Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 3 2013, 01:58 PM

1,833 posts

Hi guys..im currently driving a Myvi 1.3 Ezi 2007 and i feel its gonna die soon. Furthermore it lacks features like airbags and abs..etc..
The value would be around 20k ++. So i can put in downpayment of 15k
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : around 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/used
4. Specs : Fuel efficient, good safety
5. Transmission : Auto prefered, but manual is ok
6. NA or FI : either
7. Type : Hatchback/small car or sedan
8. Remarks : Looking for a reliable and fuel efficient car. I prefer smaller cars and im quite heavy footed..haha~ so safety features is a must.
Please recommend me a reliable car for that budget. I drive hard but i dont intend to spend so much on cars. Used car is OK as long as its a good one. thanks!!

ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 3 2013, 07:56 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Apr 3 2013, 05:14 PM)
2007 Myvi EZi already have 2 airbags, ABS and EBD.
HMm but mine dont. My mums 2008 has airbags and abs and the radio with usb and bluetooth.
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 4 2013, 10:05 AM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 4 2013, 09:58 AM)
Oh yes! V6 is smoothness  drool.gif
Enjoy your car  thumbup.gif
So your budget of 60k is inclusive of DP and trade-in?

i got someone to intro you.
pm me.
u wan big boobs too?  laugh.gif
I have mistaken... my car is EZ only.. not Ezi. Valued around 20k i think.
60k is inclusive of trade in as DP. So 60k with 20k deposit..hehe!
Or 15k deposit.. i can take 5k for tint etc... it depends.. smile.gif
Any cars to recommend? New/used. Preferably reliable and lasting cars smile.gif

"u wan big boobs too? laugh.gif "
i also want... drool.gif hahaha!! brows.gif

This post has been edited by ultra_nyamuk: Apr 4 2013, 10:09 AM
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 4 2013, 10:07 AM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Apr 3 2013, 05:14 PM)
2007 Myvi EZi already have 2 airbags, ABS and EBD.
You are right...mine is Ez.. i dont know why service book written Ezi.. it was a second hand car so i didnt know doh.gif sweat.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 5 2013, 10:31 AM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 5 2013, 10:21 AM)
Oic, so targeting a car worth 60k then put deposit of 20k or target 80k car with 20k deposit?  brows.gif

that would've been horrible!  doh.gif
60k below car with 20k deposit. (is that possible with Myvi 2007 Ez milage 111k sweat.gif ??)
I got it quite cheap as it was bought from a family friend smile.gif

New cars i think only local cars fit the bill...but.hmm..
Else any good used cars that you can recommend based on my criterias ?
Thanks!

This post has been edited by ultra_nyamuk: Apr 5 2013, 10:32 AM
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 6 2013, 12:37 AM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(kevinscl @ Apr 5 2013, 11:24 PM)
Hi Why dont you consider getting a Honda City which is very fuel efficient and reliable car. My wife is letting go her 1.5 E full spec paddle shift year 2009 meta. grey in good condition with V-kool and low mileage. She only drives to work and back and park in door in her building most of the time.

If interest can PM me. smile.gif
Please pm me the details smile.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 8 2013, 11:59 AM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 8 2013, 09:02 AM)
I think I listed a few cars in my post above for someone looking for sub RM55k car.

2008 BMW 320i - looking at the model it looks like it was registered in 2008, quite new, but the car was probably made somewhere in 2001-2003 which is already 10 years old if you look at today's calender. a good buy or not depends on what do you want, if you look conti's and especially BMW's this is a good entry price as alot of similar BMW's can be had around this price of course you'll need to go through some growing pains of replacing some worn parts now and then because these babies are quite high maintenance but after the needed parts are replaced you have yourself a good car with high prestige.

2007 Merc E240 - similar situation as the BMW about its actual age but then again Merc's are always cheaper for long term maintenance. It won't be as cheap as a Myvi to maintain but its not going to be expensive like a VW or BMW. Plus Merc's are built tough so this car if taken care of should last you until 2023  nod.gif

2007 Smart ForTwo - a fun little car with everything you expect from a Conti, basically it has everything you expect from a big conti except the size, the target market for these cars are actually the kids (especially girls) of richfags that want the best in safety and performance but in a small body so its easy for them to get used to driving it around and parking it....instead of banging their BMW 7 series  laugh.gif plus richfags won't buy stuff like Myvi for their kids as it is seen as unsafe and barbaric.
Thanks for the replies but im looking more on zippy hatchbacks or smaller sedans. Plus i think Merc and BMW will leave me eating grass after paying for replairs/maintenance.. haha! ForTwo seems nice...but not practical because its a two seater. Btw, i have always wondered how do the ForTwos drive? it look like it will tumble over at sharp bends..hahha! Box on wheels...

