What Hi-Fi? S&V ASEAN Edition Magazine Information

TSWHFasia
post Oct 19 2009, 10:48 AM, updated 16y ago

Validating
17 posts

Dear All,

The much-anticipated What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision ASEAN Awards Edition 2009, will be out on the Singapore newstands tomorrow, Tuesday, 20th October 2009.

The annual Awards Edition has always been the epitome and the most anticipated. It provides the most comprehensive tool to help you select the best products and helps you stretch your dollar to the maximum. As per past Awards Editions, you'll see winners across every category and price band. Whether you're getting the latest LED TV, improving your home cinema, or overhauling your hi-fi, we will have something to guide your decision-making.

Cost per magazine is at RM20.00 and if you wish to purchase a copy, please email to admin@whathifi.asia and we will reply to you on the proceedings. Your favourite 5 Star product might just emerge as one of the 92 winners in this year's final round up!

Thanks and Best Regards,
WHF Asia

This post has been edited by WHFasia: Nov 20 2009, 12:08 PM
neoardi
post Oct 19 2009, 10:56 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

How about the release date in Malaysia newstands? hmm.gif
dlyz
post Oct 19 2009, 03:03 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Free copy? If so, we shud all request a copy
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 19 2009, 03:28 PM

1,442 posts

Better yet, post all the list of winners here smile.gif
TSWHFasia
post Oct 19 2009, 03:44 PM

Validating
17 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Oct 19 2009, 03:03 PM)
Free copy? If so, we shud all request a copy
Hi dlyz,

Thanks for clarifying, the cost per mag is at RM20.00. For your support and thank you.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia
kianwee
post Oct 19 2009, 04:12 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

RM20, not bad, can read during traffic jam.
butter finger
post Oct 19 2009, 11:00 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Oct 19 2009, 04:12 PM)
RM20, not bad, can read during traffic jam.
No no, kenot read while driving later kena saman grumble.gif
htkaki
post Oct 20 2009, 12:12 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

luckily saw tis. Else wld have bought it. It is SGD12 here. Will chk it out tmw.
megatron007
post Oct 20 2009, 12:14 AM

4,000 posts

never mentioned FOC wor

ar188
post Oct 20 2009, 12:18 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 20 2009, 12:12 AM)
luckily saw tis. Else wld have bought it. It is SGD12 here. Will chk it out tmw.
oh. you are there now? hanging around at the adelphi ? brows.gif
htkaki
post Oct 20 2009, 12:40 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

yeah, few days there liao. Settled my things. I saw these mags there.
TSWHFasia
post Oct 20 2009, 11:43 AM

Validating
17 posts

Dear All,

We hope our earlier message did not cause too much confusion and we thank those who had helped clarified on the price matter. This magazine will cost SGD12.00 or RM20.00, depending on where the purchase's from.

Like some mentioned in this thread, it's not FOC. In addition, this Awards Edition is only for sale and it will not be distributed anywhere free for browsing.

Thank you for your understanding.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

This post has been edited by WHFasia: Oct 20 2009, 11:44 AM
arremie
post Oct 20 2009, 12:26 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

i want one. very hard to find here. can use as reference when shopping tongue.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 20 2009, 12:34 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 20 2009, 12:26 PM)
i want one. very hard to find here. can use as reference when shopping tongue.gif
walou, u go shop AV products like people shop groceries, got list wan ar .... tongue.gif
arremie
post Oct 20 2009, 12:49 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

of course la must have list. then decide which one the best to get and which one to get first.....not getting everything in the list tongue.gif
kianwee
post Oct 20 2009, 01:54 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

WTF I asked my sexretary to look for me, she went to Borders, MPH, Kinokuniya and told me cannot find. Is she lying or is it really not available yet?
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 20 2009, 02:00 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Oct 20 2009, 01:54 PM)
WTF I asked my sexretary to look for me, she went to Borders, MPH, Kinokuniya and told me cannot find. Is she lying or is it really not available yet?
Apparently launching in Sin today only. Tumpang bas everything, maybe end of this week in Malaysia kua....
SiriuslyCold
post Oct 20 2009, 02:31 PM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Oct 20 2009, 02:00 PM)
Apparently launching in Sin today only.  Tumpang bas everything, maybe end of this week in Malaysia kua....
really? I thought it was printed here
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 20 2009, 02:49 PM

1,442 posts

edit

This post has been edited by Lone*Wolf: Oct 20 2009, 02:51 PM
azbro
post Oct 20 2009, 03:26 PM

4,403 posts

Great..looking forward for another mag for my toilet reading...haha
moomoos
post Oct 20 2009, 03:28 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

wat bout shipping and handling...???
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 20 2009, 07:56 PM

1,442 posts

Winners' roll :-

http://awards.whathifi.com/winners/2009

Denon 1910 came good tongue.gif

Dunno whether the Asian Version's list will be different hmm.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Oct 20 2009, 09:10 PM

1,976 posts

the Sony BDP5000ES (Best Blu-ray player above £600) scored a paltry 89% at Secrets.

