Buying Power Racks, Where to find them??

TSShadowOni
post Oct 26 2009, 10:00 AM, updated 17y ago

14 posts

I'm interesting in investing in power racks for my home gym.
Do u guys know where I can find them??
I live in KL and sometimes I visit my kampung in Penang.
kotmj
post Oct 26 2009, 10:56 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

Fitness Concept. Special order from catalogue. About RM2k.

Or if you know of a friend or relative with a metalworking shop, have it custom made.
shanecross
post Oct 26 2009, 02:52 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

2k for a rack is pretty good value, but then again, the quality might be an issue
jags
post Oct 29 2009, 05:47 PM

282 posts

If you are in Penang, there is a place called Olympic (opposite CRC & near Gleneagles hospital )
They have a power rack there (ready stock). If I am not mistaken, its around Rm1.5k-Rm2k
wilsonz91
post Nov 26 2009, 06:44 PM

QUOTE(ShadowOni @ Oct 26 2009, 10:00 AM)
I'm interesting in investing in  power racks for my home gym.
hello, have you manage to find a power rack? Looking for one here too. I would like to know if you do and how much you bought it. Thanks.
pizzaboy
post Nov 26 2009, 08:25 PM

9,495 posts

You'd probably have better luck getting a custom made version. It's like finding a needle in a haystack.
H2D
post Dec 11 2009, 07:39 AM

598 posts

try this one....
duno if they are still around..

http://www.dhgym.com.my/contact.htm
arekey
post Dec 11 2009, 08:30 AM

454 posts

How Much for Bodysolid brand? anyone know??
H2D
post Dec 11 2009, 09:26 AM

598 posts

where have u seen this bodysolid brand?
Panda12
post Dec 11 2009, 12:19 PM

1,107 posts

what about kL area? where can i buy them?
H2D
post Dec 11 2009, 02:05 PM

598 posts

manage to look at a post made last year,
body solid is available tru transmark locally,
but these ppl set-up gyms, u wana ask them bring in 1 power rack for u...
don't be surprise if they quote u more than 5K just for the rack...

http://www.bodysolid.com/Dealer_Locator.cfm?Country=Malaysia

http://www.transmark.com.my/sfl/index.php?...nts-item&id=821

the DHgym claims that they manufacture locally, but last time i call them,
already quote a few K... somemore not locally made.

if u can find mass produced gym stuff frm china, like those sold in carefour,
then it will be cheap...

other wise will have to look for a welder to do the job..

kotmj
post Dec 17 2009, 01:16 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

Attached File  power_rack.pdf ( 195.58k ) Number of downloads: 829

H2D
post Dec 17 2009, 01:20 AM

598 posts

which book is this?
pizzaboy
post Dec 17 2009, 11:46 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 17 2009, 01:20 AM)
which book is this?
http://www.hardgainer.com/beyondbrawn.html

GOogle is god.
H2D
post Dec 17 2009, 02:18 PM

598 posts

thanks. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 17 2009, 11:46 AM)
henryhills
post May 20 2011, 09:43 AM

QUOTE(ShadowOni @ Oct 26 2009, 10:00 AM)
I'm interesting in investing in  power racks for my home gym.
ok, i can help u, what is your budget for the power rack? a few range of the power rack
1. basic (2k-3k
2. medium range(3k-5k)
3.high range( 5k-8K)

let me know, u can contact me through my email Rip.claw@live.com or call to 0126109809
pha88
post May 25 2011, 12:34 PM

58 posts

went to a metal workshop..
custom made cost rm1500.00 coated with some black paint (dont remember what the guy told me)..
azrash
post Aug 30 2012, 08:59 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(pha88 @ May 25 2011, 12:34 PM)
custom made cost rm1500.00 coated with some black paint (dont remember what the guy told me)..
hi, can you share with some photos of your power rack? thanks!
myva
post Sep 1 2012, 05:06 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(pha88 @ May 25 2011, 12:34 PM)
if like this i feel that not so safe la ,

not worth save by not much........
zzGamerzz
post Sep 4 2012, 12:17 PM

22 posts

Pm me, i have extra unit readily for sell!!
Jason
post Sep 7 2012, 04:15 PM

6,356 posts

transmark bodysolid selling RM2.8k+ ridiculous. I've did a lot of hunting because i want to buy myself and found this

Price is <RM2300, still negotiating. I am NOT selling. I am buying and wondering if there's anybody interested and we can buy together.

