Pioneer - Sound, Vision & Soul, Pioneer AMP User Pls COME IN !

Ngto
post Dec 7 2009, 02:04 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 7 2009, 01:31 PM)
LPCM HD audio realtek cannot do ar? not sure also cos I remember playing this Audio track (but not sure if it was downmixed).. but I think can rite?
That feature as far as HD Audio is concerned, I think just for the LPCM already available in the BDMV/m2ts file (Not many titles include that nowadays). If the file only include True-HD or DTS-MA track then it wont decode to Lossless LPCM.

Maybe you could test it out to make sure because I am not too sure myself. I sold my Pioneer 819 before I bought the POHD and currently short of $$$ to buy new HDMI amp (Too much spent on POHD and related items like HDs etc.)

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 7 2009, 02:15 PM
Ngto
post Dec 7 2009, 05:51 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Dec 7 2009, 02:54 PM)
Thanks for the info. DTS is sufficient for me.

So, 519 is suitable for me, next, where do you suggest me to get best deal for it?
Sorry, can't help you on the price. If in KL/PJ perhaps go to Harvey Norman and ask for the price , after that go over to Desa HT kepong and ask for the price. After that can compare the difference.

I can only guess the price to be not more than RN1,200/-. Actually why not buy the 819 for around RM1,500/-?
Ngto
post Dec 8 2009, 12:52 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Dec 7 2009, 08:56 PM)
Thanks for the reply. I've got quoted by a retail outlet in Sg Wang @ RM1030. Just wanna know if it's a good deal or not?
That sounds like a good deal. But no harm to bargain further.

Added on December 8, 2009, 1:00 am
QUOTE(azbro @ Dec 7 2009, 09:49 PM)
If you need only DTS/DD there are many brands out there.
I think he may still want something that has HDMI video and can handle at least Lossless LPCM from his PS3 as a Blu-ray player.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 8 2009, 01:02 AM
Ngto
post Dec 8 2009, 06:07 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Dec 8 2009, 09:19 AM)
Yup...you are right....I think I shall just stick to 519.
Will scout around...TQ all.

Added on December 8, 2009, 1:40 pmWent to Desa Kepong just now during lunch time.

End up with 818 instead. They are doing clearance. Have some special package bundle with 5 speaker (w/o subwoofer).
818 can't do HD LPCM. It's totally passthrough only. Your PS3 can't LPCM HD Audio to your 818.
Ngto
post Dec 8 2009, 07:31 PM

4,350 posts

That 818 model (already obselete) doesn't accept Lossless bitstream or Lossless LPCM through HDMI. The HDMI is for passthrough to TV only. It acts as a switch.

When I said "Your PS3 can't LPCM HD audio to your 818" what I really meant was that the 818 won't be able to accept the sound. Sorry for the confusion. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 8 2009, 07:52 PM
Ngto
post Dec 8 2009, 08:08 PM

4,350 posts

I think Danieloo got confused with the model numbers. He must have thought that since 818 starts with a higher number it should be a newer model than the 519.

Actually the 519,819,919,1019 are the latest models and the 818 is already phased out.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 8 2009, 09:05 PM
Ngto
post Dec 8 2009, 09:02 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Dec 8 2009, 08:43 PM)
Ouch.....

I bought a Optical Cable & connect to my ACRyan. Set ACRyan Digital output to SPDIF LPCM, it works ok wor, movie has DD.

Have not tried Optical Cable connect to my Panny P42S10K.
If all ok, will connect thru Optical Cable from Panny to 818 while PS3 thru HDMI to Panny.
From what you post I take it you don't undestand the diff between HD Audio over HDMI and regular DD/DTS over SPDIF Optical/Coaxial smile.gif .

So what you don't know wont hurt smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 8 2009, 09:04 PM
Ngto
post Dec 8 2009, 11:38 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Dec 8 2009, 10:53 PM)
Sorry, I really have not tried HD Audio over HDMI.
Yes, I thought 818 is better or equal then 519.Should you survey properly before buying.

I am not sure if my setup is ok, but, I am satisfy, so far.
Thank you for your suggestion and introduction. Will pick up & learn more if my 818 does not satisfy me any more.
Enjoy your new Toy smile.gif .

Standard DD or DTS sound still not too bad biggrin.gif .

Anyway like I said before POHD still haven't sorted their HD Audio issue yet so you are not missing much for time being from POHD.

But if you try to play blu-ray disc from a Blu-ray player or PS3 with DTS-MA or True-HD audio tracks you will know the shortcommings of the 818.
Ngto
post Dec 9 2009, 10:51 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Dec 9 2009, 09:20 AM)
Does Blu-Ray/PS3 has Standard DD or DTS? Just wonder...so far I am still confuse about True HD thing, maybe because I've yet to be exposed.
It depends on the disc , whether they include or not.

But don't worry, the HD Audo file will have the regular DD/DTS core attached to it, so if you can't get HD Audio on your 818 HDMI, you can always just bitstream the HD Audio to the Optical/Coax instead.

Of Course you won't be hearing the HD Audio on your Optical/Coax, but being backward compatible, you will still at least get the regular DD/DTS core which is included/attached to the HD file.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 9 2009, 11:08 AM
Ngto
post Dec 9 2009, 11:56 AM

4,350 posts

The diff is the SC and BDP letters.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 9 2009, 11:57 AM
Ngto
post Dec 9 2009, 11:59 AM

4,350 posts

Where did you get the Oppo from, How much?
Ngto
post Jan 31 2010, 01:03 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(streetkid @ Jan 31 2010, 04:05 AM)
add me up in the list pls.. VSX-1019 user here.. Just bought it..  Need some extraordinary sifu here to guide me.. why is it there's no master dts or tru HD or any HD audio "logo" appeared when i play HD input from my ps3?  still new to this machine.. kinda hard to configure.. its like so details..
If your PS3 is Fat PS3, you can output HD audio to your 1019, but you must let the PS3 do the decoding by setting it to LPCM output through HDMI.