In comparison the Oppo BDP-83 (£579.00 including VAT) score is ... well you can see for yourself

OK, so perhaps one of their criteria is you can walk into a neighborhood store and buy one; but one has to wonder when is WHF going to start recognizing its the 21st century, and people actually buy blu-ray players / any electronics online?

This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: Oct 20 2009, 09:13 PM
azbro
post Oct 20 2009, 09:11 PM

4,403 posts

How come no media player like WDTV, DVICO etc?

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Oct 20 2009, 07:56 PM)

Denon 1910 came good  tongue.gif

Dunno whether the Asian Version's list will be different  hmm.gif
How much is it...just curious...

This post has been edited by azbro: Oct 20 2009, 09:14 PM
SiriuslyCold
post Oct 20 2009, 09:20 PM

1,976 posts

Best Subwoofers... B&W ... really?
kianwee
post Oct 20 2009, 09:24 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

Maybe those 5 stars award goes to those companies that let them keep their review unit.
terranova
post Oct 20 2009, 11:15 PM

1,161 posts

Long-haul big spending advertisers in their mag like B&W, Denon & their contemporaries winning awards in WHF .... reeks of impartiality right? tongue.gif

That has been WHF's archilles heel really .... whether real or perceived, it dilutes the value and credibility of the mag's awards & reviews. My 2 cents.
ar188
post Oct 20 2009, 11:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Oct 20 2009, 09:20 PM)
biggrin.gif they never heard of craig's sub list.. biggrin.gif

B&W no where to be found..
SiriuslyCold
post Oct 21 2009, 12:01 AM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Oct 20 2009, 11:15 PM)
Long-haul big spending advertisers in their mag like B&W, Denon & their contemporaries winning awards in WHF .... reeks of impartiality right? tongue.gif

That has been WHF's archilles heel really .... whether real or perceived, it dilutes the value and credibility of the mag's awards & reviews. My 2 cents.
... not that WHF has any serious credibility in the first place. It's more of an audio light-porn mag, sort of a Playboy for hi-fi wannabes. drool.gif

To be fair, it's useful for beginners, and seasoned audiophiles (like us) criticizing it is just taking the piss. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: Oct 21 2009, 12:02 AM
TSWHFasia
post Oct 21 2009, 02:45 PM

Validating
17 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Oct 20 2009, 07:56 PM)

Denon 1910 came good  tongue.gif

Dunno whether the Asian Version's list will be different  hmm.gif

Allow us to answer to your quiry. There's no difference in the award winners for the ASEAN version. All award winners are consistent throughout all versions of What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision magazines. Thank you.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

This post has been edited by WHFasia: Oct 21 2009, 02:45 PM
ronnt88
post Oct 21 2009, 02:48 PM

2,353 posts

B&W PV1 has been the best sub since god knows when liao doh.gif

TSWHFasia
post Oct 21 2009, 02:52 PM

Validating
17 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Oct 20 2009, 09:24 PM)
Maybe those 5 stars award goes to those companies that let them keep their review unit.

What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision reviewers in UK have been advising the world about hi-fi and home cinema for more than 33 years, and in UK, we team-test all products comparatively in a S$2 million reviewing facilities. Please visit our website and find out more. As hobbyists, enthusiasts, reviewing products is part of interest, and not getting complimentary products for reviews, for your understanding Thanks.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

Added on October 21, 2009, 2:57 pm
QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Oct 20 2009, 09:20 PM)

Our same reply to earlier posts - What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision reviewers in UK have been advising the world about hi-fi and home cinema for more than 33 years, and in UK, we team-test all products comparatively in a S$2 million reviewing facilities. Please visit our website and find out more.

Of course, reviews in the magazine is a very good guide/reference for anyone who wish to do purchases or understand the products. But nothing beats a personnal experience in the showrooms and listen the quality of sound, and reviews in What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision is just the right guide. Thanks.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

Added on October 21, 2009, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(terranova @ Oct 20 2009, 11:15 PM)

Advertisers in What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision ASEAN magzine has no impact on the reviewers in UK. Reviews in the magazine is a very good guide/reference for anyone who wish to do purchases or understand the products. But nothing beats a personnal experience in the showrooms and listen the quality of sound, and reviews in What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision is just the right guide before hitting the showrooms. Thanks.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

This post has been edited by WHFasia: Oct 21 2009, 03:02 PM
azbro
post Oct 21 2009, 03:38 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(WHFasia @ Oct 21 2009, 02:52 PM)

