oh ya. Support cap Asia then!
HDMI Cable Quality?, Really make a diffrent?
Nov 3 2009, 04:36 PM
1,006 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
oh ya. Support cap Asia then!
Nov 3 2009, 04:43 PM
3,603 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE Conclusion Well, what started out as a quest to prove the fact that longer HDMI cables really matter ended up schooling me in the fact that real world performance differs very much from lab results. It also demonstrated that not all manufacturers' cables are created equal - nor will all of the cables labeled as "HDMI 1.3-ready" likely pass all of the potential aspects of category 2 (3.4 Gbps) cables without help. I have to come away saying that most cables under 4-5 meters will pass just about anything in today's arsenal of 1080p - and that's likely to include Deep Color if and when it ever makes an appearance (not likely soon due to current Blu-ray limitations). For cables over 5 meters it's a good bet that you'll want to stick with trusted manufacturers who deliver on their specs. For long cables, Blue Jeans Cable, DVIGear, MonoPrice, Monster Cable 800HD, and WireWorld seem to be the best bets of the cables we tested - however the price variance between these cables is revealing. We're sure there are also other cables we didn't test which are also likely to perform well. Some of the other manufacturers, such as NGHP, RAM Electronics, Sewell Direct, and Tributaries also showed themselves to be great performers at <7.5 meters, however they either didn't have longer length cables or they didn't supply them in ~10 meter lengths for our testing. Your take-away from all this should be the following: * At lengths less than 4 meters you can just about use silly string (OK, not really) and get HDMI to pass at any current resolution. At less than 3 meters you'll even extend that to 12-bit color and possibly the next crazy idea HDMI Licensing decides to throw at consumers. Don't spend a lot on these cables and if you want to save money you won't let anyone at a big box store talk you into buying from them. * At long lengths (over 10 meters) you really need to pay attention to the manufacturer if you don't want to risk running into potential problems with 1080p and future formats such as Deep Color. With that said, just about any cable at or under 10 meters will pass 720p/1080i and nearly everyone will pass 1080p at 8-bit color as well. * If you have an existing HDMI cable and are running into problems, we'd suggest at least attempting the insertion of an active component at the sink (display) side. This is going to be far cheaper than ripping out your walls and re-running new cables - and likely just as effective. * HDMI has proven to be a moving target and there is no telling what crazy (likely unnecessary) format they will try to push down the cable next. Due to this, it's always good to "overbuild" your cable install, especially if it's a longer distance and going to end up behind drywall. * If you're not prone to upgraditis and think 1080p will be your maximum resolution for the life of your install, don't sweat it... There are going to be exceptions to all these "rules" but in the end I'd have to say that I really thought I'd see more differences in the real-world performances of longer-length cables. Since we're all basically pinned at 8-bit 1080p, I didn't. It's likely you won't either. So all those people saying "buy any cable you want, it doesn't matter" are, for the most part, correct - at least until manufacturers advance to 12-bit software and signal transmission. Where they are not accurate is in assuming HDMI (since it is digital) is either "on" or "off" (it either works or doesn’t). HDMI signals can be partially corrupted as you saw above. The other area in which they are off concerns the future. If and when 12-bit "Deep Color" video truly comes to market (as more than just a listed spec) individual cable situations can (and likely will) change. For this reason take all of the above measurements and principles into account and make sure you build your installation wisely. This one from audiohonlics.... |
Nov 3 2009, 05:06 PM
6,562 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Nov 3 2009, 05:22 PM
3,603 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Nov 3 2009, 05:53 PM
1,475 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Paradise |
Nov 3 2009, 07:28 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 3 2009, 03:47 PM) good question, it'll affect the audio and video in abrupt non comfortable way.. in audio it's like DTS-MA sonic bomb or video sparklies.. or whole picture become green or flashes of white etc... which ever data loss effect, it surely won't make the image softer, or less bright , sound not at clean less bright,, muddled etc... |
Nov 3 2009, 08:25 PM
736 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Hell |
i know HDMI cable doesn't affect image quality, but does build quality make a difference is you have a crap load of electronic equipment nearby?
Nov 3 2009, 08:26 PM
5,989 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
What's a DTS-MA sonic bomb?
Nov 3 2009, 08:32 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Nov 3 2009, 08:50 PM
4,865 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
cheap people buy cheap cables
Nov 3 2009, 09:00 PM
Nov 3 2009, 09:11 PM
4,027 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 3 2009, 07:28 PM) good question, it'll affect the audio and video in abrupt non comfortable way.. in audio it's like DTS-MA sonic bomb or video sparklies.. or whole picture become green or flashes of white etc... i go to a hifi shop audition speaker package, the salesman keep insisting that HDMI cable that cost several hundred ringgit sound louder and clearer than cheap HDMI cable which ever data loss effect, it surely won't make the image softer, or less bright , sound not at clean less bright,, muddled etc... |
Nov 3 2009, 09:15 PM
Nov 4 2009, 09:46 AM
1,342 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Nov 4 2009, 10:18 AM
54 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Nov 4 2009, 10:19 AM
even the Brand name of the cable already tell you that you will be eaten~
Nov 4 2009, 10:22 AM
4,027 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Nov 4 2009, 10:34 AM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
Why everyone like to bang bang monster cable?...got so many other brand of cables that are similar priced with monster cable and perform same like normal cable.
Nov 4 2009, 11:05 AM
Nov 4 2009, 11:07 AM