Sony PSP2 arriving in 2010, Features PowerVR SGX543 graphics

TSLYNsucks
post Oct 19 2009, 05:59 PM, updated 17y ago

188 posts

http://www.brightsideofnews.com/news/2009/...3-graphics.aspx

I wonder how credible the source is but based on its description, sony might choose the powervr graphic which will run with a multicore architecture. If this is true then backward compatibility might be scrapped, which means no psp game on psp 2 since psp use mips based processor and the upcoming one will be based on arm processor! Graphic wise it might rival the next nds 2 since the ds 2 might also improve its graphical capability tremendously by integrating the next system with a nvidia tegra. I have no idea how the tegra perform but it's being used in the zune hd, which is capable of hd movie playback. If I aint remember it wrongly sega dreamcast also use powervr, in which I think is good since most games seems like a smooth 60 fps with "crisp" graphic to me. What say u?
bestdo
post Oct 19 2009, 06:06 PM

43 posts

waa, sure reach RM1k ++
emperor_kiva
post Oct 20 2009, 01:00 PM

257 posts

Assuming the news is true,i'd say its a rather stupid move by sony. Firstly,they just released the pspGO which has no umd slot and forces ppl to pay and download from PSN to get the games. The prob here:

1)No umd slot thus buyers have to invest in memory cards

2)users who already have the games and want to play them on the GO needs to repurchase the game.

Now their planning on releasing the PSP2. Sure it may have better graphics,processing power and all that but what good is a handheld if it does not have good range of games to go along with it. Honestly speaking, how many must have games do we have for the psp now? I can count a handful that are worth your time and money.

-god of war chain of olympus
-tekken 5 dr
-ff7 crisis core
-Monster hunter series.
-Dexter

Thats about it.Im not talking about "ok" games, im talking about "must have". Because it is these games that help sell a console/handheld. The PSP is very popular in Japan due to the immense amount of anime based games released there so maybe the psp2 will do well there. But for me, im sure as hell not interested in this UNTIL developers can show some promising titles.

Lets just hope for the best. smile.gif
keropi88
post Dec 15 2009, 10:26 PM

292 posts

is it comfirmed that the psp2 will out ?
im going to buy psp3000 but should i wait until they launch the psp2 ?
honestly i quite mind about the low graphic in current psp ~
monyetbesi
post Dec 16 2009, 09:46 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(keropi88 @ Dec 15 2009, 10:26 PM)
is it comfirmed that the psp2 will out ?
im going to buy psp3000 but should i wait until they launch the psp2 ?
honestly i quite mind about the low graphic in current psp ~
get a PS3...u will throw ur PSP after u get those...oh wait, where did i put my PSP last time...OMG sweat.gif
Astroranagun
post Dec 16 2009, 09:54 AM

21 posts

i dont know. I just purchased recently the psp AC limited bundle and get free AC2 for PS3. dl the latest patch and play dot hack link demo, god eater, and some other japan psp games with ad hoc multiplayer with japanese player.......and use my psp remote play with my ps3.....

psp dont have much game? that is soo 2005.....sony release PSPgo is stupid? at least they are not stupid to counter the pirated gamers.....
Mgsrulz
post Dec 16 2009, 10:16 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(monyetbesi @ Dec 16 2009, 09:46 AM)
get a PS3...u will throw ur PSP after u get those...oh wait, where did i put my PSP last time...OMG sweat.gif
lol...

i still play my psp smile.gif

these days the PSP has a lot of great games coming out for it
manixramz
post Dec 16 2009, 10:21 AM

21 posts

man what year are u from ? psp no game ?

cant manage time to play psp .. too many games ..

now enjoying LBP and ass creed smile.gif
firvictory7
post Dec 16 2009, 11:56 AM

98 posts

once u already have ps3....normally, u dont have time for psp....unless when u balik kampung and u cant bring ur ps3 together, at that time psp is a must-have-item-to-bring-along....otherwise, u will get bored at kampung....

hahaha...this is my personal experience...
sammesul81
post Dec 16 2009, 01:32 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(firvictory7 @ Dec 16 2009, 11:56 AM)
once u already have ps3....normally, u dont have time for psp....unless when u balik kampung and u cant bring ur ps3 together, at that time psp is a must-have-item-to-bring-along....otherwise, u will get bored at kampung....

