Windows 7 Pricing

Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 26 2009, 11:58 PM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 26 2009, 11:52 PM)
i c ppl sell retail ver win 7 ulti RM180 only ...

serial key only

worth it?
You'd better be damn sure it ain't an illegal version before making the purchase. RM180 sounds extremely suspicious.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 27 2009, 06:08 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(alien3d @ Oct 27 2009, 05:01 PM)
i just wait for family pack and update my two laptop lor.
I don't think MS is bringing the family pack to Malaysia. I could be wrong though.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 29 2009, 01:58 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Oct 29 2009, 01:52 PM)
If you're a student, why would you want to go for Ultimate? It's targeted on business enterprise. laugh.gif
Probably to run a home server? hmm.gif

Cynicism aside, Home Premium, as its name suggest should suffice for the average consumer.

This post has been edited by Loki[D.d.G]: Oct 29 2009, 01:59 PM
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 30 2009, 02:26 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Oct 29 2009, 08:21 PM)
Yeah, but that's more for corporate business don't you think? laugh.gif
And in any case, I meant that with many pinches of salt. I.e. sarcasm.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 2 2009, 04:51 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Nov 2 2009, 04:43 PM)
Anyone see Home Basic on shelf or not? I have a backup/download computer running XP and I'm thinking whether should I keep using XP or get Home Basic. It's only for torrenting and some data backup.
I thought Home Basic wasn't supposed to be sold to the public in Malaysia? Only manufactured netbooks and the like should come with OEM copies of Home Basic.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 3 2009, 12:56 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Nov 3 2009, 12:12 AM)
Seem Retail pack comes with both 32 and 64 bits disc while OEM only single 32bits disc.. Am i right?
Yes. Didn't you ask this before?
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 6 2009, 04:23 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(chuan1983 @ Nov 6 2009, 04:11 PM)
Win 7 Price list saw at the SoftwareExchange Price list:

Windows 7 Home Basic 290
Windows 7 Home Premium 380
Windows 7 Pro 500
Windows 7 Ultimate 680

Not sure is oem or retail, but seem like is retail since it will state is if is oem.
I'm pretty sure that is OEM. MS sells the retail pack of 7 Home Premium for RM480 and Ultimate for way more than is listed. Also the RM380 price of 7 Home Premium concurs nicely with similar OEM copies being sold by Low Yat distributors.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 6 2009, 04:36 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Nov 6 2009, 04:30 PM)
Pricelist from Thundermatch:
OEM Home Basic RM279
OEM Home Premium RM365
OEM Professional RM480
OEM Ultimate RM655

Retail Home Premium RM469
Retail Ultimate RM769
Windows 7 in Malaysia sells for peanuts compared to the prices I have to stomach here in the States.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 7 2009, 01:08 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Nov 6 2009, 04:38 PM)
Should be around the same price with some exchange rate adjustment what? The retail pack would be cheaper because it's a SEA edition.
Check Newegg for the US prices. And then times it by 3.4 to get the Malaysian comparative price.

This post has been edited by Loki[D.d.G]: Nov 7 2009, 01:08 AM
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 7 2009, 11:37 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Nov 7 2009, 10:55 AM)
Erm, noob question here but what exactly is the difference between the Retail version and OEM version?
This has been answered many times before, but as I am in a good mood I'll indulge you.

Retail comes with dual 32 and 64bit DVDs which for the installation of either one while OEM comes with either 32 or 64bit DVDs.

Retail has a reusable activation key which is handy if you are moving your OS from system to system, or replacing your mobo altogether. Using an OEM copy would require you to call MS for a reactivation key after the first install.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 8 2009, 06:06 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Hitmanz @ Nov 8 2009, 05:30 PM)
Ultimate is the best right ?
If you are running a server or a business, then yes. Home users would have nothing much to gain from using Ultimate and everything to lose in terms of cash spent.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 9 2009, 12:17 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Nov 8 2009, 06:11 PM)
That's wrong. Business and corporations uses Windows 7 Enterprise best. Ultimate is just for those who need to use 36 languages, bitlocker or WinXP mode.
Wait, doesn't Ultimate have everything Enterprise has and more? Or am I woefully misinformed here?

0.0148sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:19 AM