Budget 2010: 1Malaysia, Together We Prosper, Summary & Discussion

epalbee3
post Oct 25 2009, 03:43 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 25 2009, 03:21 PM)
You're not looking at the whole picture.
You don't buy lots of cooking oil, but bear in mind that majority of the meals you eat outside in restaurants use cooking oil. Food prices will increase.
If sugar price increase, most drinks will also increase in price. Bread, and lots of food has sugar as ingredients.
Do you still remember what happened when the petrol price shot up last year? Removing the fuel subsidy will cause inflation across all industries due to increase transportation costs.
Problem is, are our salaries increasing fast enough? NO! That's why the subsidies cannot be removed just like that. It has to be removed sloooooowly.

Added on October 25, 2009, 3:24 pm

No.
1 month RM100 = 1 year RM1,200.
30 years = RM36,000
Assuming the dividend from EPF is the same as inflation rate.
So.. when you retire 30 years later, you will have the purchasing power of RM36,000 today. How many years can you live on this Rm36k?
Find a small town and stay there.
You can survive for about 3 years..
After that, work again..

In singapore, I seldom see people retire, even engineers after their retirement have to drive taxi, work at restaurant..

I wonder why nowsaday people cannot easily get retired.
Thing will be tougher a few decades later..

epalbee3
post Oct 25 2009, 04:01 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 25 2009, 03:55 PM)
Definitely agreed  nod.gif
In the old days, only the husband works.
Then, both husband and wife work.
Now, both husband and wife work 2 jobs each.
In the future, our children will study during the day, and work during the night to help support the family.
last time one person worked for RM600 can feed a family of four.
now RM 5000 cannot do the same. Perhaps we have too high demand of life now?

epalbee3
post Oct 25 2009, 11:04 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Oct 25 2009, 07:22 PM)
simplesmile,

Learn how to use Excel to calculate.  It is not hard.

=FV(0.04/12, (30*12),-100)

Assuming 4% dividend rate.

You get

$69,000 after 30 years.
epalbee3,

As far as I can see, many people are retired in Klang.
simplesmile,

For most 2 incomes' family, the SECOND LOWER INCOME does not provide positive NET INCOME to the family.
epalbee3,

My family of 4 only spend RM2,000 per month.  And, this is true for the past 4 to 5 years. And, we SPENT a lot more than our neighbors.  We paid of our car and house.

Most of the expenses are for FRUITS, VEGETABLE, and SEAFOOD.

Folks,

You hang around with WRONG group of people.

If you want to learn how to retire, hang around people that has early retired.

A) Many families that I know save 50+% of their gross income.

B) My brother and sister are RETIRED before 50.

C) Many people that I know are retired or semi-retired (work for fun only)

The ONLY CONSTANT for all of them is they are FRUGAL.

Dreamer
Hello.. may be you are living at a low cost area which costs low.

RM2000 is not enough for car and house, plus other expenses.

I came from seremban, I guess one person needs at least RM1000 per month for retirement. (food already 500++)

I guess living in city is not that cheap. Ok, hang around with which group of people depends on which job you are in.

By the way, I dun believe in boosting myself by buying expensive cars and use branded stuff, but I do need one or two pieces.

That's y I m quite surprise how fresh graduates can buy a honda city in their first job.

Dreamers, you are right. hang around with WRONG group people does make a lot of human made problems, however, sometimes there is no choice for that.. wink.gif

epalbee3
post Oct 26 2009, 09:24 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Oct 26 2009, 05:24 AM)
epalbee3,

1) I live in Klang.  I do not believe the cost of living is much lower than Seremban.

<<RM2000 is not enough for car and house,>>

2) Car and house are paid off.  And, usually, at retirement, the car and house had been paid off.

<<Ok, hang around with which group of people depends on which job you are in.>>

3) Who say you MUST hang around the same group of people after work??

<<however, sometimes there is no choice for that.. wink.gif>>

4) You ALWAYS have a choice.  Now, as too whether you exercise that choice is up to you.

Dreamer
Perhaps most of the money that we spent to car, house, parents and food.

You don't have car and house payment, that's y very cheap.

well, it is a choice, but let's say you spent most of the time working, then when you go back, there is less chance to make new friends.

Now city people all busy.. that's y they take friends from nearest..

By the way, I work at KL.

0.0204sec    1.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:00 AM