Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V33!, The Orange Legion

countdracula
post Nov 21 2009, 09:42 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Nov 21 2009, 08:41 AM)
Had a look at a550 in Centre Point, KKinabalu. Hold and tested it a bit. Quite nice. Much better handling ergonomics than a230, a330. One thing which I found to be slightly discomforting is the shutter button. Have to be careful when pressing the shutter button to auto focus as pressing it slightly can trigger the shot, rather than just wanting to auto focus. But I guess user will get use to this.

Which memory card (brand, size, speed etc) do you guys reccommend for the a550? There's 2 slots there.
Im seriously considering getting a a550, maybe the a550 and CZ1680 bundle.  sweat.gif
banzai_san, cannot resist de poison dy? hahaha...
holiday season is a good time for shopping tongue.gif

bernama7, wats "hama"?

This post has been edited by countdracula: Nov 21 2009, 09:44 AM
neo_lam
post Nov 21 2009, 10:05 AM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 21 2009, 04:18 AM)
it's now like the whole lens is full of fungus rite?
nope..just very slightly on the left part of the lens....

QUOTE(achew @ Nov 21 2009, 08:42 AM)
i think its really worth to buy a dry cabinet...afterall it saves some trouble for u...and since we spent a few thousands bucks on camera+lenses..whats wrong to keep them safely in a 200 300 bucks cabinet..
i think if the fungus is not too serious...after cleaning the IQ should not be too badly affected..but its pure guessing..better wait for pro..

i am not afford to buy a dry box....the device above can act like a super moisture absorber, wanna buy one....

This post has been edited by neo_lam: Nov 21 2009, 10:11 AM
v1rtual
post Nov 21 2009, 12:03 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Nov 21 2009, 03:30 AM)
damn....will affect quality then i am very sad now...
for now, with the fungus still on the lens, how is the picture taken with the lens??
because my brother's lens has a very very small spot of fungus, but it totally doesnt affect the picture
still as sharp as new

but if you worry too much
get it serviced asap, then sell it to somebody not from this forum tongue.gif

ieR
post Nov 21 2009, 12:29 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

i dunno what u guys think, there is once i try a test with my drybox. i left it open, daytime, nighttime, days with A/C and without A/C. and raining days.

i dont know what the the % that encourage the fungus to grow, but let me tell u the result of the test above.

this reading is the % of the with the door of drybox opened.
=================Day Time ========= Nighttime
Hot day windows open ------ 60++ -------------------- 60++
A/C window closed----------- 50++ -------------------- 50-65++
Raining ----------------------- 70-80 -------------------- 80-90%

* even with closed drybox door closed, the AC will still bring the humid in drybox up by 2-5%, sometimes i see my drybox at 47%, which to me is fine.

i am quite surprised that the air cond dont really create moisture, but the metal will have moist on it. but it's dry enough.

seeing raining days humid is so high, i doubt u can even escape it from putting in a bag. NOR the humid-fier or moisture absorber could actually drop that 80% to anything near the safe 45%

if fungus are active at over60%, then 3 days of raining day will spawn spore of fungus in ur lens already. and who knows, if u put in ur closet, or someplace dark, it is wet (over 60%) all over the whole days.

some people my not think thier lens are not that expensive or worthy to get a drybox yet, until 70200G comes along. but imagine this. WHAT IF, THE SENSOR Gets Fungus? hoo hoo, i think is time for new present for christmas? a550 anyone?

MemorableStudios
post Nov 21 2009, 12:45 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 21 2009, 12:29 PM)
i dunno what u guys think, there is once i try a test with my drybox. i left it open,  daytime, nighttime, days with A/C and without A/C. and raining days.

i dont know what the the % that encourage the fungus to grow, but let me tell u the result of the test above.

this reading is the % of the with the door of drybox opened.
=================Day Time ========= Nighttime
Hot day windows open ------ 60++ -------------------- 60++
A/C window closed----------- 50++ -------------------- 50-65++
Raining ----------------------- 70-80 -------------------- 80-90%

* even with closed drybox door closed, the AC will still bring the humid in drybox up by 2-5%, sometimes i see my drybox at 47%, which to me is fine.

i am quite surprised that the air cond dont really create moisture, but the metal will have moist on it. but it's dry enough.

seeing raining days humid is so high, i doubt u can even escape it from putting in a bag. NOR the humid-fier or moisture absorber could actually drop that 80% to anything near the safe 45%

if fungus are active at over60%, then 3 days of raining day will spawn spore of fungus in ur lens already. and who knows, if u put in ur closet, or someplace dark, it is wet (over 60%) all over the whole days.

some people my not think thier lens are not that expensive or worthy to get a drybox yet, until 70200G comes along. but imagine this. WHAT IF, THE SENSOR Gets Fungus? hoo hoo, i think is time for new present for christmas? a550 anyone?
ur dry box should set to 30%-50%...

Aircond will cause the air in your room to dry up & reducing moisture, usually will bring the humidity low to 50-60%, our Malaysia weather is 70% or more.... thats why if u are always in an AC room, ur lips will feel dry...
ieR
post Nov 21 2009, 12:54 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

i set to 42, its digital. i dont wan to set to under 40, because when i go to work, house AC not on, then below 40 might damage the rubber of the lenses.

