5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

NOKIA N97 V3!, Firmware v21 is available for updates!

G K Lai
post Dec 19 2009, 05:34 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(worldbiz @ Dec 19 2009, 04:39 PM)
when i had a major battery (power down) problem, I had a motherboard replacement in my then 3 week old N97 (repair down time was 2.5 weeks & Nokia couldn't offer temporary replacement phone during all that time)
Hi worldbiz,

This sounds interesting, could you please describe in more detail what do you mean "battery (power down) problem?"
By the way, my problem is "power up" instead... laugh.gif

G K Lai
post Dec 19 2009, 11:05 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(lucky8 @ Dec 19 2009, 08:33 PM)
Seems like i m the 3rd that having the same issue after with this v20.
this time was 3rd time i can't boot up and stuck at the Nokia Whitescreen.

1st time was phone hang, then i reboot, managed to get it after bout 10 mins tried.
2nd time was phone lagging, so i reboot, managed to get it back after plug in the charging cable which i thought it may caused by battery problem.
3rd time again was phone lagging after massive 1 hr+ internet browsing, cannot get it back now after more than 20~30 times rebooting...try many methode now, still no hope on get it back..and i do not wish to hard reset it yet, as i will lost all my data once i done it.

is there anyway can help to boot it up ?
I did the hard-reset for the third times --- just for today...!

This morning, I checked SW Update and saw a new item: Memory reorganiser 1.0
I installed it, the installation took quite long (few minutes here, at least in my case).
I reboot the phone manually and yes, I reboot my phone quite frequently...
Then it stuck at Nokia screen again!!! mad.gif

After several hours of attempts trying to get it to boot up but failed... I gave up, did the hard reset!
I format the Mass Memory as well as recommended earlier in this v3 thread.
Restore only Contacts, Messages, Calendar, Bookmark, Setting etc...
Several reboot was done to make sure everything is working properly.
I then installed this Memory reorganiser 1.0 once more time,
very effectively, the next reboot took forever!
Did hard reset for the second time!

I repeat the restore work again... vmad.gif
Until I installed Garmin Mobile XT v5.00.60,
It cannot reboot AGAIN~! rclxub.gif

Did my third hard-reset for today~! shakehead.gif

I restore again, installed Garmin Mobile XT v5.00.50 instead of .60 this time.
I installed a few important apps. and did some reboot all went fine.

Then at one time, the reboot stuck at Nokia screen again!
And surprisingly, another reboot was successful!
But one strange thing, the phone show "Installing..." when it boot up, then said "Unable to install from memory card...".
Can't find anything unusual in Application Manager as well.

Until now I did 4~5 test reboots all successful~!
I did not install that Memory reorginiser 1.0 anymore.

I still have 1 strange entry in my phone though...!
Despite I formatted drive C and E, restored only Contacts, Messages, Calendar, Settings etc... (EXCLUDE all "user files" from C and E)
I still have Gmail in my phone which I cannot uninstall.
It also cannot re-install from Gmail site, saying Certificate error?!?!?! hmm.gif
Could this (corrupted Gmail) be the main reason for the reboot error?

sad.gif

Added on December 19, 2009, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(jehutyz @ Dec 19 2009, 11:04 PM)
Seem like lot of ppl having the problem as unable to bootup with v20.
I damn fxxxing sien as I need to restore back my thing. Now is like every week. Anyone check with NSS for this?

I reinstall my firmware bfore... it seem ok... but just sometime only.
This is also why I'm looking for ways to downgrade my firmware to v12,
but I can't find a good guide to do it~! cry.gif

Tried JAF, but don't know which setting should use for firmware downgrading,
it reported "unable to prepare phone for downgrading"...
Should I use "Dead USB" option to downgrade?

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Dec 19 2009, 11:07 PM
G K Lai
post Dec 20 2009, 04:01 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(lucky8 @ Dec 19 2009, 11:56 PM)
just did a 4-fingers hard reset..shit, all my sms and some most applications gone... fortuntely the pictures remains...
You mean that Nokia logo white screen have strikes again? ohmy.gif

Although I can't find the real reason for this stuck issue,
but I think it is not related to Garmin Mobile XT as someone told me (maybe?).
I uninstalled my Garmin and it also hang~!!!!

I also don't think it is related to the recent update of "Memory reorganiser 1.0".
Even now I didn't install this update, the phone would hang as well~!!!!

