PS3 YLOD model poll, please participate

saiga
post Oct 20 2009, 02:19 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(VashTheStampede @ Oct 19 2009, 10:16 PM)
Hrmm.. I'll relate my 'near-death' experience.
My set is a 80G SG model. Bought in Nov 07 if i'm not mistaken.

No problems whatsoever..until I d/l the U2 beta,
Could play 1 round of co-op, but then when I ventured on to a 2nd round...bam! PS3 shut down with the red blinking lights. Pretty terrified so i hard-offed the PS3 from the switch at the back. Switched back on and it was fine, tried to U2 again..same thing.

After that was kinda scared so deleted the demo and that's that.
Few weeks went by, got the game, played about 30 mins, and the same thing happened. On offed the ps3.. tried to play again and it shut down within 5 mins. Well after that yeah, haven't touched it since laugh.gif

Can play all other games fine. That day played PES for 4-5 hours straight.
The fan has been loud before, but it's never switched off.
Uncharted 2 is the only game that does this sad.gif
I also downloaded U2 demo but play 3 times only coz I suck when playing TPS game. My PS3 never hang n my fan never run in full speed.
However I noticed now my PS3 fan will run on turbo mode if my room quite hot, especially in the
afternoon. So I put cooling fan (industrial grade) n no more turbo mode if I play PS3 with the cooling fan on.

Maybe you guys can try this nod.gif. Mine is 40GB SG set icon_rolleyes.gif

saiga
post Dec 3 2009, 01:55 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(lim360 @ Dec 2 2009, 11:56 PM)
Oh really,my 40GB(placed horizontally) is the hot air come out from the back of the console only,when i touched the side vents,i dint feel any warm air coming out,but i feel the cool air is like going in leh,just like my ex-Xbox 360.
Your model is 60GB?Is that any different between 40GB and 60GB?Please help
I have put a table fan to flow the cool air in to the console through the side vent.So far dont have any prob,its already 2 month already sad.gif  sad.gif
bro, mine is 40 GB model and same like you. hot air got out at the back so I put cooling fan (industrial grade) to suck the air out. my ps3 never run in hyperdrive mode if I turn on the cooling fan.

your method is wrong as the best way is to suck out the hot air so the temperature inside your ps3 won't rise up nod.gif . dun worry, this method is correct coz I'm a engineer myself and we cool laser tube using this method too icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by saiga: Dec 3 2009, 01:56 AM

0.0475sec    0.53    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:46 AM