However your AVR won't show the True-HD or DTS-MA logo because the signal has been decoded already.
Ngto
post Jan 31 2010, 01:55 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(yslysl @ Jan 31 2010, 01:41 PM)
after reading all the posts,
the cheapest price for 819 receiver is around 1500
and cheapest price for 819 set is around 3k
am i right?
so, which shop in KL is selling at that price?
also, wut is the cheapest price for 819 speakers set alone?
thanks smile.gif
I don't think they sell the low end speaker set alone, the ones bundled with the 819 . Even if they do the price will be much higher than offered with bundle.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 31 2010, 02:03 PM
Ngto
post Feb 1 2010, 10:56 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Feb 1 2010, 09:34 AM)
limited offer and the stock not available anymore.
notworthy.gif
Then restart your limited offer for another model lah biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Feb 1 2010, 10:57 AM
Ngto
post Feb 2 2010, 01:07 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(streetkid @ Feb 1 2010, 11:30 PM)
Yes mine is the Fat PS3.. hmhm.. will try to set it with LPCM output in my ps3 setting..
If my vsx-1019 never shows the True-HD or DTS-MA, will is still produce the True-HD or DTS-MA sound quality..??
As AR188 said, but make sure you are using recent firmware.

BTW if next time you want to use back Optical output, make sure you set it back to bitstream or else your Optical will only get Stereo sound.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Feb 2 2010, 01:21 AM
Ngto
post Feb 2 2010, 08:19 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Feb 2 2010, 09:28 AM)
why only stereo sound with not setting back to bitstream...
i thought will still get DTS/DD sound...setting the LPCM is decoded by PS3 while bitstream is decoded by AVR..
how can  only stereo?  hmm.gif
Like above reply, Optical can't handle the decoded high LPCM Bandwidth (Not just the Pioneer, but every AVR system also same).

That's the standard excuse given by the industry, maybe to force you to upgrade to HDMI smile.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 8:42 pm
QUOTE(streetkid @ Feb 2 2010, 06:13 PM)
Meaning..?? how do i get the best setup for the HD audio output..?? mind to elaborate pls..?? sorry as i'm not very familiar with the new Technology.. Learning in process now...    smile.gif
Like I have already told you before, if you want best sound from your fat PS3 (which can't bitstream HD Audio to HDMI) when watching Blu-ray, set output to LPCM on HDMI. Your LPCM will still be HD Lossless Audio.

If for some reason or another you want to use Optical , then set your PS3 to bitstream (The system will automatically downgrade from HD Audio to regular DD or DTS 5.1 ). If you don't you will only get stereo since the optical can't handle the decoded LPCM HD audio.

I am not sure if Fat PS3 can select different output for different connections. If can, then set LPCM to HDMI and Bitstream to Optical.

If you are still unsure, then just buy the Slim PS3 and set everything to Bitstream and all will be OK biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Feb 2 2010, 08:58 PM
Ngto
post Feb 3 2010, 08:07 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Feb 3 2010, 12:12 AM)
Is that true so?, i was well advised that optical output is crystal clear than HDMI audio?
More like you were ILL advised .

Probably whoever advised you set his fat PS3 to LPCM but output it to Optical and the sound was downgraded to stereo without his knowledge.
Ngto
post Feb 7 2010, 05:10 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(arafat @ Feb 7 2010, 03:12 PM)
anyone want to let go 818 avr?

i am looking for below 1k avr with fm tuner!
More than 6 mths ago someone was selling New ones for only RM699/-. Too bad you didn't buy then :-

Link:-

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1089499&hl=
Ngto
post Feb 23 2010, 09:39 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ Feb 23 2010, 12:30 PM)
hooked up my 1019 just before cny..my gear includes:

1) VXS1019
2) AC Ryan PlayOn!HD media player (POHD)
3) BDP-LX52 BD Player

i set up the AVR using auto MCACC..but somehow, the front speakers was detected as 'Large' even tho mine is satellite speakers (Mordaunt Short Alumni 8).

i'm not seeing the DTS-MA, True-HD logo appearing at any times, whatever source i play.  even with BD with DTS-MA..why is that?

i'm using 5.1 ch speakers (MS Alumni 8, 5 & 2 as rear) with Velodyne CHT12Q sub...but i'm not 'feeling' the surround...there's sound coming out from the rear speakers (if i put my ears very close to it) but most are coming off the 2 front speakers. what is wrong?

from my BD player & POHD (HDMI 1), i connect using HDMI cable to the AVR, and another HDMI out from AVR to TV.

am a total noob in this...anyone can help out? or anyone willing to help set up/tune my gears physically will also be appreciated..can pm me and we can share details...i really hv no idea how to set the xover of speakers & sub, which i think is the problem why i'm not feeling the surround working...
You are testing DTS-MA / True-HD from your Blu-ray player or POHD ? If POHD, don't waste your time, it doesn't support either of the two HD Audio format.

Your surround is soft sometimes due to the movie itself is soft. Try out the test tone, if the surrounds are loud using the test tones, then the problem is the sound from the disc.
Ngto
post Feb 24 2010, 10:06 PM

4,350 posts

If you are using your blu-ray player, have you set up the player to do bitstream? Also during calibration of your pioneer did you hear all the speakers during MCACC?

If too complicated for you better wait fot CT Seong.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Feb 24 2010, 10:23 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0269sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:06 AM