2,316 posts

Just received Mr Gump this morning:

aiman04
post Nov 7 2009, 11:58 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Nov 7 2009, 10:10 AM)
Lately, most Region A Asia releases are out earlier than the US version. I saw Angels & Demons in the shelf of $PEEDO about a week and a half ago while the US version has yet to release... hmm.gif
Actually not just now. Back in 2007, I saw Spider-Man 3 in the shop at The Curve almost 2 weeks before the US release.
aiman04
post Nov 8 2009, 07:41 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Nov 8 2009, 07:11 PM)
Sifus, can anyone gimme some recommendations on Blu-ray movies that have good picture quality with aspect ration 1.78:1?
1.78:1

UP
Bolt
Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa
Chicken Little
Meet the Ronbinsons

Also:

TV Shows (Band of Brothers, Lost, etc)
Documentaries (Planet Earth, Earth, HOME, etc)
Concerts (Celine Dion, Dave Matthews, etc)

1.85:1

Coraline
Monster's Inc
Bee Movie
Open Season
Helboy 1 & 2
Pan's Labyrinth
Bridge to Terabithia
Hulk (Ang Lee)
Crank
Crank 2: High Voltage
The Host
Apocalypto

1.78:1 IMAX Scenes Only

The Dark Knight
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

*This list is purely on picture quality, not the movie itself and in no particular order.
aiman04
post Nov 13 2009, 12:08 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Just received:

thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Nov 19 2009, 12:54 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Just received:

Don't wanna open it yet, this should be inside:

aiman04
post Nov 19 2009, 01:41 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 19 2009, 01:28 PM)
You chose courier method to send? How long did it take?

Congrats, the Enterprise scale model would be a nice display item.
Yes, DHL. From the shipment notice email by Amazon to the time it was signed for delivery, it took around 54 hours. smile.gif

Arremie, it's now back in stock because some people canceled their pre-order the last minute. Though it's $9 more expensive now.
aiman04
post Nov 19 2009, 01:50 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Nov 19 2009, 01:45 PM)
wah, congrats bro  rclxms.gif
It's a very nice replica of the U.S.S. Enterprise drool.gif
I wanted to get this also initially
but was taken aback by the price tag of a whopping US$99.99! sweat.gif

In the end, I settled with this  rolleyes.gif

tonight gonna go Star Trekking  rclxm9.gif
I also ordered that version. Should arrive tomorrow, I just ordered because suddenly I thought not to open this replica edition, so I can just watch the normal version for now. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Nov 19 2009, 01:50 PM
aiman04
post Nov 20 2009, 12:38 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Yes, now I can watch Star Trek! Just received:

I won't open the limited edition gift set yet. Will sell either one in future. biggrin.gif

aiman04
post Nov 20 2009, 04:03 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

ELITES only buys normal priced items. When sales like the Black Friday comes, they just like to sit back and smile at all the peasants going all cheapskate. Maybe throw in some breadcrumbs for their amusements.

PEASANTS like us could only resort to sales like the Black Friday to get what we want. Let them ELITES watch, don't feel ashamed, it's the way of the world.

laugh.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif
aiman04
post Nov 21 2009, 08:33 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

aiman04
post Nov 21 2009, 08:41 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Nov 21 2009, 08:39 AM)
At last, you openned it.  laugh.gif
Nope, still safely sealed in the box. laugh.gif tongue.gif

That's not mine. Taken from here:

http://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=106977&page=37
aiman04
post Dec 1 2009, 08:57 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Received my long-waited MOON!

aiman04
post Dec 5 2009, 04:53 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Just watched MOON. I'm alone right now (the wife and kid will be back in few days) so it seems like the most appropriate movie to kill the time. Never thought I'd say this, but it has become one of the best movies I've ever seen. Just love it.

This kind of movie, I expected that there'll be some kind of a plot twist in the end, but the twist here actually came rather early. The twist is not what makes the movie so great, but how the character deal with it, dealing the truth about who he actually is, his emotion, his feeling and how to accept the reality of it. It's really a beautiful story, a character-study that was played to perfectness by Sam Rockwell. Sometimes the great journey of a story could be spoiled by lame ending, but I just love it here. It's a happy ending in a strange peculiar way.

Ultimately it's a tribute to fathers. I came to that conclusion after watching a half-hour short-movie by the director Duncan Jones (so glad they put it on the blu-ray). He must have had a lot of respects to fathers, David Bowie must be very proud of him. He's a truly gifted director, I'm looking forward for his next project.

PS: Helium-3 is a real thing, they exist in abundance on the Moon. They could get clean fusion energy equivalent to nuclear, but without the radio-active waste. Scientists actually considering to mine it in the future.

PPS: Spotted a Proton Wira in short-movie (the London scene).

Added on December 5, 2009, 5:15 pmI'm watching the making-of featurette of MOON, there's a note on the set saying "what would Michael Bay do?". So funny because the film doesn't resemble anything like a Michael Bay movie. This movie is just better. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 5 2009, 05:15 PM
aiman04
post Dec 6 2009, 09:26 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Even Peter Jackson doesn't know when the LOTR BD will come out. But apparently there's already a print that was sent to him for approval. "It looks fantastic".

aiman04
post Dec 19 2009, 01:16 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

My Metallica blu-ray finally shipped. rclxms.gif

That was after I email Metallica.com with nasty metal-style language complaining about their slow service. laugh.gif

Next target: Orgullo, Pasion y Gloria: Tres Noches En La Ciudad de Mexico thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 19 2009, 01:16 PM
aiman04
post Dec 19 2009, 01:36 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Dec 19 2009, 01:23 PM)
bro, no one could have known you're Metallica fan   shocking.gif
Most forumers here know it, but they also know I'm also a fan of Celine Dion (at least all the songs in her Vegas A New Day show). smile.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 19 2009, 01:37 PM
aiman04
post Dec 19 2009, 11:41 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

A lot of people here had problems with customs/KDN/CB, no need to be rude. We used to make jokes about the customs watching our BDs before clearing it, etc, I mean it's not that big deal. It's part of the fun importing BDs.

aiman04
post Dec 24 2009, 08:16 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Received this:

thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Dec 27 2009, 07:52 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2009, 08:48 PM)
I tot it's within 1 month?
Amazon stopped doing the price-matching policy more than a year ago. Now they have the right not to give price-matching refund, but Amazon CS as you know is so cool they still give refunds simply as a goodwill from their part, just being nice to their customer.

0.0217sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:07 PM