> Papago GPS Software for Android, its working!!! - updated @ page 3

DJFoo000
post Jun 30 2010, 09:43 AM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

Is Android backwards compatible? Like when Legend/Desire/Nexus One users finally get the 2.2 update, is Papago X5 usable on it? Coz last time I heard Papago X5 cannot be used on 2.1. Now that when it finally supports 2.1, 2.2 is coming out.
DJFoo000
post Jun 30 2010, 04:25 PM

3,000 posts

lol. 2.2 is already rolling out to nexus one users, the real deal. Engadget has it that in Q3 (which starts tomorrow) 2.2 will be rolling out to Legend, Desire and EVO. It took 6 months for Papago to support 2.1, and when they did, 2.2 is starting to roll out. C'mon, 2.2 with that SD app storage update, who's not going to update, right?

I, personally, am just waiting for 2.2 to roll out on the Desire. As soon as ppl start getting the official 2.2, i'm getting that Desire.

It is going to change, but time doesn't stop. Maybe this has something to do with Android's fragmentation issues.

Well, who knows, maybe Papago has been working overtime with that 2.2 source code released not long ago.

So, android is not backwards compatible, like how a Win 7 can run a Win 98 program?
DJFoo000
post Dec 10 2010, 11:25 PM

3,000 posts

only problem i have with Papago X5 is that sometimes it tells me to turn left when the screen is clearly showing a right turn.
DJFoo000
post Dec 21 2010, 02:52 PM

3,000 posts

lol i'm pretty sure the 'HOLLAND' mentioned by Sampo is not a country.

The search function in Papago is very, how do i put this... non-blanket. Meaning you can only find roads in 'Road Search'. Typing in 'Jalan XXX' in POI search will not show any result. Same goes for searching POIs in 'Road Search'.

If that doesn't help, maybe update the map?

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Dec 21 2010, 02:54 PM
DJFoo000
post Mar 3 2011, 10:15 AM

3,000 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Feb 27 2011, 06:27 PM)
Thanks for the update above, The only reason why I am still with my N8 is because of Ovi maps. If it was not for that, Bye bye N8... I will try and do more research because I need a basic gps incase I get lost and so far, in that way, my N8 has never failed me. I hope garmin comes as a stand alone app for adroid phones soon. I will definitely purchase it.
I have an idea. Switch to an android phone as usual, but keep the N8 to be used as a standalone GPS unit. That way you have a new phone to play with, and the GPS that you always loved.
DJFoo000
post Mar 4 2011, 02:59 PM

3,000 posts

yeah that happens quite often, the click sound and the wrong voice instruction (left instead of right ad vice versa). However I find the on-screen representation to be quite accurate.
DJFoo000
post Mar 4 2011, 03:08 PM

3,000 posts

I place my phone behind the steering wheel, resting against the speedometer when using the GPS.
DJFoo000
post Mar 29 2011, 07:08 PM

3,000 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 29 2011, 12:49 PM)
I wonder whether papago can be used on Gingerbread without any issues?  hmm.gif
Post #1312 just answered the exact same question.

Those having problem getting GPS lock on Papago, try the following:

1) In map view, zoom out until just before you get to view the entire state (any zoom level that is not maximum/minimum). It should lock faster.
2) If it doesn't lock, try to simply find a POI, then set that as destination. Papago should try to route you to the destination from your previous locked position, then promptly start you from your true current location.

Do wait at least 5 minutes before giving up on step 1. If it is to verify if Papago is working fine, please allow for best weather condition before trying.

Steps are not taken from anywhere, but personal trial and error.

To verify if your GPS module is working fine, download any of the GPS apps on Market (personally recommend GPS Test) and run it. See if it detects any satellites, and if it subsequently locks. Give it 5 minutes before giving up.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Mar 29 2011, 07:09 PM
DJFoo000
post May 22 2011, 08:30 PM

3,000 posts

QUOTE(doncityz @ May 22 2011, 07:09 PM)
Aaa.... siao..

I got HTC Desire and with it came Papago X5.. but in between the voices, there are CLAP NOISE.. like

"Turn right" *clap!* "Keep to left lane" *clap!

WTF is this and how to fix it?

Also, when touch anywhere while the app is running, there is a vibrate. This sucks.

Pls help sifus!
This one quite random one. Either reinstall (sometimes reinstall also won't solve) or live with it. It happen to me before on android 2.2. After upgraded to 2.3 the clap no more. Might come back though...

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: May 22 2011, 08:31 PM
DJFoo000
post Jun 15 2011, 07:30 PM

3,000 posts

X8 is only featured in standalone GPS units. They haven't ported it to Android yet.

What that letter meant (as far as Android PPG X5 is concerned) is that there's a new X8 coming out, and MFM will not be making maps for X5 after 31 August.

0.0380sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:24 PM