Believe me or not? Until now I still have this issue despite I already hard-reset the phone so many times for today!!!
Really really can't find out where is the culprit~! mad.gif

I do notice one thing quite strange...
When I pressed the power button trying to switch ON the phone,
the screen not always appeared (light up) the same way, it acted randomly:
When the power button fully pressed and after the vibrate:
1) The screen stays dark for a few seconds, then light up...
2) The screen stays dark for a few seconds, then light up 1 or 2 second and goes off (light off) then lights up again...
3) The screen lights up instantly then goes off for 1 or 2 seconds then lights up again...
4) The screen lights up instantly and stayed...
None of the above tells whether the boot will be successful or it will stuck... hmm.gif

I had 3 successful attempts to make it boot up after a failed booting,
at least a temporary solution that I've succeeded for these 3 attempts:
When it stuck at Nokia logo screen, the only way is the take out the battery, do it.
Then put the battery back, switch on the phone until you see the first lights up,
immediately remove the battery
to interrupt the booting process.
Put back the battery and the next boot (most likely) will be success (but not guaranteed). sad.gif

G K Lai
post Dec 22 2009, 01:34 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Dec 20 2009, 05:27 PM)
I had this problem..what i did was uninstall back any application that i installed last time and no more "Unable to install from memory card..." everytime i reboot..hope it helps
Hi PyOsE,

Because I find it tedious to uninstall so many applications, I finally decided to do hard-reset and format the Mass Memory all at once.
No more "Installing..." issue.
I then restore only Msg, Contacts, Calendar, Bookmark, Notes, Settings.
The phone still hang at Nokia screen without warning after a few reboot (to test it).

Added on
QUOTE(Ezra86 @ Dec 21 2009, 03:33 AM)
APPs I found (or think) gave me problems:
1) Windows Live Messenger
2) Boingo App Unistaller
3) Theoretically any app that changes the GUI or needs lots of RAM to start during reboot 
Strangely, I did not have Windows Live Messenger installed before.
I even don't know what that Boingo App Uninstaller.
Am using the built-in default black theme with no customization.
The phone still hang on start-up! hmm.gif

Added on

QUOTE(firstknight @ Dec 21 2009, 05:10 PM)
wel... drama of course.. imagine this....
If the phone hangs it can be rebooted or restart... well and good.... everything intact....
but if the phone hangs and when you reboot or restart... it is stuck at nokia white screen of death.... thats it.. hard reset and reinstall all the darn thing you used in your phone... that is time consuming.. not forgetting you are still using the phone.... half way using poof you have to wait 1/2 hour in order to get to use the phone.. thats the drama....
Right, it's hard for us to do backup everyday.
Sometimes new and important SMS comes in,
sometimes just added new contact numbers etc...
If the phone hang, we're gone! The new data is gone!

Added on
QUOTE(gzero @ Dec 21 2009, 06:17 PM)
i understand, but i did the same as well, i've been rebooting my phone regularly, not just because it hangs, but so that i can get a clean boot, it feel much snappier that way, especially after heavy browsing. just like rebooting pc once a while after few days without switching it off. but getting WSOD has never happened to me so far though *touch wood*
Me too reboot the phone regularly to "refresh" it.
Really hard to live with a phone that I cannot reboot, what a joke?
If I go outstation for several days then if the phone acted strange,
I think I reboot it, but this reboot could be a lethal one~! laugh.gif

Added on
Since last few days the phone hang at Nokia screen many times in a day and after my many attempts to reset and restore it.
It seems the problem still there as the phone hang again on Sunday morning when I try to power it up.
(I shut it down so it can rest overnight, but it won't wake up after that)

I then do hard reset again, but this time I restore my data as describe above but exclude "Settings".
Then I can start to abuse it by installing, rebooting etc...
So far it performed quite well, and even better in some points:

* Was having the issue with photo gallery. When enter to view a single picture in full screen, then I choose [Back], the entire gallery exit instead of go back to thumbnail view. This problem is gone!

* Was unable to choose MID file as alarm clock tone (only amr, mp3 were listed out), this problem is gone, I can now choose MID as alarm clock tone as well!

* The Facebook widget/application work faster than ever, it never run this smoothly since the first day I bought this phone!

Up to now, I guess my problem was due to restoring a corrupted "Settings" back to the phone, so the problem always still there and making me hard-reset the phone so many times in a day.
Also guess, the NSU's firmware update wasn't perfectly convert or treat the old settings from previous firmware.
Could be compatibility issue between the old and new firmware that Nokia did not sort out before publishing this v20 firmware (that's why we have problem only after v20 firmware update).