Advertisers in What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision ASEAN magzine has no impact on the reviewers in UK.  Reviews in the magazine is a very good guide/reference for anyone who wish to do purchases or understand the products.  But nothing beats a personnal experience in the showrooms and listen the quality of sound, and reviews in What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision is just the right guide before hitting the showrooms.  Thanks.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia
Hi...just wanna ask, there is a category for Digital Media player, but its more into Audio... why is there any mention of AV media players like WDTV, Popcornhour, Dvico etc?
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 21 2009, 03:53 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Oct 21 2009, 02:48 PM)
B&W PV1 has been the best sub since god knows when liao doh.gif
wow, used to think the best subs are in boxes, this bulat-bulat thing also dem keng.. biggrin.gif
arremie
post Oct 21 2009, 07:47 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

hmm nobody from whathifi asia reply my email for getting 2009 award copy

This post has been edited by arremie: Oct 21 2009, 07:47 PM
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 21 2009, 07:56 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 21 2009, 07:47 PM)
hmm nobody from whathifi asia reply my email for getting 2009 award copy

mebbe they too bz compiling their own list for shopping ... hmm.gif
ah liew
post Oct 22 2009, 03:39 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Oct 21 2009, 03:53 PM)
wow, used to think the best subs are in boxes, this bulat-bulat thing also dem keng..  biggrin.gif
B&O woofers are weird as well. tongue.gif
car_o_scope
post Oct 22 2009, 04:12 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

Bulat bulat thing like Wilson Benesch Torus very the powerful...
but the price also very the powerful.... rclxub.gif

This B&O Bulat Bulat though, dunno lar, never heard before..
Looks like a stool to me.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by car_o_scope: Oct 22 2009, 04:13 PM
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 22 2009, 04:18 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Oct 22 2009, 04:12 PM)
Bulat bulat thing like Wilson Benesch Torus very the powerful...
but the price also very the powerful....  rclxub.gif

This B&O Bulat Bulat though, dunno lar, never heard before..
Looks like a stool to me..  tongue.gif
The Giant Hypermarket type, no less! laugh.gif
azbro
post Oct 22 2009, 04:39 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Oct 22 2009, 03:39 PM)
B&O woofers are weird as well.  tongue.gif
My kids see this sure Habis Rosak...
Hwoarang45
post Oct 23 2009, 10:37 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

What Hifi... hmm the name sound familiar somehow,, ohh i remember i used to torn the mag for packing sun flower seeds sometimes, but most of the time my gf just use it to pick up our puppy's poo poo, she said the paper really sticks

ahem... lari~~~

no seriously the mag's rating is not all that important, its real entertaining, most Mamak barber shops got em for us to read, auntie hair saloon too, i swear for once i saw them at an ipoh bean sprouts restoran !! really doh.gif

i likes the mag, its entertaining, .... and handy with multiple use thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Oct 23 2009, 10:41 PM
kianwee
post Oct 23 2009, 10:38 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Oct 23 2009, 10:37 PM)
What Hifi... hmm the name sound familiar somehow,, ohh i remember i used to torn the mag for packing sun flower seeds sometimes, but most of the time my gf just use it to pick up our puppy's poo poo, she said the paper really sticks

ahem... lari~~~

no seriously the mag's rating is not all that important, its real entertaining, most Mamak barber shops got em for us to read, auntie hair saloon too, i swear for once i saw them at an ipoh bean sprouts restoran !! really  doh.gif

i likes the mag, its entertaining, .... and handy with multiple use  thumbup.gif
OUCH!

This post has been edited by kianwee: Oct 23 2009, 10:42 PM
TSWHFasia
post Nov 6 2009, 10:50 AM

Validating
17 posts

Dear All,

With regards to our What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision ASEAN Awards Edition 2009 magazine, we have worked out a deal with one of our advertiser (B&W distributor) to sell the magazine in their Malaysia showroom.

As such you may now be able to purchase the What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision ASEAN Awards Edition 2009 magazine there. Selling price of each magazine is at RM20. Address of showroom as follows:

Company Name: TEG Sdn Bhd
Address: No.72A, Jalan Universiti, Jaya One,
Block E, LG-1, Unit 12, (Facing Carpark East Entrance).
46200, Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Tel: 03-79568989

On another note, if there's any distributor/dealer who are interested to sell our magazine, can drop a PM to us.

In advance, I thank you all for your support and if you need us to render any further assistance or if you have any enquiries, please do not hesitate to drop us an email at admin@whathifi.asia.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia
kianwee
post Nov 6 2009, 10:57 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(WHFasia @ Nov 6 2009, 10:50 AM)
Dear All,

With regards to our What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision ASEAN Awards Edition 2009 magazine, we have worked out a deal with one of our advertiser (B&W distributor) to sell the magazine in their Malaysia showroom. 