Some specs:
123cm x 123cm x 210cm
Weight: 210 lbs
750 lbs weight rating

myva
post Sep 9 2012, 02:15 PM

18 posts

bodysolid is imported rfom australia USA or something , that y expensive
raziel1986_4
post Sep 9 2012, 03:14 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(myva @ Sep 9 2012, 02:15 PM)
bodysolid is imported rfom australia USA or something , that y expensive
body splid from china but usa brand.

y dont call f1 recreation. i deal a lot last time with them to set up a gym, they can advise u futher i think. just to make sure give them a budget.
Jason
post Sep 9 2012, 09:47 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(raziel1986_4 @ Sep 9 2012, 03:14 PM)
body splid from china but usa brand.

y dont call f1 recreation. i deal a lot last time with them to set up a gym, they can advise u futher i think. just to make sure give them a budget.
contact?

raziel1986_4
post Sep 9 2012, 10:03 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 9 2012, 09:47 PM)
contact?
http://f1-recreation.com/fitness.aspx?fid=2
zzGamerzz
post Sep 12 2012, 05:59 PM

22 posts

im selling something almost 99% like that for rm1500, condition brand new, reason of selling: have extra unit
pleowcw
post Dec 22 2012, 10:41 AM

75 posts

don't buy branded stuff, useless. order one built by metal shop yourself, cheaper and sturdy as hell

Attached File(s)
Attached File  starting_strength_rack.pdf ( 1.69mb ) Number of downloads: 442
volvoc304
post Dec 22 2012, 02:15 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(pleowcw @ Dec 22 2012, 10:41 AM)
don't buy branded stuff, useless. order one built by metal shop yourself, cheaper and sturdy as hell
I'm looking for one. Where and how much did it cost you to have one made locally? Thanks!
pleowcw
post Dec 23 2012, 12:16 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(volvoc304 @ Dec 22 2012, 02:15 PM)
I'm looking for one. Where and how much did it cost you to have one made locally? Thanks!
hi volvoc304,
i live in condo and work out in commercial gym.
i use an inclining bench press rack to rack bar for squat & overhead press, not ideal but with a gym buddy i get by.
i guess you can show the blue print around and shop for the lowest offer, just make sure it is built sturdy enough though.

also, if you do heavy squat, snatch, etc, u probably need a good platform built too.
you can go to http://startingstrength.com to look for it. the blueprint is hidden somewhere.

paulthebug
volvoc304
post Dec 23 2012, 11:48 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(pleowcw @ Dec 23 2012, 12:16 AM)
hi volvoc304,
i live in condo and work out in commercial gym.
i use an inclining bench press rack to rack bar for squat & overhead press, not ideal but with a gym buddy i get by.
i guess you can show the blue print around and shop for the lowest offer, just make sure it is built sturdy enough though.

also, if you do heavy squat, snatch, etc, u probably need a good platform built too.
you can go to http://startingstrength.com to look for it. the blueprint is hidden somewhere.

paulthebug
pleowcw,

I must have misread your first post and thought that you had a power rack made locally.
Thanks anyway. Merry Christmas!

Steve.
mikehuan
post Dec 24 2012, 01:21 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(volvoc304 @ Dec 23 2012, 11:48 PM)
pleowcw,

I must have misread your first post and thought that you had a power rack made locally.
Thanks anyway. Merry Christmas!

Steve.
i had it quoted for 1.5k from a local welder, with plans ive gotten from google.

took me like, 30 mins? didnt go through with it as i found a gym with cheap(er) monthly fee so i didnt need to make a home gym after all.
volvoc304
post Dec 24 2012, 01:35 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 24 2012, 01:21 AM)
i had it quoted for 1.5k from a local welder, with plans ive gotten from google.

took me like, 30 mins? didnt go through with it as i found a gym with cheap(er) monthly fee so i didnt need to make a home gym after all.
Thanks Mike. Good to know about the RM1.5K quote. Gives me a rough idea of the cost.
I've googled and seen many plans for power cages over the months... from wood to metal. Just haven't met anyone who's got one made yet!
Weider quoted me RM3K for this: Impulse IFPC Power Cage

The search continues biggrin.gif

mikehuan
post Dec 24 2012, 01:43 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(volvoc304 @ Dec 24 2012, 01:35 AM)
Thanks Mike. Good to know about the RM1.5K quote. Gives me a rough idea of the cost.
I've googled and seen many plans for power cages over the months... from wood to metal. Just haven't met anyone who's got one made yet!
Weider quoted me RM3K for this: Impulse IFPC Power Cage

The search continues  biggrin.gif
actually come to think about it it was less than that. why would you need to get reviews before doing it? just go to a welder/steel shop with the plans and ask for a quote. so long as its sturdy enough to not crash on you when you're inside it then its fine, right?

volvoc304
post Dec 24 2012, 01:49 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 24 2012, 01:43 AM)
actually come to think about it it was less than that. why would you need to get reviews before doing it? just go to a welder/steel shop with the plans and ask for a quote. so long as its sturdy enough to not crash on you when you're inside it then its fine, right?
Reviews? No I just googled for plans. Haven't gotten round to looking for a welder, so when pleowcw said something about having it made locally I just asked.
SUSdantck
post Dec 29 2012, 03:35 AM

1,004 posts

1 year ago billion kota permai inside got 1 shop.

the power rack basic m1.8k only....

but their dumbbell and barbell very epensive than the fitness concept
Mus80
post Jan 24 2013, 01:48 AM

So did anyone end up custom making a power rack locally? Do share the experience!!:)
kelwin2504
post Jan 24 2013, 11:31 PM

193 posts

Anyone intro custom made pull up/chin up tower? doesn't have to be stylish, have to be strong and sturdy...
Conscript78
post Jan 30 2013, 08:48 PM

