for GoW3 clarity tongue.gif
even slightly lower will results in it showing darker areas~

I'm renting a small room too, what brightness and contrast settings do u use for dim lights?~
sexualpower
post May 11 2010, 05:51 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ May 11 2010, 04:16 PM)
Well, Dell's U2410 has it, isn't? tongue.gif
Well, I have not actually really use the monitor yet. Just borrowed my gf for a week to let her play PS3 at her place.

Now I have it back but yet to set it up nor tune it. I'm actually wanted to ask for recommended settings too laugh.gif

Again, TN really can't put a match against IPS. When budget is not a main concern or the price of IPS is affordable, definitely recommend anyone to go get one for satisfaction especially those people that have sensitive eyes for colours and video/image clarity smile.gif
with dim lights, the minimum contrast with zero brightness for minimal white to be shown instead of faded white is 75~ I haven't had time to play with different brightness~ maybe some sifus here can help me out~ thanks in advanced~
sexualpower
post May 12 2010, 11:00 AM

1,964 posts

dell warranty also I'm having issues... aih, don't think any warranty will be easy from any company~

0.0208sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:45 AM