budget 2010 return of real property gain tax ?, 5% property gain tax from jan 2010

sshahar9
post Oct 25 2009, 05:39 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Oct 24 2009, 06:24 PM)
actually goodnews for those who wanted to just own a house....these "speculators" and "so-called investors" have been driving the prices so high these days...most of us are not able to afford a decent house at a decent price.....

Sorry if i stepped on somebody's tail...but the current prices of even a uglee double storey is CRAZY
agree... get some stability in the market..
its crazy the real estate prices these days... thought the worldwide recession will make it fall a lot more but turned out didnt really affect malaysia much after intervention and stuff..
sshahar9
post Oct 26 2009, 01:46 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(eugene jk @ Oct 25 2009, 07:45 PM)
You see ah.. this Gmen veli smart one... One side they say reduce income tax and increase tax relief, on the other hand impose RPGT of 5%

Money from left pocket masuk right pocket onli mah...
its good what..
for a first time buyer like me who cant afford my first house yet, means i can save more to get that first house.
if the investors and flippers get taxed more thats fine by me, coz theyd already be a bit well off i reckon. also tax on first property means less speculation possibly in the market if i got my judgement right.

i think its a good move to help the middle or lower income group like myself to have higher chances of gaining more. the 5% rpgt doesnt really come to play for someone or a family that can only afford 1 house for a very very long time.

definitely a move to help the less fortunate thumbup.gif
sshahar9
post Oct 26 2009, 10:47 AM

38 posts

for subsale perhaps... for new units at developers prices means less speculators/investors/flippers will want to buy and sell so soon. so more chances for 1st time owner to buy at developers price etc.

the 105% is a likely scenario. just as the same 100% price is also a likely scenario and the seller will bear the 5%. its market forces and it can go either way
sshahar9
post Oct 27 2009, 08:24 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Oct 26 2009, 11:38 AM)
Its only 5% flat! Hardly a dent to the hot area! If you go and look at Bandar Kinrara where virtually all launches  sold out in 1 day or less, and appreciate by 40-50%!... that 5% is peanut when you make 150k in 24months... and dont forget they seller allow to minus the acquisition cost. So the 5% impact is even lesser...

But if the govt do progressive 30% reduction, yes you will see plenty of speculation curbing....
yep.. which is why im all for it thumbup.gif

i was earlier replying to how lowering the personal taxes etc was just transferred to the rpgt here when its not entirely related.

both are a help to the general masses = middle and lower income groups like myself

im all for the 30% tax within 2 years... its so damn expensive to stay anywhere in kl (landed), may be forced to move to shah alam.. even then setia alam oso not dat cheap...
cwaaazy cry.gif

Added on October 27, 2009, 8:26 pmi agree with some parts of what zzzzzz52 mentioned too though...
as long as it helps the poor, dats what govmt should do.. not just help the rich investors or 'elite' people and turn their backs on the masses.
the rich will still make money, but slightly lesser and will help the poor more.

RPGT FTW

This post has been edited by sshahar9: Oct 27 2009, 08:26 PM
sshahar9
post Oct 28 2009, 09:19 AM

38 posts

i usually just shortcut my sentences and expect people to understand.. mebe i should write full.
the lowering income taxes i mean help the poor, have slightly more disposable income.
the return rpgt and also 30% in 2 years, might, some of it, once in gov coffers, trickle down to the rakyat in subsidies or whatever projects.

did i struck a nerve or something? haha.. other people are getting more off topic in replies.
anyway yesterdays star in 1st page biz section they mentioned a few comments about the rpgt. so im a bit right i guess if they oso say it may lower speculative buying.

0.0691sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:54 AM