22 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Shahz's Android guides with Ultimate package dload, Get the most out of your HTC Hero!

shayppp
post Dec 28 2009, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(cylon @ Dec 28 2009, 03:57 PM)
But i think you can't see paid apps, isn't it.
Yup, that is why I asked Shahz n others for opinions first rather than bulldoze to rooting. Still high in sugar with this Hero.. haven't work out how to set APN for 3G (celcom).. Wifi no issue, works fine.. good download speed using Imusic. thumbup.gif

Many thanks
TSshahz
post Dec 28 2009, 04:29 PM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

Lol..paid apps has nothing to do with the ROM..Paid apps depends on the network APN you're using..You can spoof it and access to paid apps..His ROM might be the one we will be using soon wink.gif My wingman from now..hahaha..
shayppp
post Dec 28 2009, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(shahz @ Dec 28 2009, 04:29 PM)
Lol..paid apps has nothing to do with the ROM..Paid apps depends on the network APN you're using..You can spoof it and access to paid apps..His ROM might be the one we will be using soon wink.gif My wingman from now..hahaha..

rclxms.gif Wingman? I'm just trill to share and learn from this group.

Leviathan has sort of compiled on his owned, hope that no one else is SELLING their hero hmm.gif .

The last time I play with computer language was in 96.. Fotran 77. hehehe.. now have to relearn again..

Many thanks
TSshahz
post Dec 28 2009, 07:04 PM

1,566 posts

Compiling and developing are not the same. You can compile your kernel as much as you want too. I usually recompile my Hero's kernel with different CPU prefs to see what suits the best and saves the most energy. But its just compiling. Nothing like MoDaCo - developing a new ROM smile.gif

I started of with basic C..Throughout the years, I played with Perl, Python, CGI even Debian platforms..But I just do it for fun..hehe..My whole mission to be here on LYN forums is just share knowledge and keep things free for Android users. I don't want rooting and flashing become another money making business in Malaysia like iPhone jailbreaking. This is the only way we can bring Android against Apple. I don't declare myself as a pro, but I know that I'm among the first few to step into this world and have the spirit to spread the love. smile.gif
ElmI
post Dec 28 2009, 07:23 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(shayppp @ Dec 28 2009, 10:58 AM)
Hi Shahz & all sifus,

I'm a Noob. just curious, I just bought a new Hero with build number 2.73.707.9 146733 CL#62020 release-keys.  Do I need to downgrade it first in order to root? It has Adroid Market inside already.

Many thanks
This one is an old ROM. Singapore version. Same with Malaysia one except come with market instead of slideME.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=563256

To access paid apps, u can either use MarketEnabler or change the carrier operator through terminal or gscript. Both need a working su command (i.e root).

Cheers
TSshahz
post Dec 28 2009, 07:26 PM

1,566 posts

QUOTE(ElmI @ Dec 28 2009, 07:23 PM)
This one is an old ROM. Singapore version. Same with Malaysia one except come with market instead of slideME.
Yeah..I figured out..I just saw the CL keys and apparently its an older ROM..We are getting a new ROM this week..Something interesting is about to happen..Stay tuned smile.gif
shayppp
post Dec 29 2009, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(shahz @ Dec 28 2009, 07:26 PM)
Yeah..I figured out..I just saw the CL keys and apparently its an older ROM..We are getting a new ROM this week..Something interesting is about to happen..Stay tuned smile.gif
Dear Elmi & Shahz,

Thanks for your feedback. So I will wait for the development before rooting my Hero. I'm just a user not a compiler nor a developer. biggrin.gif

It's good to know that there are Power User in LYN!! rclxm9.gif

Many Thanks

p/s: you can ask me on civil engineering design coz that is my field, maybe someone can help me develop a mobile tools for engineering purposes.
Cheers!!
danny83
post Dec 30 2009, 02:52 AM

151 posts

Bro Shahz,

is the chinese input working in MCR3.0?
as i tried it's not able to perform chinese input even i added the mcr2.8 chinese core on it.

is it my problem or the rom doesn't support it yet?
tHe^CuLpRit
post Dec 30 2009, 04:33 AM

598 posts

Hey guys, how do I go about doing an MCR3.0 update? (or 3.1 for that matter)

Simply just flash the ROM? and it won't affect my current phone settings right? (apps, contacts, messages, etc...)

