Hardware MacBook & MacBook Pro battery & charger issue, Discussion on 3rd party battery as well
wiraone
May 16 2011, 02:47 PM
My daughter's Macbook white (bought it March last year) suddenly couldn't turn on. Putting in a charger doesn't light up the charger LED. She is not a home right now, the last time she was using it, it was alright and I believe she left it w/o charging before she went back to her school. I'm trying to charge it up again, but it seems to be dead. Is this dead battery problem or a dead logic board. Somehow, I didn't bought any ACPP for her Macbook.
BTW, when I say couldn't turn on, it means .. nothing moving, no fan sound .. nothing at all.. just do nothing when I pressed the power button.
This post has been edited by wiraone: May 16 2011, 02:48 PM
wiraone
May 16 2011, 03:07 PM
Tested the charger seems to be okay with my MBP and using my MBP charger on the white Macbook, the LED doesn't light up. I've tried doing the SMC reset (combination of left shift-ctl-option + power button) multiple times, nothing. I believe this probably a dead logic board then? Arghh, just last week my friend called me saying her MBP 13" has this symptom (she is lucky, she bought hers in May last year, till have few days warranty left). I will put it into charger for the whole day today and will see.. Couldn't see any traces of liquid spilled on the keyboard..  Added on May 16, 2011, 3:16 pmI guess only two things left according to this ifixit website: http://www.ifixit.com/Wiki/MacBook_Unibody...Troubleshooting1. Dead logic board or 2. Dead Magsafe board Will need to bring it to VRTech then .. arghh.. money money money.. Did a search on magsafe board fault and found that 90% said that it wouldn't be the cause, but most probably a water damage/spill. Argh! This post has been edited by wiraone: May 16 2011, 03:26 PM
wiraone
May 31 2011, 10:15 AM
I've got a quotation from VRTech, it seems that the problem is with the logic board, RM1800 to change it. Is it worth it?
Added on May 31, 2011, 10:33 amI guess no choice really, need to pay for it .. I was expecting it to be more than that. So, I've made the payment, hopefully will get the MBW back RSN.
This post has been edited by wiraone: May 31 2011, 10:33 AM
wiraone
Jun 1 2011, 07:16 AM
I need to top up at least RM800 to get a new one, well, this MBW was rarely used, my daughter is in a boarding school, so she couldn't bring the MBW with her. She only use it when she is on her school break. Somehow, this is my second experience with logic board going kaput, once was with my old bondi blue back in 2004. No reason given by the service centre, they just told me that the logic board gone kaput, need to replace it. No symptom was given by my daughter. She said a night before she went back to school it was okay.. but few weeks after when I tried to switch it on, it just doesn't give any response at al. At first I suspected the battery was drained off, try to charge it .. no amber light on the charger tip. Tried resetting the power setting, no go too. Lesson learned, the next time I get myself any Apple products, I need to tell myself to go and buy ACPP too.
wiraone
Sep 12 2011, 12:03 PM
Nice DIY there wei, I'm going to do the same thing .. the extension wire is too long for me.. thanks for sharing!!