hahaha...this is my personal experience...
ya betoll my psp is collecting dust only sweat.gif .. normally i ll bring along my psp when i balik kampung, u know la ps3 berat giless.. sweat.gif

revived_irfan
post Dec 27 2009, 08:25 PM

71 posts

wow, powervr, the same company that provide gpu for the dreamcast
BlackHawling
post Dec 27 2009, 09:06 PM

15 posts

now problem is... what game will tthere be on psp2 ?
nowadays, producer seems place most of their effort into ps3, then what good game will it be on hand-held psp?
hmmm...
joe_liew
post Dec 27 2009, 09:11 PM

60 posts

if u ask me what are my list of PSP Must have games.. the following is the list..

1.LocoRoco
2.GTA Liberty City/Vice City/China
3.Tekken 5 & 6
4.Soul Caliber
5.God of War
6.OutRun
7.Ridge Racer
8.Ace Combat
9.Metal Slugs...
10.King of Fighters series
11.Street Fighters series
12.Final Fantasies series
13.Gran Turismo
14.Assassins Creed
15.Guilty Gears series
16.Samurai Shodowns series
17.Little Big Planet
18.Silent Hill
19.Resistance
20.Crazy Taxi
21.Capcom/Midway/NeoGeo/PSX classics.
22.Killzone
23.Dead to Rights
24.Unbound Saga
25.Hammerin Hero
26.Virtual Tennis
27.Lumines
SUSdattebayo
post Dec 27 2009, 09:30 PM

5,366 posts

when i got some spare cash to spend, i want to buy back a used PSP 2000

regardless u got time to layan it or not, it still beats Ngage and ipod touch rclxm9.gif
aaron_15ryderz
post Dec 28 2009, 09:14 AM

276 posts

lol...i play psp most of the time compare to my ps3 and esbok...
coz there's so much games to play....ha3...
makinglife
post Apr 20 2010, 09:50 AM

182 posts

psp 3000 good or psp 2000?
edwinlcw
post Apr 20 2010, 09:59 AM

1,754 posts

I'm not sure how reliable the source is.. one of my relative who working in a factory which manufacture some of the part for ps3 and psp told me that sony is going to release a touch screen psp.. because the factory working on some of the part for the new version of psp....
blinky_w
post Apr 20 2010, 10:03 AM

1 thing that i really need for PSP2 is dual analog!!!!!!

anyway there is also rumour saying that psp2 working better with MH3p which will release at end of the year..

This post has been edited by blinky_w: Apr 20 2010, 10:07 AM
PhoenixByte
post Apr 20 2010, 10:04 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

wow i want touch screen psp too smile.gif
oyama
post Apr 20 2010, 10:05 AM

925 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Apr 20 2010, 10:59 AM)
I'm not sure how reliable the source is.. one of my relative who working in a factory which manufacture some of the part for ps3 and psp told me that sony is going to release a touch screen psp.. because the factory working on some of the part for the new version of psp....
if they do the control button like in iphone/ipod it's quite hard to control.. need some time for learning curve..
Mgsrulz
post Apr 20 2010, 10:08 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(oyama @ Apr 20 2010, 10:05 AM)
if they do the control button like in iphone/ipod it's quite hard to control.. need some time for learning curve..
it would be instant fail,IMHO.
touch screen based controls are pure bullshit.

and by "touch screen based" i mean virtual joysticks and virtual buttons.
gestures work just fine, but using virtual joysticks and buttons is just stupid and cheap

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Apr 20 2010, 10:09 AM
blinky_w
post Apr 20 2010, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(bestdo @ Oct 19 2009, 06:06 PM)
waa, sure reach RM1k ++
from my experience , for console DUN BUY the 1st release batch (sure got problem)
for handheld BUY FIRST coz can play jack sparrow .

Added on April 20, 2010, 10:13 am
QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Apr 20 2010, 10:08 AM)
it would be instant fail,IMHO.
touch screen based controls are pure bullshit.

and by "touch screen based" i mean virtual joysticks and virtual buttons.
gestures work just fine, but using virtual joysticks and buttons is just stupid and cheap
agree.... i hate playing sonic on iphone or pad... there isn't any touching feeling for me...

