Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V33!, The Orange Legion

Tainted
post Oct 29 2009, 01:17 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Just got a sony a200 last few weeks. New user here. Pls enlighten me on taking photos.

Im having difficulty taking night shots, could someone enlighten me here. What aperture and shutter speed?
Tainted
post Oct 31 2009, 07:46 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Nice shots. Love the 1st, 2nd and 4th shot.
Tainted
post Oct 31 2009, 10:03 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Oct 31 2009, 10:54 PM)

Thanks..look like u love architectural shooting  smile.gif

Yeap! But am still a VERY VERY VERY FRESH beginner. Gonna start learning slowly.
Tainted
post Nov 1 2009, 02:23 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Nov 1 2009, 02:38 AM)
im a student who lives away from home. thats whats hard.
Eat less or DONT EAT!
Tainted
post Nov 3 2009, 02:12 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

I'm a super beginnner, can I come for the TT too? Haha!
Tainted
post Nov 3 2009, 02:31 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Great! Will come with Mikeshashimi, who's using an a100. Thats if he's free. But I'll most probably make it, good time to learn from the sifus.
Tainted
post Nov 3 2009, 02:18 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Nov 3 2009, 02:26 PM)
Nvm la I'll jalan jalan at the curve. (: Hope everybody will be there early la. =p
No worries, i think there are some who will be going early too.
Tainted
post Nov 4 2009, 12:21 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Nov 4 2009, 01:17 AM)
back from TT... fuh.. intimidated ... sad.gif
Hahaha! everyone with chun lenses.. Only us with kit lens. sad.gif
Tainted
post Nov 4 2009, 12:42 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Nov 4 2009, 01:24 AM)
ahahahha.. so got poisoned yet?.. i have just realized.. its the user problem on the kitties where i cannot get ultra sharp shots...

but of course, the tammy is good..

then again if u got loads of $$$ to dump around then CZ all the way mann..
Damn poisoned. lol
I like the 1.4 and the beercan. Hahah!

But sadly, out of resources right now.
Tainted
post Nov 4 2009, 12:47 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Nov 4 2009, 01:39 AM)
that side talking about IT already...we still poisoning ourself.... tongue.gif
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Nov 4 2009, 01:40 AM)
hahhaa... and then change to business proposals and stuff..  laugh.gif
Yeah. haha! Potential Big Corporate Tauke la Lawrence. haha!

Eh, post photos of the poison and not the people la. Whats is there to see? Of course la post the lenses and flash and all.. lol
Tainted
post Nov 4 2009, 01:09 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Nov 4 2009, 01:58 AM)
lol.. first photo up also photo of me... aiyo.. haha.
Ei!! Superstar la weih!
Tainted
post Nov 4 2009, 01:56 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

My turn! tongue.gif
Tainted
post Nov 4 2009, 02:00 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Really interested in the F1.4 50mm that i played with just now.
Was wondering, how big is the diff between a f1.4 50mm and a f1.8 50mm?
Tainted
post Nov 4 2009, 02:16 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Nov 4 2009, 03:03 AM)
the 'couple' shot was taken using 50mm 1.7... how much better/worse? that one is quite subjective... but price wise will be nearly doubled.. so i opted for the cheaper/slower glass, which serves me very well... cool2.gif
Yeah I really like the 1.4 i played with just now. But quite steep la the price..
If 1.8 will do, then at least i can save and get a 75300 or something like that.

QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 4 2009, 03:11 AM)
if only so....

if i get ur gf a 2k ring, she gonna get me a body same like urs?  rclxms.gif  heheheehehehe joking
Tainted: grab 50mm F1.8 (if u not planning for FF) for its 50mm, and F1.8 is enough, save the extra money to grab other lens... if u are bokeh freak, u can aim 70200F2.8
Yeap!!

How much roughly are the 1.8 50mm,1.7 and 1.4 going for right now?

This post has been edited by Tainted: Nov 4 2009, 02:26 AM
Tainted
post Nov 5 2009, 12:46 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

PM me link as well? Thanks!
Tainted
post Nov 6 2009, 03:11 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Guys, how's Tamron AF 55-200mm F4-5.6 Di II?
Is it worth it? I read some reviews, some said it takes pretty sharp images and its not bad for portrait and macro. How about landscape and architectures?

I'm on a tight budget right now, looking for a lens which is pretty much versatile. Tho i really like the 70300 and 50mm F1.4, but guess I'd go for a cheaper one first since I'm still new.

Pls enlighten me, i'm not good with lens and all.
Tainted
post Nov 6 2009, 03:43 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(laszlo @ Nov 6 2009, 04:27 AM)
I think you should go for Sony's 55200 better  smile.gif
Why is it so?
Tainted
post Nov 6 2009, 04:15 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

I see. So either one would be fine anyways.

Btw, my budget only allows me to get one. So let say, 55-200 vs F1.8 50mm, which would be a better option? [Considering the fact that I've read from reviews that a 55-200 is much better compared to tamron 70300, so i guess my option would only be 55200 and F1.8 50mm]

This post has been edited by Tainted: Nov 6 2009, 04:17 AM
Tainted
post Nov 6 2009, 02:56 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 6 2009, 10:20 AM)
depends i would say, let me give some enlightment.
do u prefer to shoot at night or daytime if it's portraiture? the answer is obvious:

if u prefer at night, the wide open F1.8 is what u need. stage show, event, low light, distance, natural light will benefit from the F1.8

but if u choose seldom to shoot at night, or u would use WLflash for night portraiture, and daylight... 55200 has better Bokeh at 200mm then F1.8 and nicer easier to control DOF. especially when u shoot at daylight, 55200 give decent speed shutter speed (then F1.8, where a lot of time will reach the limit 1/4000 and overexpose)
if money allows, grab boths.................... and a F58, and 1750F2.8, and CZ1680, and SP90, and 1118, and 70200G, and A550. then thats about it.

Added on November 6, 2009, 9:22 ami find the video very erm,... funny, i dont like the way the guy talk, like we are in kindergarden...LOL, and 40% of the video are like trying to sell u things. LOL... anyway, it answer a lot of question people always ask, raw or jpeg, bounce or direct, F2.8 vs F5.6, AWB vs WB etc etc etc biggrin.gif fast fast go watch...

*edit typo... later i attack the flash again...  icon_rolleyes.gif
I do shoot at night too but less. Anyhow, is the 55200 suitable for landscape and architecture? Or the F1.8 50mm would be a better choice for landscape and architecture?

QUOTE(albnok @ Nov 6 2009, 11:11 AM)

Tainted: The Sony 55-200mm F4-5.6 DT is the same just with a 55mm filter thread, same as your kit lens.

And yes, it would be optically better than the Tamron 70-300mm F4-5.6.
When you are saying that its the same, so are you saying that its pointless to go for it as well? Since its the same as my kit lens?
Tainted
post Nov 6 2009, 05:18 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Nov 6 2009, 04:21 PM)
Tainted: I mean, the 18-70mm has a 55mm filter thread. So you could buy the same size filter for the 55-200mm. The 55-200mm is a fair bit better.

Okay. So, since that my budget only allows me to get either a 50mm 1.8 or 55200, which would be a better deal or we can put it like this, would should come first?

0.0455sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:33 AM