48 posts

Where to get power rack ? Interested to get one. .have small gym at home but hard to go 110% as no spotter ..almost crushed my chest a few times ..
Conscript78
post Jan 30 2013, 08:50 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(zzGamerzz @ Sep 12 2012, 05:59 PM)
im selling something almost 99% like that for rm1500, condition brand new, reason of selling: have extra unit
Still got? ? more info please

volvoc304
post Jan 30 2013, 10:05 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(zzGamerzz @ Sep 12 2012, 05:59 PM)
QUOTE(Conscript78 @ Jan 30 2013, 08:50 PM)
Still got? ? more info please
I exchanged messages with zzGamerz. He was supposed to get back to me with pics of the actual power rack that he owns, but he hasn't replied me since December. The pic that he has put on his ad in Lowyat, and a pic which he sent me in a message were both different, and copied from the internet! That's why I asked him for a pic of the ACTUAL power rack. biggrin.gif

I guess he's busy, or something.

Maybe you'll have better luck!

This post has been edited by volvoc304: Jan 30 2013, 10:13 PM
Conscript78
post Jan 31 2013, 09:37 PM

48 posts

bummer.. thanks for the input bro volvoc304..
budakseven
post Feb 2 2013, 09:12 AM

Hi guys, just crossed this thread today.....
i really like to find a power/squat rack, not too expensive/cheap, but have value for money..
guys, care to share your custom-made rack pics with me?
Conscript78
post Feb 5 2013, 09:07 PM

48 posts

Still available? Info pls..
Conscript78
post Feb 5 2013, 11:58 PM

48 posts

sori , i was referring to bro Jason post:

Jason

post Sep 7 2012, 04:15 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post #21

Group: Senior Member

transmark bodysolid selling RM2.8k+ ridiculous. I've did a lot of hunting because i want to buy myself and found this

Price is <RM2300, still negotiating. I am NOT selling. I am buying and wondering if there's anybody interested and we can buy together.

Some specs:
123cm x 123cm x 210cm
Weight: 210 lbs
750 lbs weight rating

--------------------
[WTS] Original Oakley MPH Square Wire, Guaranteed Original

This post has been edited by Conscript78: Feb 6 2013, 12:01 AM
Carte97
post Apr 17 2013, 07:00 PM

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 26 2009, 10:56 AM)
Fitness Concept. Special order from catalogue. About RM2k.

Or if you know of a friend or relative with a metalworking shop, have it custom made.
Erm, hi, I am also looking for a power rack, which fitness concept did you go to? I went to the Sunway Pyramid one and they quote me 2.9k for body-solid one.
ToniV
post Mar 18 2014, 01:53 PM

2,374 posts

anyone selling second hand power racks with weights and bench?? pm me..
andres_hcs
post Mar 24 2014, 03:37 PM

The RED Devil Is Back In Town !!!
1,749 posts

this guy here (can post his shop link here?) is selling lots of gym equipments, still thinking which racks to get from him, cost from 1.8k onwards
jjteoh
post Apr 22 2014, 07:20 PM

QUOTE(andres_hcs @ Mar 24 2014, 03:37 PM)
this guy here (can post his shop link here?) is selling lots of gym equipments, still thinking which racks to get from him, cost from 1.8k onwards
Bro, can post or PM the shop link? I am interested in getting a power rack. Up till now this is the best value I can find (but only available from Singapore) is this at www.homegym.sg (look for the Force USA power rack).
Kmaru
post Apr 23 2014, 11:51 AM

1,005 posts

Hi all I'm selling of one my power rack from my Personal training studio for RM2200.

Reason : Wanna add more equipments

Power Rack

Please whatsapp any inquires to 012 6856170
Tny
post Jun 9 2014, 07:56 PM

SOLD

This post has been edited by Tny: Nov 18 2016, 11:14 PM
Tny
post Jun 10 2014, 02:00 PM

SOLD

This post has been edited by Tny: Nov 18 2016, 11:14 PM
Tny
post Jun 26 2014, 05:37 PM

SOLD

This post has been edited by Tny: Nov 18 2016, 11:02 PM
ToniV
post Oct 5 2014, 12:28 PM

2,374 posts

i am still looking for power rack,bench and weights.
anyone interested in selling second hand?
tontolou
post Oct 6 2014, 07:55 PM

40 posts

^like the guy above me, looking for a power cage and shipment to Sabah (which will cost a bomb I assume)
ToniV
post Oct 7 2014, 07:39 PM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(tontolou @ Oct 6 2014, 07:55 PM)
^like the guy above me, looking for a power cage and shipment to Sabah (which will cost a bomb I assume)
have u tried the welding shop? probably they are able to weld one rack for u. cause the shipment would cost more... smile.gif
todak
post Oct 30 2014, 10:52 AM

138 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dy5eyMDt3c

DIY Power Rack
ToniV
post Dec 17 2014, 12:18 PM

2,374 posts

So far i saw one guy selling on lelong. Quite pricy. But looks solid. Rm 2650.
Anyone got other info? Second Hand rack.

0.0465sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:14 PM