Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V33!, The Orange Legion
Sp00kY
Oct 28 2009, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(vileclaw @ Oct 28 2009, 10:46 AM) some of my iso testing NO PP just resize.. (quick snap, not much time to play with it yet) ISO 1600 MF CHECK LV » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « like.no.others impresses me this time
Sp00kY
Oct 29 2009, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Oct 29 2009, 11:17 AM) jika u upgrade items.. lens, flash etc etc.. the leather case willl collect dust.. cause if your like me, i tend to chuck everything in one bigbag (im carrying L size bagman) then carry the whole load out.. I previously wanted to get the leather case.. looks so nice.. but come to think of it.. when i go out, i need my flash.. cannot fit lar.. samore im carrying another additional zoom lens.. if ur going on 1 lens all the way no flash.. then should be ok lar.. if u like to lug ur gear around, then no point.. Added on October 29, 2009, 11:25 ammore powwaaaa.. u take the f42 and the f58 from the sony website and do side by side comparison lar.. but really i got no regrets by going staight to f58..  its a nice toy to have F58 is good when shooting in portrait (camera vertical) mode too. because the flash head will be closer to be camera...without that feature the flash head is actually slightly left/right when shooting in portrait mode causing the flash to be seen coming from left/right side. if u get what i mean
Sp00kY
Oct 29 2009, 03:57 PM
what model ???looks funky
Sp00kY
Nov 2 2009, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Nov 2 2009, 11:52 AM) hey guys.. i need some help here =].. I see you guys do wonders on recovering an over exposed picture.. I have trouble recovering this pictre.. i just download raw therapee and is messing around with this picture for at least 1 hour and i still cannot get the "feel", and i cant seem to get it right.. im reading up on google how to's and i still cannot get it right.. i need some sifu to point me to the right direction below is the jpeg.. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i only took one picture of the house.. i should have taken more ... but.. i was thinking.. dont waste space.. >.< cause im shooting raw lol.. so.. tolong skit? here is the raw wow that's pretty bad uh. i took a look at the histrogram and there arent much details left except "WHITE"..... i tried saving it but it looked pretty awkward ahha...wait for master chew  underexposed can be saved but overexposed is  from my exp la
Sp00kY
Nov 2 2009, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 2 2009, 12:39 PM) well, u can always switch the view during display/review on the camera to see the histogram and blowout and pitch black in the photo (they will blink) i forgot what do we call that. but it will tell u if that area is coded as '0 0 0' or '255 255 255' which either pure white or pure black which is, not recoverable. highlight warning?
Sp00kY
Nov 2 2009, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 2 2009, 02:03 PM) yesssss... hahaha such simple english word i also forgot,... oh dear,.. old already me...  lol, remember this? if u do then probably u are as old as me and yeah i am feeling old hahaha.. younger kids probably wouldnt have seen this before.
Sp00kY
Nov 2 2009, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(countdracula @ Nov 2 2009, 02:26 PM) lol no la....i found it at home few days back (someone brought it ehhe) mcline_007: i believe its normal, my previous 1750 also like that and i prefer it to be tight rathter than lose..
Sp00kY
Nov 2 2009, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(mcline_007 @ Nov 2 2009, 03:51 PM) Added on November 2, 2009, 4:03 pmhey guys how fast our lens get fungus? & how to prevent it to get fungus. i now we hav to get dry box if no dry box how then>? use it everyday
Sp00kY
Nov 3 2009, 03:31 PM
albnok: that's a long name!
