22 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Shahz's Android guides with Ultimate package dload, Get the most out of your HTC Hero!

tHe^CuLpRit
post Dec 27 2009, 07:59 PM

598 posts

Nope, not rooted. Just saw your note and didn't know to root is an additional step. and didn't install the FlashRec, I'll try that now.
TSshahz
post Dec 27 2009, 08:01 PM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

Okay, first thing is to root your phone..Install flashrec and continue from there..It will be very easy..Trust me smile.gif

Btw, version 3.0 is being uploaded..Its a very fast race now..3.1 will be coming out soon too..but well, at least I have verified 3.0 now smile.gif also, amonRa is updated to 1.5.2 for those who don't have it yet..Teknologist kernel is now 1.91 but will NOT be included in this version yet..
tHe^CuLpRit
post Dec 27 2009, 08:02 PM

598 posts

Thanks Shahz!
TSshahz
post Dec 27 2009, 08:04 PM

1,566 posts

No problem mate.. smile.gif

Added on December 27, 2009, 8:05 pmKeep us posted..We like successes smile.gif

You may want to wait for the new archives..

This post has been edited by shahz: Dec 27 2009, 08:05 PM
tHe^CuLpRit
post Dec 27 2009, 08:07 PM

598 posts

Yeah, but can't wait to root it haha... Been with me for 4 days and yet to use it tongue.gif

Btw, how do we get the Flashrec.apk on the phone. You mentioned to install using File Manager?
TSshahz
post Dec 27 2009, 08:09 PM

1,566 posts

hehe..its the best thing to do on Hero smile.gif

Yeah, its pretty easy actually..Just use USB connection, move it to the SD card, then use File Manager (Astro File Mnaager is my favorite), find the file and click it..Follow the installation process..Very easy and straightforward smile.gif
tHe^CuLpRit
post Dec 27 2009, 08:19 PM

598 posts

the video for rooting the Hero ain't loading proper. I used another online guide (http://www.sizzledcore.com/2009/12/02/how-to-root-htc-hero-and-install-amon-ra-recovery-image/)

and it asks to format the SD card? Plus I can't unmount the SD card as its greyed out.
TSshahz
post Dec 27 2009, 08:21 PM

1,566 posts

Formatting for rooting is something normal. Make a backup of your files and data for a fresh start. If you are not running any critical process, then you can just plug off the USB. Another user discovered this problem previously - apparently I'm guessing its a bug in the original HTC Hero ROM.
tHe^CuLpRit
post Dec 27 2009, 08:32 PM

598 posts

Thanks, one more thing (please bear with me, I'm just too n00b at this and don't wanna mess this up), but how can I get the File Manager when I don't have Market in the first place?

Let me see if SlideMe has it.
TSshahz
post Dec 27 2009, 08:36 PM

1,566 posts

thats why i asked you to use USB smile.gif Try a google search and you will find a file manager for hero..that you can download..
tHe^CuLpRit
post Dec 27 2009, 08:40 PM

598 posts

Not getting this, as I understand you gotta install the file manager on the phone.

Added on December 27, 2009, 8:51 pmI gotta head out, will try again later. Just a few niggles, installing the FlashRec has to be done using a file manager and as you advised I can download them.

But how do I get the file manager running on the phone, simply transfer via USB to the SD card?

This post has been edited by tHe^CuLpRit: Dec 27 2009, 08:51 PM
TSshahz
post Dec 27 2009, 09:59 PM

1,566 posts

yeah..then use application manager to install it..hint: home screen -> menu button -> settings

Added on December 27, 2009, 10:04 pmVersion 3.0 MoDaCo is uploaded! Have fun guys.

This post has been edited by shahz: Dec 27 2009, 10:04 PM
tHe^CuLpRit
post Dec 28 2009, 03:29 AM

598 posts

Done, only Modaco 2.9 though. (your Archive 4 is corrupted or sumthin, was lazy to look for it elsewhere)

Apart from the confusion on have a file manager installed everything went well!

Btw, I skipped step 4 for now. I'm still using the standard 2GB and will upgrade to an 8gb class 4/6. Sounds like step.4 is to be done using a card you're gonna be using?

And speaking of SD card, I can change the SD card without any issues right, as custom ROM should have been stored on the phone?

Also, will doing the step 4 later affect the phone settings? (say, I've customised it, added contacts etc etc...)

TSshahz
post Dec 28 2009, 03:36 AM

1,566 posts

Its best to do it after u hav bought the sd card.
tHe^CuLpRit
post Dec 28 2009, 07:30 AM

598 posts

yeah just haven't had time to do so...

but back to my question, the operation of the phone itself (custom ROM and what not) should not be affected by an SD swap right? (except I'm guessing all my installed apps will be removed)
shayppp
post Dec 28 2009, 10:58 AM

Hi Shahz & all sifus,

I'm a Noob. just curious, I just bought a new Hero with build number 2.73.707.9 146733 CL#62020 release-keys. Do I need to downgrade it first in order to root? It has Adroid Market inside already.

Many thanks
TSshahz
post Dec 28 2009, 11:23 AM

1,566 posts

the^culprit, if you have not moved any apps to SD, then it won't be affected..if you have moved them, then there will be a little extra work. Knowing that you have not yet done anything on your SD card, I guess you should be all fine smile.gif

shayppp, DONT ROOT yet please! I think I need your ROM! Maybe we can make a root version out of your ROM! Please send me a PM!

Added on December 28, 2009, 11:28 amshayppp, please subscribe to this topic and send me a PM. I think you got the latest ROM revision there. If everything is good, we will root it and make it as public release smile.gif

This post has been edited by shahz: Dec 28 2009, 11:28 AM
cylon
post Dec 28 2009, 12:27 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(shayppp @ Dec 28 2009, 10:58 AM)
Hi Shahz & all sifus,

I'm a Noob. just curious, I just bought a new Hero with build number 2.73.707.9 146733 CL#62020 release-keys.  Do I need to downgrade it first in order to root? It has Adroid Market inside already.

Many thanks
is your's Singapore version?

Anyone tried Hero Android ROM : Hik@Ri_2.0.1.4_1?

This post has been edited by cylon: Dec 28 2009, 01:52 PM
shayppp
post Dec 28 2009, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(cylon @ Dec 28 2009, 12:27 PM)
is your's Singapore version?

Anyone tried Hero Android ROM : Hik@Ri_2.0.1.4_1?
Hi Cyclon,

Got it from "Third Party" Reseller.. Not SIS. Inspected the phone and suddenly I saw Market Widget in it. At first I taught it was a rooted Hero, boy was I wrong. drool.gif It still virgin.. just got it last Thursday.

Many thanks
cylon
post Dec 28 2009, 03:57 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(shayppp @ Dec 28 2009, 03:25 PM)
Hi Cyclon,

Got it from "Third Party" Reseller.. Not SIS.  Inspected the phone and suddenly I saw Market Widget in it. At first I taught it was a rooted Hero, boy was I wrong. drool.gif It still virgin.. just got it last Thursday.

Many thanks
But i think you can't see paid apps, isn't it.

22 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:11 PM