As such you may now be able to purchase the What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision ASEAN Awards Edition 2009 magazine there.  Selling price of each magazine is at RM20.  Address of showroom as follows: 

On another note, if there's any distributor/dealer who are interested to sell our magazine, can drop a PM to us.

In advance, I thank you all for your support and if you need us to render any further assistance or if you have any enquiries, please do not hesitate to drop us an email at admin@whathifi.asia.
Best Regards,
WHF Asia
You mean that's the only place people can get the magazine?
htkaki
post Nov 6 2009, 11:01 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

No wonder that I cldn't find it in major bookstores.
de_lasoul
post Nov 6 2009, 11:02 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(WHFasia @ Nov 6 2009, 10:50 AM)
Dear All,

As such you may now be able to purchase the What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision ASEAN Awards Edition 2009 magazine there.  Selling price of each magazine is at RM20.  Address of showroom as follows: 

Best Regards,
WHF Asia
who will help to sell in Penang?
arremie
post Nov 6 2009, 11:06 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 6 2009, 11:02 AM)
who will help to sell in Penang?
rontt88 tongue.gif
htkaki
post Nov 6 2009, 11:08 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

or elite chew? *cabut*
car_o_scope
post Nov 6 2009, 11:26 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

This Asian edition will only be available in Spore at the meantime, right?
I thought the publisher only has plan to bring over to Msia one or two months later.
Which is why, we still cannot find a copy at our local bookstores until now.
jchong
post Nov 6 2009, 11:39 AM

5,989 posts

I wonder if it will be available by the time the new B&W showroom opens?
TSWHFasia
post Nov 6 2009, 01:33 PM

Validating
17 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Nov 6 2009, 10:57 AM)
You mean that's the only place people can get the magazine?
Hi kianwee,

So far yes, we will roll out to other places in due time. Thanks.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

Added on November 6, 2009, 1:35 pm
QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 6 2009, 11:39 AM)
I wonder if it will be available by the time the new B&W showroom opens?
Hi jchong,

The mag is available for purchase from today onwards in the showroom. Thanks for enquiring.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

Added on November 6, 2009, 1:40 pm
QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Nov 6 2009, 11:26 AM)
This Asian edition will only be available in Spore at the meantime, right?
I thought the publisher only has plan to bring over to Msia one or two months later.
Which is why, we still cannot find a copy at our local bookstores until now.
Hi car_o_scope,

The rollout will be in phases. As what you had mentioned, the plan is to bring over to Msia one or two months later, however, we had recieved many enquiries on the magazine's availability in Msia, thus, for a start we had decided to roll out at one location this month. We will push the mag out to most newstands/bookstores in due time.

Thanks and Regards,
WHF Asia

This post has been edited by WHFasia: Nov 6 2009, 01:40 PM
car_o_scope
post Nov 6 2009, 02:02 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

OK.. Thanks for info.
So, the showroom also open already lah?
chewkl
post Nov 6 2009, 02:05 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 6 2009, 11:08 AM)
or elite chew? *cabut*
No wonder sneezing like mad just now. mad.gif

fourzee
post Nov 6 2009, 03:02 PM

388 posts

Usually i dont buy expensive Hi-Fi mags .. just unwrap the plastic at popular book store and read .. then pass back to the shop assistant to re-wrap..for serious hi-fi reads go for Hi-Fi news, for best pics .. Hi-Fi Choice .. but then again What Hi-Fi is responsible for getting me hooked on hi-fi back in the 80's ..
de_lasoul
post Nov 6 2009, 03:11 PM

624 posts

If wanna buy from Penang, how?
arremie
post Nov 6 2009, 03:13 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 6 2009, 03:11 PM)
take a 4 hour drive to kl laugh.gif
ronnt88
post Nov 6 2009, 03:15 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 6 2009, 03:11 PM)
bro u already bought ur tv, speakers & AVR .... so fast wanna find reasons to upgrade? brows.gif
fourzee
post Nov 6 2009, 03:21 PM

388 posts

A local chinese hi-fi mag actually is very good..
car_o_scope
post Nov 6 2009, 03:23 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Nov 6 2009, 03:13 PM)
take a 4 hour drive to kl laugh.gif
thumbup.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 7 2009, 01:11 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Nov 6 2009, 03:15 PM)
bro u already bought ur tv, speakers & AVR .... so fast wanna find reasons to upgrade? brows.gif
when you traded yr car for a sub? tongue.gif
ronnt88
post Nov 7 2009, 02:22 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Nov 7 2009, 01:11 PM)
when you traded yr car for a sub?  tongue.gif
cutting costs tongue.gif
TSWHFasia
post Nov 9 2009, 05:12 PM

Validating
17 posts

Dear All,

Update, from today onwards, What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision Awards Edition can be purchased at B&W new showroom at the following address:

46200, Petaling Jaya Selangor, Malaysia

For your support, thanks!

