trinity exam in 2 more weeks, any tips?
LYN CLASSICAL GUITAR CLUB, A place for classical guitarist to chat
Nov 22 2010, 02:50 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
noob classical guitar player here.
trinity exam in 2 more weeks, any tips? |
Nov 23 2010, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(la bella @ Nov 22 2010, 03:12 PM) thanks QUOTE(smcg @ Nov 22 2010, 11:52 PM) what grade?? practice, practice n practice.... grade 2 only. my technical suite not that strong yet. that thing very cheap only.. less than rm40 can get if not mistaken. |
Nov 28 2010, 01:34 AM
hi sifus....can recommend any link where can i practice aural on the net..grade 2 trinity college..
Nov 30 2010, 09:55 AM
it's all about branding lo. you think the manufacturing cost of LV is really few thousand?
Nov 30 2010, 10:14 PM
anybody taken trinity college exams held in one world hotel before? how's the environment like? is it cold? :help"
Dec 1 2010, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(smcg @ Dec 1 2010, 01:35 AM) i'm not sure woh fatt still carry cuenca or not. another guy who's carry this brand is in puchong. if not mistaken, he's also carry rodriguez last time, but too bad, i don't have his contact. ok thanks for the tip. two more dayssssssssss u can go there earlier, there's a waiting room for you to warm up n practice there. it wasn't cold. by the way, not recommended admira, esteve not bad. u can get the model 1.4st, solid top, mahogany back n side, also thousand ++++ if willing to invest, can get the esteve model 8, full solid indian rosewood. |
Dec 2 2010, 08:04 PM
few more hours! and i can't play my songs perfectly without a single mistake at all. die la.
Dec 2 2010, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(yeehoo @ Dec 2 2010, 08:44 PM) http://www.davidleisner.com/guitarcomposer/noname.html thanks for the article! really inspiring! hopefully i won't freak out tomorrow. great articles about performing anxiety. In the exam, you CAN make mistake but never break down, just keep going. I got student feel terrible after exam but end up getting a merit. exam is not about making perfect playing, is more about making your music interesting. To make you feel better, even Ms. Yang Xuefei make mistake in her performance, but nobody care, because she make great music. Unlike school exams where students "kinda" punished for bad grades (move you to lower classes etc.), nobody said you can not play guitar anymore if you did badly in exam, there is always next year. And Bad grade in music exam, doesn't mean you are bad player, maybe you are just nervous on that that particular day, or you broke your nail, or you having cold etc. For tomorrow, the result of your exam is irrelevant, your experience of sitting for an exam is much much more important than that. think, feel and remember each moment, that will help you in the future. a bit regret not having longer finger nails now =/ sometimes getting stuck when plucking fast. |
Dec 3 2010, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(yeehoo @ Dec 3 2010, 08:56 AM) if you get stuck when plucking, then there is a problem with the SHAPE of your nails not your length. Consult your teacher. QUOTE(la bella @ Dec 3 2010, 09:52 AM) Agreed. Last time I sit for a guitar exam, I didnt feel satisfied with the result ok thanks for tips guys~ going to exam now~ Added on December 3, 2010, 10:05 amzstan, We feel nervous because we're too concern how people look at us when we perform. Your focus is on your playing, not the examiner. |
Dec 3 2010, 05:03 PM
ayam back. i screwed up my 3rd song. T.T got two parts played wrongly but somehow managed to finish the song.
i think i did well for aural. can see my examiner keep smiling. lolz. distinction would be a blessing, merit is all i aim for now. |
Dec 3 2010, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(la bella @ Dec 3 2010, 05:16 PM) Last few days you were worried about your aural, today you did well, congraz! because i keep getting wrong when listening to the first note n last note ma. the part where they ask u whether is it same/higher/lower key. but when i answered can see her smiling. No worries, it's normal to have some mistakes in a song, as long as your did well in other parts of the exam, it should be alright. Confirm can pass. i am not worried about passing. just hoping can get distinction. |
Dec 4 2010, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(liez @ Dec 3 2010, 11:53 PM) I think this is more towards song bah....do you know any books that focus kaw kaw exceptionally in techniques and skills? like those etudes and studies in violin...but guitar version ones.... got...can choose la..scale..technical suite..sight reading..improvisation.. i did technical suite and sight reading la hehebtw.....classical guitar exam got scale and sight reading anot??? anyone can share the syllabus? |
Dec 4 2010, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(nostring @ Dec 4 2010, 11:38 AM) does anyone know about the trinity guitar exam, for my grade 2 exam i can have the option to choose. and i did not do scale/arpeggio. opted for technical suite instead whether the techical suite need to memorise or not? technical suite is the optional of scale arpeggio, as we know scale arpeggio must be memorised. QUOTE(OctoberFly @ Dec 4 2010, 08:16 PM) i also started quite late ma..18 yr old..now 20 only first time take professional exam |
Dec 5 2010, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(OctoberFly @ Dec 5 2010, 11:59 AM) hahaha thank you! nola. i very noob only. Oh.. can you play like. alot of songs now? Or there are still some parts that you can't really play yet? the only thing I'm scared of is that I can't reach notes or change chords fast enough. I tried that day and my friend was like "omg you're like friggin slow". anyway congrats on your first exam!! |
Dec 7 2010, 03:40 PM
Dec 18 2010, 02:41 PM
wohooooo my guitar exam get merit!! ngam ngam on the line!
| Change to: | 0.0457sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:17 PM |