Sp00kY
Nov 3 2009, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 3 2009, 10:23 PM) 1. A300 and brothers, doesnt has a AF illuminator, they use the pop up as AF assist. 2. attach ur flash, to use the build in AF illuminator. your tamron Will Not Hunt Anymore. 3. F2.8 advantage is not before shutter release, the advantage is During shuttle release. meaning, with 16105, F5.6, shooting the same subject with natural light, gives u 1/5ss, while the F2.8 give u a decent 1/25ss which prompt to less motionblur. F2.8 is like bumping iso to 1600 on F5.6 with less noise. 4. tammy 1750, well, Practically, its for indoor use. not outdoor with wide ground. even i rate 55200 is better then 16-105 for outdoor street shooting. (my opinion, but many prefer 16105) the advantage of having a brighter aperture does help before shutter release la..it helps in AF... f/2.8 focuses faster than f/3.5 ....because it allows more light if im not mistaken, ur lens will open at its max aperture (brightest, f/2.8 for 1750 and /f/3.5 for 16105) before the shutter... correct me if im wrong.... This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Nov 3 2009, 10:44 PM
Sp00kY
Nov 3 2009, 11:59 PM
this is what i understand : "A faster lens (wider max aperture) allows more light into the camera and gives the AF system more light to work with, so a faster lens will allow better AF performance when light levels get low enough to start effecting the AF speed" quoted from someone:)
Added on November 3, 2009, 11:59 pman f2.8 lens allows twice the light as an f4, and an f4 allows twice that of an f5.6
This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Nov 3 2009, 11:59 PM
Sp00kY
Nov 4 2009, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Nov 4 2009, 12:05 AM) Yea..by using Flash AF illuminator..u wont have problem focusing. sp00ky..i believe kysham said tht before. for me, i felt that focusing speed and accuracy is very much dependent on the cameras auto focus sensors and auto focus motor. Aperture isnt that importan...even if it hunts, the fast motor will make me feel that it din hunt
Sp00kY
Nov 4 2009, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(albnok @ Nov 4 2009, 11:43 AM) ieR: F2.8 to F5.6 is TWO stops! That means 4x the light. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Okay let's say in the dark:
50mm F2.8 has a physical aperture of 50mm/2.8 = 17.8571mm. The surface area is (17.8571/2)^2*pi = 79.719mm2*3.14156 = 250.44mm2 50mm F3.5 has a physical aperture of 50mm/3.5 = 14.2857mm. The surface area is (14.2857/2)^2*pi = 51.02mm2*3.14156 = 160.28mm2 50mm F4.0 has a physical aperture of 50mm/4.0 = 12.5000mm. The surface area is (12.5000/2)^2*pi = 39.0625mm2*3.14156 = 122.72mm2
250mm2 / 160mm2 = 1.56
Thus the difference is 56% more between F2.8 and F3.5. The difference is around 104% between F2.8 and F4.0 but this is not precise. Why? F2.8 is not really F2.80000; it is SQRT(8) or F2.8284271.
All full aperture stops are square roots of multiples of 2:
F1.0 F1.4 F2.0 F2.8 F4.0 F5.6 F8.0 F11 F16
squared: F1.0 F2.0 F4.0 F8.0 F16 F32 F64 F128 F256
Which is also: 2^0 2^1 2^2 2^3 2^4 2^5 2^6 2^7 2^8
How about half stops or one-third stops? 2^0 2^0.3333 2^0.6666 2^1
2^0 2^0.5 2^1 2^1.5 2^2
Alternatively, let's see what true aperture numbers are: SQRT(1) SQRT(2) SQRT(4) SQRT(8) SQRT(16) SQRT(32)
square roots: F1.0 F1.4142 F2.0 F2.8284 F4.0 F5.6569
Braynumb: Do you want full frame or not? Are you prepared with FF lenses?  Nice and thanks...someone should put this up into the first page
Sp00kY
Nov 4 2009, 03:07 PM
minolta colors!
Sp00kY
Nov 4 2009, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Nov 4 2009, 03:15 PM) u need raw plugin for photoshop, or u can use the sony converter 1 (from the Alpha CD) like i said before, the RAW file IS the original picture that camera take without compression, without data loss, without any image processing done.. more headroom when procssing raw compare to jpeg.. RAW- we can tweak there, tweak here (like we forgot to adjust WB will make the pic more bluish@yellowish) until we satisfied then save to jpeg for further manipulation.. u need to try it 1st for futher understanding..  agree, RAW only useful if u do a lot of tweaking, the curent technology is good enuf for me hence i dont really shoot raw unless i use super high ISO and tricky ligting...or super important events
Sp00kY
Nov 4 2009, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(achew @ Nov 4 2009, 03:17 PM) the yellow look abit over exposed on my lcd.. since u learn that take raw is a better choice...i believe u shd know raw allows u more room to do post processing...maybe ur question should change to "y i cant edit my raw in photoshop" instead  i felt that too.(too glaring hha).i realized that the exif: 1/4000 at f/1.7 and ISO 100  hhha...i was too in love with f/1.7 lsat time hhehe...nonetheless, the colors are very nice  (i find it la) This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Nov 4 2009, 03:25 PM
Sp00kY
Nov 4 2009, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(achew @ Nov 4 2009, 03:25 PM) i had that problem once too..keep shooting in F1.4 then realize shutter limit was at 1/4000..lol prime lens are so poisonous ......when ya getting a 85mm/135mm   ....
Sp00kY
Nov 5 2009, 09:13 PM
I want ZEISSSS