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

This post has been edited by WHFasia: Nov 9 2009, 05:15 PM
l30n91120
post Nov 9 2009, 06:23 PM

153 posts

Just got my copy at TEG this afternoon thumbup.gif
htkaki
post Nov 9 2009, 06:31 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I wanted to go there since I am at Dsara Perdana area for a late lunch. Then, the downpour came. So, didn't go there to get it since it'll be very jam with such 'torrential rain'
de_lasoul
post Nov 9 2009, 08:18 PM

624 posts

Anyone can buy and help to ship 1x copy to Pg?? whistling.gif
TSWHFasia
post Nov 20 2009, 11:26 AM

Validating
17 posts

Greetings,

Appreciate to those who called our Singapore office for enquiries on sales of back issues and magazine subscription.

Just to update that we had delivered some year 2009 August to November back issues to B&W's new showroom at Jaya One. Back issues are limited and for interested parties, you may want to purchase the copies there.

On our Awards 2009 Edition, we had made our final replenishment at the showroom. For those who have yet to purchase the epitome and most anticipated special issue of the year, purchase now before it runs out.

Awards 2009 Edition has always provide the most comprehensive tool to help you select the best products and as per past Awards issues, you'll see winners across every category. Whether you're getting the latest LED TV, improving your home cinema, or overhauling your hi-fi, we will have something to guide your decision-making. Just the right time in getting a copy to assist you in your festive purchases!

Last but not least, for those who wish to subscribe to the magazine, you may do so by filling up a subscription form made available at the showroom.

Thank you very much as we look forward to your fullest support in our magazine. Have an enjoyable festive season ahead!

Warmest Regards,
WHF Asia

This post has been edited by WHFasia: Feb 9 2010, 11:52 AM
TSWHFasia
post Feb 9 2010, 11:53 AM

Validating
17 posts

Greetings,

Coming this March 2010, we’re finally rolling out the magazine into Malaysia bookstores and newstands, after a long arduous year. All product reviews now include Ringgit (RM) and Singapore (SGD) prices.

This coming March Issue’s News Section, we’ve brought to you the highlights of the annual Consumer Electronics Show at Las Vegas. Plus, we’ve reviewed many cool products this month, bringing to you better and cheaper 40-42in TVs. Then there’s a fine group of stereo speakers, as well as full tests of full-sized home cinema speaker packages, touch-screen portables and noise-cancelling headphones. Next up for grab in our contest is yet another 5-Star product great for your office desk. Be sure to purchase a copy when it arrives!

Finally, here’s wishing all prosperity and good health this Chinese New Year! Cheers!

Best Regards,
WHF Asia
arremie
post Feb 9 2010, 12:22 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

finally...
radovantz
post Feb 9 2010, 12:31 PM

287 posts

hopefully WHF Asia will provide more reviews on products available in asia market that have never been reviewed in the UK.

For instance, Polk Audio, Energy and Mordaunt-Short Carnival series, Haier, Pensonic TV, Wharfedale Vardus and Rogers

Added on February 9, 2010, 5:49 pmWhy is this issue not discussed in WHF Forum?

This post has been edited by radovantz: Feb 9 2010, 05:49 PM
TSWHFasia
post Feb 27 2010, 11:03 PM

Validating
17 posts

Greetings,

It's been a week since our first launch in Malaysia and thanks alot to those who had purchased the March 2010 Issue and submitted their entries to our Contest Section.

To update all, the magazine can be purchased in Malaysia at BORDERS BOOKSTORES, KINOKUNIYA BOOK STORES, MPH BOOKSTORES, NZ MAGAZINE CENTRES, POPULAR BOOK COs, TIMES THE BOOKSHOPS and magazine newstands in most shopping centres.

For your support pls, and yes, your subscription helps. Thanks!