The phone works perfectly until now, but I really don't know when will it strikes again...
Just hope it won't happen at the moment that I need it the most~!

Added on December 22, 2009, 1:53 amUsually, after we've formatted the phone (drive C:), most, if not all application that were installed in drive E: still show up inside [Apps.] in the menu.
Does it due to the phone always scan for all memory storage (built-in 32GB, and MicroSD card, if we inserted) for installed application during booting up?

Actually I had an issue earlier:

After hard reset and formatted Mass Memory, I restore my Msg, Calendar, Notes, Bookmarks, Settings and reboot the phone.
Then I only realized that my "Gmail" application still in [Apps.] menu! hmm.gif

The application won't start, can't be uninstall (no reason given, just error), cannot install a new copy over it so that I can remove it later.
The icon just stuck there and I cannot uninstall it, run it, reinstall it~!

I then connect the phone in Mass Storage mode, go to the [Private] folder then find and delete all traces of the Gmail, reboot the phone...
Shockingly, Gmail still in the [Apps.] menu...! mad.gif
Meaning it is in my newly formatted drive C: ?

In my last hard-reset and restore my data without restoring the "Settings" option, the Gmail is gone. I can then install a new copy of this application.

This experience make me think, the "Settings" in our backup not really just some phone settings but certain application folder also included in the backup?

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Dec 22 2009, 01:53 AM
G K Lai
post Dec 22 2009, 10:36 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(~funeralofheart~ @ Dec 22 2009, 02:28 AM)
wow...good writing here... biggrin.gif
blush.gif

QUOTE(Ezra86 @ Dec 22 2009, 02:41 AM)
the worst part is there is not one single 100% working formula to ensure this phone boots up everytime. its like any single problem could be a cause.. haiz...
So far mine is ok...

In case your phone stuck again (touch wood),
no harm you try hard-reset, format mass memory then do not restore your old Settings and see whether it helps? smile.gif

G K Lai
post Dec 23 2009, 02:32 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(lucky8 @ Dec 22 2009, 11:20 PM)
i am now scared to installed many application la, just installed those needed. and need to backup day to day better if have time.

Lol~! Me too, not dare to install anything more than i really need it~! laugh.gif

btw, is there any backup program that we can back up to the mass memory? so we are no nid to worry on backup to pc.
Use the built-in backup from File Manager, it will backup to your mass memory.
I use it more now, so that if I really need to hard-reset the phone while out of home,
I can still have a copy to restore. shakehead.gif

But no matter you use the phone's backup program or PC Suite/Ovi Suite,
after the backup, you have to go to Messaging to change your storage back
to E: drive (unless you choose to use Phone memory to store all your msg).

Added on

Does anyone been able to run CIMB mobile banking application in N97?
I tried but no luck, it cannot enter text, so can't login.
Wish this is not *only my phone* problem~! blush.gif

G K Lai
post Dec 24 2009, 01:17 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Dec 24 2009, 12:31 AM)
Is the built in backup from the file manager will backup to the mass memory?
Because on my N97, if I tried using backup from the file manager, it will show memory card not available. Seems that the application tried to backup onto the memory card which is not inserted rather than the mass memory itself hmm.gif
Care to help me? Please icon_rolleyes.gif notworthy.gif
Opps! I'm sorry because I have a MicroSD card inserted,
and the backup was indeed saved in this memory card and
I do not know it will not save the backup to mass memory (E:)...
Why Nokia decided to do this strange behavior again?

Added on December 24, 2009, 1:26 am
QUOTE(PyOsE @ Dec 23 2009, 08:42 PM)
try this one smile.gif dont forget to sign for unhack phone smile.gif
http://www.mediafire.com/?fmzw0tmtgr1
Many thanks for sharing this...

Unfortunately, I lost the hack capability after the hard reset...
Although signed the SIS file, but when install, an error message
[Requested application access not granted] appeared and
the installation was canceled~! mad.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Dec 24 2009, 01:26 AM
G K Lai
post Dec 24 2009, 01:31 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Dec 24 2009, 02:40 AM)
this application can only be installed on a hacked phone...except u have a full certificate...the normal 1's dont work
cry.gif

am using opda cert. and wonder which cert will be granted? hmm.gif

cry.gif

G K Lai
post Dec 28 2009, 06:47 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(MOMOchacha @ Dec 26 2009, 10:01 AM)
yes,i am keeping try unpacking the file.
the longest i wait 30min also not yet finish unpack.
i am using the latest 2.03 HelloOx2
HelloOX cannot installed on v20 N97.
The phone once updated to v20, it cannot be hacked this way at this moment (yet).
Read more info here (scroll down to 27th Oct 2009, N97 section): http://helloox2.com/?page=news