One other sideline question, since we're on custom ROM is it safe to say we should not be going to HTC sites for official updates?

TSshahz
post Dec 30 2009, 05:12 AM

1,566 posts

danny83, for chinese input, you have to use the separate ROM i provided.

the^culprit, yes, you dont need those updates anymore smile.gif
cheesehead
post Dec 31 2009, 09:56 AM

Hi I own a Hero, bought from Mid Valley 2 months ago. I'd like to access Android Market but can't. Its preloaded with Slideme but some of my apps (like Mapdroyd) keep trying to access Market for components and of course end up crashing. Ok, so I know you have to root it and stuff and I skimmed through the helpful hints in this thread but I just got overwhelmed by the alphabet soup and techie terms. Am not brave enuf to attempt open heart surgery on my Hero, can't live a day without it. The shop I bought it from kept saying "Android Market? Tunggu lah, 2-3 bulan ini macam. Saya tak boleh guarantee .." Could someone direct me to someone who can help me do this. I support keep it free so I'll buy them a nice cup of coffee for the trouble. Thanks bros!

TSshahz
post Dec 31 2009, 06:08 PM

1,566 posts

Hey cheesehead..All you have to do is just pick a little courage, backup everything on your phone, spend about 2 hours, have a strongwill, and follow the first page of this post. And you will be good to go..Read the whole guide, then download all files needed before you start..Its really simpler than you can immagine..Dont be scared with the extra text that you see there..

Oh, and sure, a cup of coffee would be fine - provided we pay for our own coffee happy.gif

Guys who have learnt rooting here are really helpful..As you proceed, try as much as you can first..When you get stuck, post your question, and they will answer it for you..Just don't go around asking too simple questions which you could've perhaps found on this thread or googled smile.gif Good Luck~
tHe^CuLpRit
post Jan 1 2010, 05:26 AM

598 posts

Yeah, I was afraid too but hey it came out alright at the end!

Btw Shahz I still need to refer back to my earlier question posted above, will updating to MCR 3.0 affect my current phone settings right? (apps, contacts, messages, etc...)

TSshahz
post Jan 1 2010, 05:31 AM

1,566 posts

Nope..updating does not change anything..just plays with the ROM only..once you're on MoDaCo, you dont have to worry about getting your phone wiped etc..But its always safe to have a backup of course smile.gif
tHe^CuLpRit
post Jan 1 2010, 05:45 AM

598 posts

yeah of cos... and hey you reply so quick. Wow, salute you. I know you don't accept free drink but I definately owe you a cuppa biggrin.gif
TSshahz
post Jan 1 2010, 05:52 AM

1,566 posts

Lol..I work online from home..develop websites mostly..So I'm connected to the internet almost 18 hours a day..I get notifications and just follow the link after that..hehe..

Added on January 1, 2010, 5:55 amToday I really felt bad for an Android user..He has a HTC Magic with Sense UI..He has been trying to root for more than 3 weeks but in vain..So I was wondering what could be so tough in that as I have rooted Magics before..So we were talking online and I was telling him what to do..Surprisingly his Magic really didn't root..Flashrec was not even flashing the boot image..Even imitated the root rom as a backup ROM and ran a restore, but still didn't work..Any other Magic users have had this problems so far? 32A HTC Magic.

This post has been edited by shahz: Jan 1 2010, 05:55 AM
myboo_1988
post Jan 2 2010, 03:18 AM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

my build number is modaco custom rom 2.9 core,REBOOT REQUIRED???what does it means???sigh..im so worried now...omg
TSshahz
post Jan 2 2010, 04:18 AM

1,566 posts

Lol..it means you need a reboot (restart)..lol..That reboot required is just for the SSH partial installation..Once you restart your phone, you will get a SSH password listed there smile.gif
myboo_1988
post Jan 2 2010, 01:13 PM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

problem solve hehe..i scared to touch it ..never drop my phone so far...
TSshahz
post Jan 2 2010, 05:01 PM

1,566 posts

tongue.gif

22 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:04 PM