best cable on astro give the best quality picture, s-video cable or component cable?

TSmrag
post Oct 26 2009, 09:18 PM, updated 17y ago

74 posts

hello all..
i'm new here
since i'm read all the thread about connecting astro and lcd tv here..
i've few questions to ask...

i'm using Sony bravia d-series 32''...and using astro black decoder(new one)
currently using standard composite cable that included in the astro box..
for best picture quality..which cable should i use?

1..s-video cable..if i'm using this cable..how about the audio?s-video only connect video only rite?
2which is better component or s-video cable?

Dark NT
post Oct 26 2009, 10:26 PM

1,006 posts

1. If you use S-video, you will still need to connect the composite cable (yellow, red, white) from Astro to your TV. Just no need to plug the yellow one. Red and White cable will transmit the sound. While your S video will replace the yellow cable for a better quality video.

2. I am also interested to find out. Technically component is better.
Aspen
post Oct 26 2009, 10:43 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Oct 26 2009, 10:26 PM)
1. If you use S-video, you will still need to connect the composite cable (yellow, red, white) from Astro to your TV. Just no need to plug the yellow one. Red and White cable will transmit the sound. While your S video will replace the yellow cable for a better quality video.

2. I am also interested to find out. Technically component is better.
You mean the new astro decoder has component output?

I'm still using the old Phillips decoder. Now I'm connecting my astro to my plasma tv using a Monster Cable S-video cable. PQ is acceptable but its also depends on the program shown on astro. Of course the astro PQ cannot be compared with DVD.

Me too also keen to find out how much is the difference between s-video and component output from the new astro decoder.

TSmrag
post Oct 27 2009, 01:57 AM

74 posts

i've checked my astro decoder..
ya..there's no s-video output on it..
so i can only using component cable,i'll find it one in few days
and i'll share differences between componenet and old composite cable here..
thanks for info..
eZYbuSY
post Oct 27 2009, 11:46 AM

There's a forumer (DigitalTech) here sell Monster cables cheaper than retail.

Monster S-Video
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/742712

Monster Component
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=57&t=773796&st=0

Quite good seller with many good feedbacks.

Seems like using Monster cable can improve astro picture quality from his customer's testimonial.

Thinking of getting one from him.

This post has been edited by eZYbuSY: Oct 27 2009, 11:50 AM
ronaldjoe
post Oct 27 2009, 04:32 PM

3,569 posts

Astro is just crap. GIGO - Garbage in Garbage out.
S video does improve PQ. To me it's just crap when it's compared to HD content.
There is on-going discussion on this. Opening of a new thread is not warranted.
chezzball
post Oct 27 2009, 06:04 PM

Cheese
1,542 posts

got HDMI for astro decoder?
ar188
post Oct 27 2009, 06:04 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Oct 27 2009, 06:04 PM)
got HDMI for astro decoder?
hi troll.. biggrin.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 27 2009, 06:36 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 27 2009, 06:04 PM)
hi troll..  biggrin.gif
sshhh... dun let kianwee know ... tongue.gif
putih
post Oct 27 2009, 07:15 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(mrag @ Oct 27 2009, 01:57 AM)
i've checked my astro decoder..
ya..there's no s-video output on it..
so i can only using component cable,i'll find it one in few days
and i'll share differences between componenet and old composite cable here..
thanks for info..
component vs composite, sure component will win. But some programs in astro really bad PQ, so you may not see any difference.
chezzball
post Oct 27 2009, 08:59 PM

Cheese
1,542 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 27 2009, 06:04 PM)
hi troll..  biggrin.gif
sleep.gif"

so how ah.. tumpang thread a while.. hdmi for astro ada ?
DigitalTech
post Oct 27 2009, 10:14 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Oct 27 2009, 08:59 PM)
sleep.gif"

so how ah.. tumpang thread a while.. hdmi for astro ada ?
If Astro decoder comes with HDMI connector, then it's already HD.
Dark NT
post Oct 27 2009, 11:02 PM

1,006 posts

PQ is especially bad for channels like HBO, Nat Geo, AXN, MTV
But its quite ok for AEC, WLT, Hallmark.

Not sure why like that.. anyone?
Derekk
post Oct 28 2009, 02:09 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Oct 27 2009, 11:02 PM)
PQ is especially bad for channels like HBO, Nat Geo, AXN, MTV
But its quite ok for AEC, WLT, Hallmark.

Not sure why like that.. anyone?
Mine all good biggrin.gif
frostworld
post Oct 28 2009, 03:46 PM

DD♥BB
563 posts

component lo. my old decoder up to s video only.
TSmrag
post Oct 28 2009, 08:35 PM

74 posts

hi all..
i just bought phillips component cable and installed on my astro..
didnt have time to explore all the chanel..
but all my housemate says pq is more clear and brightness now..
i've watch football last night..there still have delay sometimes..
do u guys experience this?
klang-valley
post Oct 28 2009, 09:09 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(mrag @ Oct 28 2009, 08:35 PM)
hi all..
i just bought phillips component cable and installed on my astro..
didnt have time to explore all the chanel..
but all my housemate says pq is more clear and brightness now..
i've watch football last night..there still have delay sometimes..
do u guys experience this?
I don't notice any delay.
For me, I will separate the component cable away from noisy source such as AC cable.

MrM
post Nov 1 2009, 06:10 AM

50 posts

Nokia and Philip's decoder for video connection is svideo, but the newest is Thomson's with component (Green,Blue,Red)Tried is works . Also come with Optical,Coaxial digital audio connection(Have not try the connect yet. )
anfieldude
post Nov 1 2009, 10:21 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(MrM @ Nov 1 2009, 06:10 AM)
Nokia and Philip's decoder for video connection is svideo, but the newest is Thomson's with component (Green,Blue,Red)Tried is works . Also come with Optical,Coaxial digital audio connection(Have not try the connect yet. )
Does it have a RF out to send the signal to another TV?
Dark NT
post Nov 1 2009, 10:41 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(MrM @ Nov 1 2009, 06:10 AM)
Correct me if I am wrong.. optical and coaxial is no use for astro right?
since the audio broadcasted is only stereo and not 5.1

0.0210sec    1.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:24 PM