Added on November 21, 2009, 12:57 pmmalaysia is not exactly 70%. because, look at the rubber/leather/cd/etcetc on our car that always dried up and spoil... its actually more dry then that, the 70 is if it's in the closet (dark and not exactly dry) and raining day will raise it to 80-90% (VERY wet) and u will feel the wetness of the air if it was really 70%

This post has been edited by ieR: Nov 21 2009, 12:57 PM
lwliam
post Nov 21 2009, 12:57 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

ieR, why ur signature, didnt put Alpha 300 (upgrading A900)? hahhahaha
Wonka
post Nov 21 2009, 01:14 PM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

ieR how much did u get the Vivitar 7mm? When reaching? I wanna see test shot. LOL~
ieR
post Nov 21 2009, 01:15 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

waiting for A1000... LOL, naaa, i just fix the A300 BF problem, now the camera felt like a new camera, new thing to explore... hahaha

and my vivitar fish eye reached, but it is, errr seem used, contacting the seller to clarify sad.gif it suppose to be NEW.
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Nov 21 2009, 01:17 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 21 2009, 01:15 PM)
waiting for A1000... LOL, naaa, i just fix the A300 BF problem, now the camera felt like a new camera, new thing to explore... hahaha
and my vivitar fish eye reached, but it is, errr seem used, contacting the seller to clarify sad.gif it suppose to be NEW.
wah how much did you get for it? fish eye lens is expensive right?
ieR
post Nov 21 2009, 01:21 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

i deposite 1k... haven pay the rest... tongue.gif i cant really do indoor shoot, cant feel the ump, when i go town or to night town scence biggrin.gif

i suppose it is around 1.5-1.6k, manual lens. 7or8mm. at least it's double SAL16mmfisheye or 50% wider then the 16 on FF
Wonka
post Nov 21 2009, 01:21 PM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

Yeah how much u get it for? Nampak best. I tested the Sigma 8mm. Damn nice la. Hahhahah~
Banzai_san
post Nov 21 2009, 01:51 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(countdracula @ Nov 21 2009, 09:42 AM)
banzai_san, cannot resist de poison dy? hahaha...
holiday season is a good time for shopping  tongue.gif

bernama7, wats "hama"?

difficult worr... left right front back top bottom all poison sad.gif
my poison defense shield kenot tahan sweat.gif

eh, anyone has any suggestion what memory card to get for the a550? brand, size, speed... anything else? Its gonna be my very own 1st DSLR... so, Im still not properly informed and educated on this memory card thing... coz I read before some people complaining of their memory card. Hence Im trying to make an informed decision on which one the best for me. Big size would be ideal but what about speed? what size to choose? speed and brand too . icon_question.gif

Appreciate if photo kaki here can share info.

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 21 2009, 01:53 PM
porkchop
post Nov 21 2009, 01:52 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

hmm my drybox is set at roughly 40% but its analog, now its reading 37% I am happy with it
MemorableStudios
post Nov 21 2009, 01:53 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Nov 21 2009, 01:51 PM)
difficult worr... left right front back top bottom all poison  sad.gif
my poison defense kenot than  sweat.gif

eh, anyone has any suggestion what memory card to get for the a550? brand, size, speed... anything else? Its gonna be my very own 1st DSLR... so, Im still not properly informed and educated on this memory card thing... coz I read before some people complaining of their memory card. Hence Im trying to make an educated decision on which one the best for me. Big size would be ideal but what about speed? what size to choose? speed and brand too .

Appreciate if photo kaki here can share info.
Get Sandisk Extreme III 16GB from Viewnet (LowYat).. think its the cheapest there...
TSamadeo
post Nov 21 2009, 01:57 PM

Mafia
3,503 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Nov 21 2009, 01:52 PM)
hmm my drybox is set at roughly 40% but its analog, now its reading 37% I am happy with it
the ideal humidity for camera/lens is 40%-50% ... ur's is still ok ..anything below 30% will damage ur gear...
porkchop
post Nov 21 2009, 02:01 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

amadeo, don't knowla my drybox ciplak "wonderful" brand..duno can trust the metering or not
Banzai_san
post Nov 21 2009, 02:15 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(MemorableStudios @ Nov 21 2009, 01:53 PM)
Get Sandisk Extreme III 16GB from Viewnet (LowYat).. think its the cheapest there...

thanks Memo bro for the suggestion.
I will have a look at the Sandisk Extreme III 16GB

any other suggestion? I'm all ears smile.gif
ieR
post Nov 21 2009, 02:24 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Nov 21 2009, 01:21 PM)
Yeah how much u get it for? Nampak best. I tested the Sigma 8mm. Damn nice la. Hahhahah~
not sure yet, coz its used, if they are not exchanging it, i might ask for discount tongue.gif

the sigma has AF rite? and well pass rm2k? mine should be under 1.6k, about the peleng price.
Wonka
post Nov 21 2009, 02:54 PM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 21 2009, 02:24 PM)
not sure yet, coz its used, if they are not exchanging it, i might ask for discount tongue.gif

the sigma has AF rite? and well pass rm2k? mine should be under 1.6k, about the peleng price.
Yup is AF. It's way passed MYR2k. But Vivitar and Peleng are both MF right?

125 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0291sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:50 PM