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

This post has been edited by WHFasia: Feb 27 2010, 11:07 PM
willkso
post Feb 28 2010, 12:27 AM

993 posts

I never see WHF Malaysia at Popular Bookstore at my place? Been looking since after CNY.
anchovies93
post Feb 28 2010, 01:26 AM

902 posts

My place is worst. I've been getting WHF, believe it or not, from friends coming from UK. Yes, my copies all from uk. nobody sell here.
Lone*Wolf
post Feb 28 2010, 01:07 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(anchovies93 @ Feb 28 2010, 01:26 AM)
My place is worst. I've been getting WHF, believe it or not, from friends coming from UK. Yes, my copies all from uk. nobody sell here.
Dun think they ship to Mars, bro ..
arremie
post Feb 28 2010, 01:42 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

WHF Asia Edition seems a bit lack in QC. The binding came off easily. I have 2007 Award from UK still intact even with monthly browsing.
echoesian
post Feb 28 2010, 10:36 PM

3,294 posts

How come no PSB speakers reviews?
anchovies93
post Mar 1 2010, 12:44 AM

902 posts

We martians love hifi
arremie
post Mar 1 2010, 12:47 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 28 2010, 10:36 PM)
PSB not British whistling.gif
anchovies93
post Mar 1 2010, 01:27 AM

902 posts

Come to think of it.....ya lorrr
radovantz
post Mar 1 2010, 08:53 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 28 2010, 10:36 PM)
That's why i said WHF Asia should add review on products available in asia market, that have not been reviewed in WHF UK edition. Otherwise, no point to purchase if the content is just the same like the UK edition.
htkaki
post Mar 1 2010, 09:27 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

A lot of the Canada / US established loudspeakers, amplifier, and audio related manufacturers are not in WHF mag. Mostly brits in the mag.

mpyw
post Mar 1 2010, 09:33 AM

3,603 posts

I still think the Taiwan/HK mag the best....but mostly in Chinese.
The review were done more detail with figures and chart unlike WHF only writing what they think/opinion with those "imaginary" words....and half of the mag for prices of all the gears sweat.gif
htkaki
post Mar 1 2010, 09:47 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Normally, I browse Sound and Vision, Home Theatre and Home Cinema Choice. Prime AV is quite similar to S&V but I can understand abt half ot it only.
TSWHFasia
post Mar 1 2010, 03:34 PM

Validating
17 posts

Greetings,

What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision actually covers a broad spectrum of products and price points. Example, “TV” is often the core part of home entertainment but that is not covered in much detail by other publication.

While covering wide price points, the magazine does cover high end products that have list price of exceeding $10k per item. This is generally covered under Temptations sections. However, we do note that the wider audience cannot afford such high-end products and this is why the main bulk of the reviews are on products that are “mid-priced” products.

It “serves” as a general buying guide and is geared towards ease of understanding. It is not meant as a technical read. While being comprehensive, it does offers audiophile tips on how you can evaluate various products.

While we understand many audiophile here have in-depth knowledge, we do believe that the new product information and the reviews does help shortlist various products that is worth your time to evaluate further. Ultimately, products and technology are always evolving.

We do note that each publication has their core focus and the fan base differs. We are not here to displace other publication and only seek to bring in the World’s No. 1 Home entertainment buying guide into Malaysia and Singapore. We've localised the directory listings, localised product prices and added in vouchers and this allow consumers to read more and have more buying choices.

Of course, if there is a sufficient market, there is possibility of launching a Chinese edition of WHFS&V.

Best Regards,
WHF Asia
echoesian
post Mar 1 2010, 04:17 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Mar 1 2010, 09:33 AM)
I still think the Taiwan/HK mag the best....but mostly in Chinese.
The review were done more detail with figures and chart unlike WHF only writing what they think/opinion with those "imaginary" words....and half of the mag for prices of all the gears sweat.gif
Yeah agree
spreenation
post Mar 9 2010, 12:01 AM

Just happened to buy WHF ASEAN March edition. I must say that the price guide and reseller listing are great reference.

Only noted that the Asian version website www.whathifi.asia still directs to the UK page.
TSWHFasia
post Mar 21 2010, 11:39 PM

Validating
17 posts

Greetings,

We are pleased to inform that our April 2010 Issue will be out on Monday, 22nd March 2010 onwards!

In this Issue, we’ve many new products in our First Test Section for you including the world’s first review of the new 3D TV. We’ve also got a huge Supertest of speakers and a superb feature on why the next TV you buy will be easily the best ever. If you’re considering a video streamer or NAS device, see what we’ve got for you in our Round-Ups. Finally, check out The Marketplace for the latest purchase packages, and don’t forget to take part in our contest and your last chance to win a 5-Star product just nice for your desk!

Looking forward to your support!

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

This post has been edited by WHFasia: Mar 21 2010, 11:39 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 25 2010, 03:54 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Where are your magazines available?
ianho
post Mar 25 2010, 07:38 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Everywhere oso got mar. I just got mine from Borders last night.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 25 2010, 08:04 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 25 2010, 07:38 AM)
Everywhere oso got mar. I just got mine from Borders last night.
You're the man with information at finger tips .. thumbup.gif thank you..
ianho
post Mar 25 2010, 08:43 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(WHFasia @ Mar 21 2010, 11:39 PM)
Greetings,

We are pleased to inform that our April 2010 Issue will be out on Monday, 22nd March 2010 onwards!