G K Lai
post Dec 29 2009, 08:12 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Dec 29 2009, 09:41 AM)
Wuhu....
My phone hang at Nokia White Screen again.
Ok this time is because I don't know why if i don't lock my phone, the light won't go off. So I decided to restart my phone.... but bfore that... I also know it will hang. So I backup first. Now is time to hard reset and restore back.... sien..
This is really frustrating~!
Why don't you try not to restore the "Settings"?
I don't have this issue since I discarded my "Settings" and redo all settings manually.
I also find it behaving differently that I never seen after my previous hard-reset.

G K Lai
post Dec 30 2009, 08:23 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(HenryLow @ Dec 30 2009, 04:57 PM)
sifu sifu sekalian,

i just owned a n97.
i have a problem here.
i have a microSD which stored all my SMS, personal folder, photos and videos...
i would like to move them to E: Mass Memory, may i know how???
I don't know which is the best way, but I would do the following which you can consider:

For SMS messages, go to Menu -> Messaging -> Options (bottom-left) -> Settings -> Other -> Memory in use and choose the E: Mass memory drive.

For personal folders, photos and videos, I would connect the phone to computer and move the files and folders using the computer.

One possible problem, maybe... moving your photos might cause the phone to display duplicate or broken thumbnails... but I'm not so sure... sad.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Dec 30 2009, 08:24 PM
G K Lai
post Dec 31 2009, 02:07 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(HenryLow @ Dec 31 2009, 08:49 AM)
thanks for reply...
but the SMS messages you said is change the store location...
coz i wan to format my card, i need to move all to other location b4 i do so...

those folder in my SMS the problem now... sad.gif
If your main concern is the Messaging folders and pictures inside the MMS etc...
I think PyOsE's suggestion is the best way to backup all those.

If you don't like to use PC Suite/Ovi Suite, another way is to use File Manager's Backup
function to backup all your SMS/MMS to your MicroSD. The backup files will be save
in a hidden folder called Backup on your MicroSD.

If you want to format the MicroSD as well, then temporary copy that folder to your
computer. Copy it back to the card after you've done formatting.

G K Lai
post Jan 9 2010, 03:22 AM

839 posts

I use the phone to post comments on Facebook, either using the phone's default browser or the Facebook application,
the little phone icon does not appear next to my comments... tried post comments using GPRS or WLAN connection, all the same.

The little phone icon was there, it was working well, several days after my last hard-reset of the phone.
I remember I didn't do any major customization to the phone, no application was installed as well.

I have no idea this is the problem of my phone or Facebook itself?

Anyone noticed the same problem? hmm.gif

G K Lai
post Jan 9 2010, 02:53 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Jan 9 2010, 10:45 AM)
well i tried using the default browser to post my comment..and the little phone icon does appear smile.gif
but in mobile mode, only can see via mobile web without the little phone icon.
Apparently, my phone sucking big ass already....! cry.gif

G K Lai
post Jan 10 2010, 04:42 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Jan 9 2010, 02:54 PM)
lol..why the little phone icon so important to you anyway?
Actually not that little icon so important, but this tells that my phone should have something wrong... tongue.gif

Anyway, I will try clear the cache and history then try again tomorrow... icon_rolleyes.gif

G K Lai
post Jan 21 2010, 09:43 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Jan 21 2010, 07:08 PM)
New firmware coming for N97 together with new OVI Maps free navigation! dunno when release yet though
Ovi Map with free navigation? You mean voice guidance?

Sorry for a little off topic:
Actually I want to ask this earlier (but always forgot)...
Why we got voice guidance navigation with no extra fee when we buy a GPS navigation device like Garmin Nuvi etc...
But our phone isn't cheap, and we have to pay Nokia extra subscription fee to use this feature?

G K Lai
post Jan 22 2010, 02:08 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(pwf @ Jan 22 2010, 10:48 AM)
"The new version of Ovi Maps (3.3) is available to download from nokia.com/maps.

The initial list of compatible Nokia devices includes: the Nokia N97 mini, Nokia 5800 XpressMusic, Nokia 5800 Navigation Edition, Nokia E52, Nokia E55, Nokia E72, Nokia 5230, Nokia 6710 Navigator, Nokia 6730 classic and Nokia X6.

