Sony Ericsson XPERIA™ X10, SE 1st Andriod Phone!!!

coldfission
post Nov 5 2009, 09:07 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

y they implement a 262k screen instead of 16M screen?? furthermore, it's not AMOLED right? a bit turn me down when i look at the lcd screen spec.. else it would be a perfect phone
coldfission
post Nov 5 2009, 11:22 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Nov 5 2009, 10:06 AM)
coz its a waste of colors to put on a small screen
waste of color?? hmmm the color depth will be affected here.. when u wan view the pic,u can see the significant difference between 262k and 16M..i still think that it will be perfect to implement AMOLED as it becomes cheaper nowadays and offered lower energy consumption.
coldfission
post Nov 5 2009, 11:47 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

human eyes perceive more color than any color gamut developed for computer.. hmmm however i do agree that any color above 262k will be hard to distinguish.. so 65k and 262k dun make big difference.. juz the color depth will be affected slightly

This post has been edited by coldfission: Nov 6 2009, 11:57 PM
coldfission
post Nov 5 2009, 08:38 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Nov 5 2009, 12:51 PM)
thx for sharing such informative post.. rclxms.gif
ya, i do agree that the 16 bit and 18 bit gv us the 16M screen?? we pay high price for the phone.. i think it will be best if they can provide the top hardware.. even if the software doesnt support it.
i know that 65k and 262k didnt gv too much different.. but if 262k and 16M there is huge different.. try to switch ur tft lcd monitor to high color (16 bits) and true color (24bits), u will find that the difference is obvious.. u can compare it with 32 bits as the extra bits are used to represent transparent color.
by the way, if there is some other colour related post please share it.. i would like to know more.. thx ya..

This post has been edited by coldfission: Nov 5 2009, 08:48 PM
coldfission
post Nov 6 2009, 10:37 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

wow, so it's only 65k colour? wat a disappointment.. i expect better 1.. at least AMOLED la.. come on.. 2010 ald, TFT ald outdated, y not change to something more energy conserving? hmm tat article posted by xpresside is informative.. but as hsyong said, we are ald 4 years after the post.. so i dun think 16M will drag down the performance of the phone. dun forget that the current high end smart phone is faster than desktop way back few years ago.. i had a pentium 2 with 333Mhz, bundle with 96MB ram, 4 gb HDD. now we got 1Ghz processor, 256MB ram and more than 4GB storage for phone.. so, as i said, y dun sony juz gv us the latest technology? remember, X10 is designed to be a high end phone.. juz my 2 cents, please shoot if im wrong..
coldfission
post Nov 6 2009, 11:54 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(yan5619 @ Nov 6 2009, 11:04 PM)
well in fact, it is claimed that AMOLED has better power efficiency, better colour, brightness n response, and even lower cost(not sure tho, as it is new, maybe the cost is low, but the manufacturers sell it high?)
It's a waste to see phone manufacturers don't implement this technology in their high end phones.
agreed with u.. samsung is the 1 who try to push their AMOLED technology to the market, meanwhile other manufacturer still stick with the old TFT. If u remember back to 2002-2004, TFT was tagged at very high price, my 17LCD cost me 1k.. then nowadays the technology become cheaper.. i believe that if they mass produce the AMOLED the cost will definitely decrease.. wat i wish for 2010 is most of the smart phones are bundled with at least 800Mhz to 1Ghz processor, 256MB or more ram, and AMOLED.. Im more concern on the multimedia aspect.. imaging and music is the aspect i look into when i wanna buy a phone.. so a low colour screen is definitely not my cup of tea.

I had compared my fren HTC touch pro with 65k colour with my 3250 (256K) and N79 (16M), the difference is very obvious. someone may claimed that im over react with the color thingy.. but that's the thing i most concern so far..

0.0374sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:38 PM