In this Issue, we’ve many new products in our First Test Section for you including the world’s first review of the new 3D TV.  We’ve also got a huge Supertest of speakers and a superb feature on why the next TV you buy will be easily the best ever.  If you’re considering a video streamer or NAS device, see what we’ve got for you in our Round-Ups.  Finally, check out The Marketplace for the latest purchase packages, and don’t forget to take part in our contest and your last chance to win a 5-Star product just nice for your desk!

Looking forward to your support!

Best Regards,
WHF Asia
Since u r the magazine rep n u r here. Here's what I think about ur mag. It's waaaaaaaaay overpriced. The original UK mag is only rm26. Being localized version ur mag should be much lower. Most localized mags go for about rm10. Just take a look at Digital Camera Magazine as an example. UK mag is about rm30 n the Malaysia edition which has the same contents every month is only rm9.

U guys pricing it at rm20 is a bit silly.
SyriuS
post Mar 25 2010, 09:17 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 25 2010, 08:43 AM)
Since u r the magazine rep n u r here. Here's what I think about ur mag. It's waaaaaaaaay overpriced. The original UK mag is only rm26. Being localized version ur mag should be much lower. Most localized mags go for about rm10. Just take a look at Digital Camera Magazine as an example. UK mag is about rm30 n the Malaysia edition which has the same contents every month is only rm9.

U guys pricing it at rm20 is a bit silly.
I agree, its the same with autocar / autocar asean edition. ( autocar asean edition is only rm 9.90 ) Frankly, if WHF was priced at rm10, I would buy it monthly for sure. At RM20, its too much. Just my opinion.

This post has been edited by SyriuS: Mar 25 2010, 09:18 AM
jimmyteng18
post Mar 25 2010, 06:11 PM

669 posts

I agree as well.
geforce1999
post Mar 25 2010, 06:51 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(SyriuS @ Mar 25 2010, 09:17 AM)
I agree, its the same with autocar / autocar asean edition. ( autocar asean edition is only rm 9.90 ) Frankly, if WHF was priced at rm10, I would buy it monthly for sure. At RM20, its too much. Just my opinion.
+1 nod.gif
mpyw
post Mar 26 2010, 08:40 AM

3,603 posts

+1, even the thick thick Taiwan AV mag I subscribe and import every month only cost me RM24/issue (insl shipping)
WHF is overprice here....
robinlim
post Mar 26 2010, 09:19 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

+1
I almost purchased the mag last Saturday
thought that it would cost only around RM10
but when I found out it bears a price tag of RM20
I immediately put it back to bookshelf and walked away

The UK version costs around RM30 with thicker contents
but the local version price is RM20 with much thinner contents

This post has been edited by robinlim: Mar 26 2010, 09:20 AM
mpyw
post Mar 26 2010, 09:40 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Mar 26 2010, 09:19 AM)
+1
I almost purchased the mag last Saturday
thought that it would cost only around RM10
but when I found out it bears a price tag of RM20
I immediately put it back to bookshelf and walked away

The UK version costs around RM30 with thicker contents
but the local version price is RM20 with much thinner contents
and half of the mag is repeated price list of the gears (almost same list every issue), So I think but 1 issue every 6 months will do (I am doing just that now tongue.gif)
TSWHFasia
post Mar 26 2010, 12:10 PM

Validating
17 posts

Greetings to All,

Thanks alot to all for the support and we do appreciate all valuable feedbacks.

Yes, you can purchase the UK version at a higher rate or purchase our copy at a lower rate. With the local version, you will still get similar contents with added localised pricing, and some local information. Ultimately, you will not be paying more. And with subscriptions, you pay even less. We regret that given the cost of printing, transportation and the need to keep the magazine price low, we need to refine the list repeatedly.

If UK version is good enough, then why not support the local version and pay less? Yes, it is a locally printed magazine but it carries very international contents, plus increasing level of local contents. The list price is in the range of imported magazine simply because of its imported contents. If you think you are contented paying, say, RM28 for the imported UK version, and the consensus is that the local version had its contents which are similar, and you get to pay a lower price(savings of up to RM8 or so), that should account no loss on your part but with some small gains. Furthermore, if you subscribe, you get free gifts and you get to pay only about RM14 a copy. That is mighty good savings as compared to RM28 for a copy at almost half the price, not to mention you get a S$60 free gift sponsored by local distributors when you subscribe.

On the comparison of the thickness of the magazine, though UK version is thicker, but did we benefit from the rest of the content? For the local version, we brought to you local pricing, local model coding(when manufacturers provide the match), local vouchers/promotions, local contests, and local interview features. We do agree on the thickness but if readers can accept the UK version with zero local contents, why not the local edition with relevant local contents?

