Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

younik
post Apr 30 2013, 09:41 PM

93 posts

Hi all
I am currently working in Bintulu and looking to buy a second hand car from Semenanjung.
Why?
Because second hand car is very expensive in Bintulu.

For the time being, I have looked in Mudah and found 2 models that caught my eyes.

1. Gen2 CPS (2008-2010)

2. Satria 1.5 (2005)

I really need advice from you pros regarding these 2 models or maybe other 2nd hand car in the market.

Criterias:
1. reliable
2. value for money
3. fuel efficient
4. maintenance won't cost a lot
5. not planning on spending more than rm400 per month

Looking forward to replies, thanx in advance!

younik
post May 27 2013, 09:22 PM

93 posts

anyone can recommend any good 2nd hand car dealer?
younik
post May 27 2013, 10:21 PM

93 posts

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : rm60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New or Used
4. Specs : Standard
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : NA or FI
7. Type : 4 seater
8. Remarks : -
younik
post Jun 5 2013, 01:10 AM

93 posts

Between a new preve and a 2nd hand 2 year old inspira.
Both around the same price.
Which one should i get?
younik
post Jun 5 2013, 10:16 AM

93 posts

Because it is new or because Preve is better than Inspira?
younik
post Jun 5 2013, 12:02 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 5 2013, 10:50 AM)
1. new
2. new car interest rates
3. possibility of cheaper parts since it is proton own R&D car like waja, persona, gen2, etc. inspira parts as expensive as lancer gt.
4. inspira no turbo
Thanx very much zenix.
Another thing i want to ask, say if i want to find a second hand car rm50k-60k range, what do u recommend? And with that comparing to new preve, which one more worth it?

This post has been edited by younik: Jun 5 2013, 12:02 PM
younik
post Jun 11 2013, 12:00 PM

93 posts

Bro Zenix
What do you think about the Preve Auto Executive?
Is it a good buy?
younik
post Jun 27 2013, 10:19 PM

93 posts

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 50k - 80k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Would prefer new but if got acceptable used then why not
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : Preferably a sedan

Just need an advice. Been looking at Almera & Inspira for quite a while. I am really open for more recommendations. Thanx people!
younik
post Jun 28 2013, 12:45 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 28 2013, 10:55 AM)
I don't really see a point moving from Nissan Latio Sports to Proton Preve unless you have issues with your Latio and want to change to something else of the same class but cheaper. I'd rather either take a not too old used D-segment or better C-segment car, if prefer new then wait until can afford higher priced car to be worth it. Latio to Preve feels like a downgrade.
Depends on what is your requirement.
You like small, unsafe, old, relatively expensive to buy, and cheap to maintain. Its a good buy.
If I were to guess you're looking at the 2005 models they're selling for around 25-30k, that's expensive.

2008 Proton Waja CPS - for that kinda money, its more worth it to get something like this. C-segment - bigger, safer and more spacious. Only 5 years old. Maintenance cheap.
Savvy - personally, I wouldn't touch it with a ten foot pole  laugh.gif

Swift - they just refreshed the car, though it looks like they kept the under-pinnings.

Fiesta - VW's DSG is famous for issues they even made a recall for DSG across all its model range you can read it here. The dual-clutch that's inside all Ford's come from Getrag not too many complain about it as much as VW's DSG. There are a few reasons why its more stable; 1. power - the PowerShift doesn't need to handle a very powerful engine so less stress on it unlike the DSG which has to handle over 200nm of torque. 2. Paddleshifters - for our market there are no paddleshifts for the Fiesta, one of the problems according to VW staff I chatted with was the use of manual mode then shift to neutral to go from manual mode to go back to automatic mode, because when at neutral both clutches disengage and re-engage in a split second he says sometimes such re-engagement will cause damage to the transmission, because this is not the correct way to go from manual to auto  doh.gif

2009 Hyundai Coupe FX - ever considered this car? Its an update version of the coupe. Its better looking and I think they updated the ECU or something because it feels abit more responsive than the pre-facelift models. I suppose they're pretty good either Hyundai didn't manage to sell many or many people enjoy it and don't want to sell it because there aren't much on the used car market.
2009 Toyota Altis 1.8G - it is only 4 years old but then its going for a very cheap price, people wonder why, actually it is a cruel joke from Toyota. This exact model outlook first have a VVTi & 4AT gearbox, later they updated this model with a dual-VVTi & CVT gearbox, that instantly killed this cars value. If you ask me having Dual-VVTi & CVT gearbox isn't that important (only for kiasu people) because normal 4AT gearbox are more reliable and the power difference from VVTi and Dual-VVTi in reality isn't that far, plus this is the top range 1800cc version its definitely got enough power  brows.gif

2010 Nissan Sylphy 2.0 - don't misunderstand that Nissan cars depreciate alot, they actually hold their value quite well it is only because TCM always throw price and over-trade for customer trading in their cars, so bank evaluation after taking these into consideration put the loan-able amount lesser. Because of that you can purchase a top range model from this brand at such a huge discount only after 3 years of ownership. Its reliable and cheap to maintain (for its range).
Thanx Zenix
Always helpful!
But say I want to get a new car, what car do you recommend within the 50k-80k budget?

younik
post Jul 1 2013, 11:21 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 1 2013, 11:11 AM)
I think its better you take a new Preve than a used Inspira, not worth it.
How about a new inspira comparing to new preve then?
younik
post Jul 2 2013, 12:17 PM

93 posts

@Zenix
Bro just wanna get your thoughts on the 1.4 chevrolet sonic
Is it any good?
younik
post Jul 7 2013, 11:01 PM

93 posts

At first, I really had my sight on the new vios
Now knowing that it has the exact same spec as the one released back in 2002 (correct me if I'm wrong) I feel really gutted

Now I dont know what car to buy
People say avoid Proton & Perodua

Then what other value for money sedan is worth less than 80k?
I think I may just increase my cap to 90K
hmm
HELP!
younik
post Jul 17 2013, 01:43 PM

93 posts

New car interest rate is applicable to recon cars?
I didnt know that!
younik
post Nov 3 2013, 05:45 PM

93 posts

Bro zenix,
I'm getting the new vios 2014 j variant
Yeah i know my future father in law will love me! Lulzzz
Anyways
Now i'm working in sarawak, maybe in 2 years time only i'll be back in semenanjung
Ok the question is; if my car were to have a sarawak plate no
Will it later affect the resale value once i bring the car back to semenanjung?

0.0827sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:25 PM