This post has been edited by blinky_w: Apr 20 2010, 10:13 AM
S4PH
post Apr 20 2010, 01:00 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

if psp2 backward compatible with ps2 games even better
#Fly
post Apr 20 2010, 03:42 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Apr 20 2010, 10:04 AM)
wow i want touch screen psp too smile.gif
= iPod Touch with better games and graphics.
jiidaineko
post Apr 20 2010, 03:55 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(#Fly @ Apr 20 2010, 03:42 PM)
= iPod Touch with better games and graphics.
touch screen gaming are for weeboos ~ your fingers already cover part of the screens, furthermore fingerprint mark on screen is unbearable lol
atlantis2007
post Apr 20 2010, 04:25 PM

1,014 posts

add touch screen feature to the console but dont fully utilize it on games..

touch screen feature are for online.. drawing.. etc etc... and light gaming..

I still prefer physical game pad for games...
heavy duty games are most likely remain with the trusty pad..

add vibration to the console will be just great!
kira-kun
post Apr 20 2010, 04:31 PM

161 posts

hm...
will get the limited pack with some sort of FF series hahaha!
lilko
post Apr 20 2010, 05:05 PM

95 posts

Erm... the gen 2 console... Wasnt it the same size and shape as the predecessor.. will they really add extra features in? Why are you guys talking like they are going to change the whole psp feature like that one? I thought only enhancement in terms of graphics? I dun really understand about how much of the advancement of graphics this techno may help... But if this can make the psp support games that have the similar look atleast like on the recent PS2 games i may think of getting a new one... If its not.. Then no matter how crisp the graphic can be.. They are still the same..

Touch screen....? Meh.. i hate tapping with my fingers! I wan moar button smashing!!!!! If touch screen i press too hard then will spoil.. sad.gif

YES!!! PSP is a must for traveling especially when you cant bring ur precious consoles back kampung... And there are a handfull of games that gona keep me busy for the holiday.. This coming summer got a few realeasing too.. Gosh!! But I am so gona miss my kotak!! XD

On a side note.... I will be happy if sony got achievement thing for psp too.. Its unfair cuz only ps3 got.. Psp oso sony one wat.. Small so wat?

Added on April 20, 2010, 5:15 pm
QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 16 2009, 10:16 AM)
lol...

i still play my psp smile.gif

these days the PSP has a lot of great games coming out for it
+1 flex.gif

This post has been edited by lilko: Apr 20 2010, 05:15 PM
lowyard
post May 7 2010, 04:16 PM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

Why not bring the best out of both worlds? Make a touch button and a real button. Well, after sometime of playing games on PSP, my hand will get sore due to a lot of button pressing. So, just imagine the current PSP button layout have the touch feature. If you just touch the button without pressing, it'll respond. If you press the button, it'll respond too. Now that is cool.
Vince1991
post Sep 24 2010, 01:39 AM

262 posts

Well seriously I dont think that this PSP2 news is real. Even if it is, how is Sony gonna manage to put a battery pack with the capacity to power with such a powerful processor and gpu in such a small pack?

From what I've read in the news, the new psp's gpu is equal to a GTX260. I mean WTF? PS3's GPU is build based on Nvidia7800 and PSP2 will have a GTX260alike gpu.. cmoooon..

Sony clearly states that PSPgo was released to test the market and they've got their results, failure..
So from my point of view, Sony isn't going to launch the PSP2 or whatever its called any sooner because they lack the knowledge on what the consumers out there wants nowadays and besides, PSP1000-3000 is still one of the most popular hand-held gaming console in the market..

Added on September 24, 2010, 1:43 amAs for me, I do hope that the new generation PSP contain a extra analog and a couple more missing play station buttons (R2,R3,L2,L3) and vibration function xD

Accelerometer and multiple-touch touchscreen(like iPhone ones) would be nice too if implemented.

Still the same question, how would such a small battery pack stand up to all these functions esp for gamers who play with their PSP the whole day long..

Don't tell me that Sony is gonna charge us 30~40% of the console's price for a battery pack..

This post has been edited by Vince1991: Sep 24 2010, 01:43 AM
davidgary73
post Sep 24 2010, 02:45 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Thread Reported & Closed

Use the existing thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1565401

Thank you