Further devices will follow over the next few weeks and months, following testing and customisation. (In particular, the Nokia N97 isn't supported because the Maps 3.3 installer needs (in the order of) 20MB free disk space on C: and this would present problems for many users - a workaround is apparently coming in a week or so, possibly in the form of building Maps 3.3 into the firmware itself, eliminating the need for a separate download)

From March 2010, new GPS-enabled Nokia devices will include the new version of Ovi Maps and will be pre-loaded with local country maps. Additional maps can, of course, be side-loaded via Nokia Map Updater/Loader on both Windows and Mac desktops."

Can wait for new firmware update with Ovi Maps 3.3....
N97 Mini have largeer C: drive than N97?
I just wonder why N97 Mini can, but N97 cannot....
Maybe the "Memory Reorganiser 1.0" in the phone's SW Update is design to solve this problem?

I find it so funny, this is like a joke. Nokia R&D design this phone, so that even themselves would find
the C: drive space is not enough...! shakehead.gif

G K Lai
post Jan 23 2010, 11:58 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Jan 23 2010, 09:19 PM)
it's because:
but:
Hi PyOsE,

We cannot download the actual map file and manually install onto our phone right?
Then how to download this Ovi Map for N97 Mini and install to our N97?

I have Nokia Map Loader, my C: drive still have 53.1MB.
When I hook up my phone, choose the Malaysia map and required language for voice guidance,
it start to download.

But, how can I know if this is the latest v3.3 with free navigation support?

When you say Ovi Map, does it means "map data" in Nokia Map Loader?

I'm quite confuse with all these... blush.gif
G K Lai
post Jan 24 2010, 03:38 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Jan 24 2010, 12:07 AM)
try the offline version, just install it

Download Nokia Maps Offline Version
- http://www.1filesharing.com/download/0ICEI...0Navigation.sis

Download Compulsory Folder
- http://www.1filesharing.com/download/16TPDU1O/Cities_1.rar

This package contains the original version of Nokia OVI Maps - Free Navigation Edition (pre-signed SIS format to install).

After installation complete, plug the device in Mass Storage mode:
1. Copy supplied CITIES folder into memory card root (eg. E:\CITIES)
2. Install Nokia Map Loader.
3. Run Nokia Map Loader to install latest maps and voices from Nokia servers directly.

P/S: i'll upload the Malaysia offline map (23MB) soon, wait eh  brows.gif
The time and effort to upload, then quote the download links here...
Plus, the installation instructions...
My tribute to you Xploit Machine... very much appreciated, thank you~! notworthy.gif

So, these are actually the "application" of the Nokia Map with free navigation,
and what we've downloaded through Nokia Map Loader are just the "data" of the application.
Am I correct with this? blush.gif

I finished downloaded all the files, I will install it now and post the result here later.

Many thanks for your helpful efforts...! nod.gif

P/S: I can download the Malaysia map and voices through Nokia Map Loader,
you can save your time and no need to upload that large file.
But anyway, maybe your upload could benefit other user as well?
Thanks~!

Added on January 24, 2010, 4:58 amDownloaded.... installed.... tested....
I would say it is interesting.... but one error I found up to now...

Share location function work as expected,
it post my location to Facebook without any problem,
but the problem is, while the description is correct,
when clicked on the link it posted on Facebook,
Ovi Map shows I am in the middle of the sea at Gulf of Guinea, Africa...!!!! LOL.....! laugh.gif

You can try the link: http://bit.ly/4qqwF7

I think this is the problem of Ovi Map itself...?
It actually correctly show my location on the map in my phone.

I can't stop laughing on this~!!!!!!! laugh.gif

Added on January 24, 2010, 5:39 amThe actual Ovi Maps 3.03 for N97 will be available on 28th-Jan-2010.
Nokia employee said this: http://discussions.europe.nokia.com/discus...thread.id=16086

He said this is for for those without Operator varient firmware, but I'm not sure if our Avaxx and Zitron set consider "operator variant"?

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Jan 24 2010, 05:39 AM
G K Lai
post Jan 27 2010, 02:15 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(gunslinger @ Jan 26 2010, 10:08 PM)
the 5800 link tat y-browser it say not compatible with my device...!!!
Recommend this to you, ActiveFile, also a freeware file manager...
In fact, it is more than a file manager

Author's homepage: http://alietan.com/

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Wish you will like it. smile.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:05 PM