Question on ABIT AX78 CPU Support, what is the fastest CPU it can support?
TScarpathia
Nov 5 2009, 10:40 AM, updated 17y ago
Hello guys im using the abit AX78 mainboard and am looking to upgrade to a faster CPU- I looked at the manual and online and it says it supports CPU " system supports Socket AM2/AM2+ 940 Processor up to 5200MT/s " - QUESTION - What does this means? can i install Phenom AM3 X3 720? what is the CPU it can support? abitMainboard link here
TitaniumZ
Nov 5 2009, 11:03 AM
Phenom II is not on the support list and since Abit is out of motherboard business so I assume there won't be any update. The CPU Supported by AX78
andythung
Nov 5 2009, 12:14 PM
i thik cannot ... since maybe differ soket lox ~
ktek
Nov 5 2009, 12:46 PM
email to abit support (hope they'll reply) or google for unofficial BIOS *rebel*haven*forum* from AMD OC thread, there was quite a number of AX78 users. they say the mobo got problem to handle 125Watt TDP processors. QUOTE(andythung @ Nov 5 2009, 12:14 PM) i thik cannot ... since maybe differ soket lox ~ reported, shut up and go dai
TScarpathia
Nov 5 2009, 01:42 PM
Abit is out of mainboard biz? when did this happen? sure?
This post has been edited by carpathia: Nov 5 2009, 01:42 PM
TitaniumZ
Nov 5 2009, 02:17 PM
I think it happened somewhere around August last year.
andythung
Nov 5 2009, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 5 2009, 12:46 PM) reported, shut up and go dai  report ?? AMD however has something else up their sleeves, Socket AM3 Phenom II processors. Processors that are pretty much the same as the Socket AM2+ processors, yet now with a DDR2 and DDR3 memory controller. DDR3 memory will allow the overall performance of the platform (your PC) to gain again a little in speed. So we were a little confused when the first batch of AM3 processors arrived two weeks ago, and AMD requested to have them tested on a Socket AM2+ motherboard with DDR2 memory. Apparently AMD wanted to have the new AM3 processors out fast, so fast that the majority of Socket AM3 motherboards have not been fully validated just yet.. The good thing here is that socket AM3 processors will work perfectly on Socket AM2+ (AMD 790 chipset based motherboards). However, we of course are bound to DDR2 memory. and atually AM3 soket is less 2 pin of the AM2 soket~~~which is consider as differ soket~ http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/socket...henom,2148.htmlThis post has been edited by andythung: Nov 5 2009, 05:23 PM
ktek
Nov 5 2009, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(andythung @ Nov 5 2009, 05:20 PM) report ?? The good thing here is that socket AM3 processors will work perfectly on Socket AM2+ (AMD 790 chipset based motherboards). However, we of course are bound to DDR2 memory. and atually AM3 soket is less 2 pin of the AM2 soket~~~which is consider as differ soket~ http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/socket...henom,2148.htmlblind copy pasta no reading s938 processor can put inside s940 AM2+ mobo about teh report, why so serious~  but becareful with ur post next time
andythung
Nov 5 2009, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 5 2009, 05:34 PM) blind copy pasta no reading s938 processor can put inside s940 AM2+ mobo about teh report, why so serious~  but becareful with ur post next time well ..im not blind copy .. i said " I THINK cannot ,since MAYBE differ soket ~" im not say " 100% cannot" i dun mind about the report ... i juz mind wat u said to me ~ cos i hav prove tat differ soket between these 2 proc ~ btw.. TS ... u can hav a try ..  in addition... they try in AMD 790 chipset ... ur AX78 is using 770 chipset ~ This post has been edited by andythung: Nov 5 2009, 06:17 PM
sanderz
Nov 5 2009, 09:29 PM