On the feedback on other AV magazine’s comparison, we do note that each publication has their core focus and the fan base differs. We are not here to displace other publication and as part of What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision, we will like to mention that What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision remains the No. 1 Home Entertainment Magazine and Buying Guide. The amount of readership proves its popularity.

This magazine is a "live initiative" to drive the local scene. Ultimately, participation by all is key to improving the system. We believe we can be the driving force to create more excitement to an industry that is dogged by fragmentation and there is no real good home entertainment buying guide. As we said in our introduction letters to the importers and manufacturers - We have big plans for our readers but cannot achieve it without you(that includes the readers). The first step is your support. Otherwise, the local audio/video industry will still be in stagnant driven by general magazines that is not focused on this segment.

Nevertheless, allow us to reiterate the strength/relevance of ASEAN Edition as follows:
• Interviews with key industry players
• Discount vouchers/promotions for readers
• Local contest valuable giveaways(We’ve given away before several 5-Star Award products such as the Zeppelin, Denon AVR-2310, on-going contest Zeppelin Mini and just to reveal a little, next contest will be the much awaited Great Samsung 3D Package which includes 5-Star reviewed TV and Blu-ray player)!
• Publishing of reviews earlier then UK edition – example Zeppelin Mini review in December 2009 Issue and
• Localised directory listings and buyers guide which covers both Singapore and Malaysia directory listings

We are very glad to hear from you guys and we must say that this magazine/buying guide is here to benefit all and we do appreciate any continual feedback or valuable suggestions. We do take every single suggestion seriously. You can either let us know more of your feedback in this forum(if the moderator don't mind) or email us or me at suggest@whathifi.asia. Happy reading on the magazine!

Thanks and Best Regards,
Edwin
WHF Asia Business Manager

This post has been edited by WHFasia: May 3 2010, 05:36 PM
TSWHFasia
post May 3 2010, 05:37 PM

Validating
17 posts

Greetings!

We are pleased to inform that our May 2010 Issue had rolled out to the newsstands and bookstores!

In this month’s TV Supertest, we are featuring new technologies that fit the bill of putting high-def content in your lounge. Also, see our DACs Grouptest, in which you will see a range of models that improve the sound from a CD player, laptop and even an iPod. Then, indulge yourself with perfect projectors, give your turntable an uplift with our cartridges test, or tune into the planet with our internet radios test.

Seen or heard so much about the latest 3D hype and want to own a 3D TV or 3D Blu-ray player? Wait no more, participate in this Issue’s new Contest and stand chances to winning a 3D package! Yes, that’s right; we will be giving away not one, but both a 3D TV and a 3D Blu-ray player to the lucky winner!

Last but not least, we have for you new enticing discount vouchers on a range of selected items and packages.

For your support and have a great week ahead!

Best Regards,
WHF Asia

This post has been edited by WHFasia: May 26 2010, 04:47 PM
TSWHFasia
post May 26 2010, 04:48 PM

Validating
17 posts

Greetings,

We are pleased to inform that our June 2010 Issue are hitting the newsstands and bookstores this week!

New treats this month for you, kicking off with a head-to-head big round-up of active speakers to the 21st century tech of Apple’s iPad. Also, we’ve got for you 32-inch TVs that will bring your living room to life or for that second room setup as well as 5.1 Style Speaker systems offer big sounds.

Don’t miss this Issue’s superb promotional packages on many big brands! Free AV Receiver with purchase of Speaker Package, Free USB Interface to enable your PC or MAC as a Music Server with purchase of an Integrated Amp, great discounts with purchase of Music Server or HT System... all these in our The Marketplace section. Discounts and promotions have never been this awesome!

Finally, don’t forget to take part in this Issue’s contest and also your final chance to win the latest Samsung 3D Package before contest entry closes!

Best Regards,
WHF Asia
kumario9
post Sep 13 2010, 05:48 PM

136 posts

WHFasia, no accouncement for July, August, Sept issue?
htkaki
post Sep 13 2010, 10:01 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

The Sept issue already out. Saw it in MPH.

fourzee
post Sep 14 2010, 10:42 AM

388 posts

WHF is not taken seriously by Audiophiles .. Hi-Fi News is better ..
htkaki
post Sep 19 2010, 02:56 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Stereophile is also another good reference.
htkaki
post Feb 13 2011, 09:56 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Heard that it has ceased operation

http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=85648.0
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 14 2011, 11:22 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(fourzee @ Sep 14 2010, 10:42 AM)
WHF is not taken seriously by Audiophiles .. Hi-Fi News is better ..
No need to buy WHF. I can tell you what they say.....

Anything British is good.
Anything foreign not so good.
What else do you want to know?

0.0467sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:47 PM