tax on foreign income?

gark
post Jan 23 2013, 03:02 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yohannes @ Jan 23 2013, 02:28 PM)
Hi guys,

I know this is kind of outdated but I have a question regarding the issue discussed above. Hopefully someone can provide some advise as the links above are dead.

The scenario as below :

1. I am currently engaged by a local Sdn. Bhd. and paying my taxes
2. Assuming that I am hired by a Pte. Ltd. company based in Singapore,
but I will be working in Malaysia expanding the local market for them.

I believe that if I am paid in Singapore, I will have to pay non-resident tax which amounts to 15% .

Another option I'm looking at is to request that monthly salary be TTed directly to my bank account in Malaysia. In this situation, would I need to pay tax since although the money is from a foreign source, I would actually be "working" in Malaysia.
You still need to pay SG non-resident tax... no running away from this one. laugh.gif Paid by SG company, employment contract by SG company, pay SG tax. It will auto deduct and a portion goes to CPF, you cannot run away unless the company is willing to break the law.

You can TT the money anywhere your heart desires, it is where the money originate from matters.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 23 2013, 03:07 PM
gark
post Apr 12 2013, 07:10 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(michealtan19 @ Apr 12 2013, 04:42 PM)
Yes! Need to declear
Quit spamming the forum with one line replies...
gark
post Mar 31 2016, 07:48 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(shingyong84 @ Mar 31 2016, 07:45 PM)
Sorry to bring this topic up again, but I have question.

I was now based in Malaysia and work from home (for my own sole-proprietorship company in Singapore) as all my business my delivered online via email.
I set-up a virtual office by only renting a legal office address for client to make send me payment.

Payment from client was directly into my Singapore bank account.
I went Inland Revenue to ask, but the officer said I do not have to pay for Singapore tax, as long as the work wasnt being "produce" in Singapore.
It doesnt matter why i was paid in Sing.

But then I heard foreign-earned income is exempted in Malaysia.
So how ah...? I dont have to pay tax? can someone guide me? hmm.gif  ohmy.gif

Got such big toad anyhow hopping on the street anot..?  devil.gif
You based in MY, you do work from MY.. doesnt matter if your money go to SG.

You are liable for MY tax NOT SG tax.

MY foreign income exempted only if you are NOT working in MY or foreign investment income.

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 31 2016, 07:49 PM
gark
post Apr 1 2016, 12:21 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(shingyong84 @ Mar 31 2016, 08:01 PM)
Thanks for the quick respond smile.gif

Sorry to ask a silly quest.. how to define "NOT WORKING" in MY eh..?

Yes, I was based in MY more than 185days a year.
NOT WORKING.. hmm.. yeah, most of the time not in working condition.
Not tagging with any agencies. No working record in Malaysia..

My role is basically a middle-man/ art buyer.
To buy Malaysian Art behalf of my company in SG and sell to overseas clients..

So it was actually some other artists WORK, send me soft copy, and i export via email.
Not working in Malaysia if you stay less than 182 days in Malaysia.

gark
post Aug 29 2017, 01:45 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(JOEYK86 @ Aug 29 2017, 12:42 PM)
Are there any citation from any Section on Acts etc that you can share with me?

I am facing the similar situation and am considering the implication for bringing a lump sum of foreign money back to Malaysia from HK
As long as you paid income tax at the country of origin, not a resident of Malaysia during the time and able to show proof, it will not be taxable in MY..

However, bringing in large sum of money or purchasing any asset will always subject to IRB flag and they may send you a query if it is big enough.

This post has been edited by gark: Aug 29 2017, 01:47 PM

0.0134sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:36 AM