I saw this:
http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/45452/used-...-1.6-a-selangor
Seems too good to be true.. 2010. Other 2010 models cost more than this
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 8 2013, 01:13 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 8 2013, 12:38 PM)
you gotta be aware of that.
the age shown is the year of make or year of register.
for cars sold directly by car companies like honda/toyota/vw/proton/perodua they will sell you 2011 model in 2011 so there is no confusion.
imported cars is different.
like the merc/bmw they were manufactured long ago but listed as 2008 because they were registered in 2008 in malaysia.
Yeah.. was pretty sceptical when i saw this and the price and the year..haha! Anyway... any other used cars to recommend within the budget and needs? Thanks for your time.. appreciate it!
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 10 2013, 12:33 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 10 2013, 10:18 AM)
Though even if manufactured in 2005 and reg in 2010, that price is pretty cheap  icon_idea.gif
Actually what are the disadvantages of this kind of cars? or what do i have to be careful of?
Im talking about manuafactured 2005... reg 2010...etc... What can go wrong ?
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 11 2013, 09:43 AM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 11 2013, 09:08 AM)
Well it spent 5 years being parked somewhere waiting for a buyer.
Then it spent 3 years in the hands of its first owner.
If kept well it shouldn't have any major issues except needing a full service and maybe replacing some stuff like perished rubber.
If not kept and maintained well it could even have aircond issues, that would be a huge hole.
I see.. i understand now.. i guess will have to thoroughly check if i were to get those kind of cars. Thanks mate smile.gif thumbup.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post May 28 2013, 09:34 AM

1,833 posts

Hello guys, need your recommendations on this:
1. Any reliable/durable brand
2. Budget: Below 90k, for my 2007 Myvi Ez i think i can get at least 15k for trade in value right ? (15k downpayment)
3. New/Used
5. Transmission. Automatic prefered with "tiptronic" if available
6. Natural Aspirated is fine
7. Type: hatchback
8. Will be doing sales job, so lots of travelling. Probably something durable/reliable with decent fuel economy smile.gif

Currently eyeing Kia Rio, Peugeot 208, Ford Fiesta.
Any suggestions guys ?

This post has been edited by ultra_nyamuk: May 28 2013, 09:35 AM
ultra_nyamuk
post May 29 2013, 03:56 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ May 29 2013, 12:55 PM)

Kia Rio wouldn't call it durable/reliable/fuel efficient  laugh.gif
Pugeot 208 looks nice but hurts you when it comes to part replacement - normal service should be okay.
Ford Fiesta doesn't have paddle shift.

Do consider Honda City  brows.gif
Oh man...really ? Kia Rio one of the highest on my list... due to the price and specs.
I like hatchbacks... so at the moment not considering sedans~ What would your rating be ?
Full spec Fiesta is most expensive, followed by Pug 208, cheapest Kia Rio.
Pug & Kia got 5 year unlimited milage warranty, but im not sure whats covered.
Fiesta 3 + 3 , warranty and service free right ?

ultra_nyamuk
post Oct 24 2013, 02:36 PM

1,833 posts

Hello guys, I'm having a hard time deciding between the New Ford Fiesta 1.5 Sport vs Peugeot 208 1.6 VTI 5 door. Price difference is negligible.. Both are equally attractive. Some points to argue:
- 1.5 6speed vs 1.6 4speed
- drive/handling
- practicality? Seems fiesta more practical interior
- reliability and durability/after sales svc
- safety
- special features?
Help!! Haha
ultra_nyamuk
post Oct 29 2013, 01:37 AM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 28 2013, 02:40 PM)
Your handle is quite familiar, which other forums you go lepak  hmm.gif

1) Tie but leaning towards Fiesta - because 6speed DCT is better technology so you get more power and better fuel economy with the extra gear ratio's, 4speed wetbox is older technology is more mature, stable and reliable but lesser gears to play with the manufacturer would have to be very clever in arranging the ratio's as not to make it too long (no power) too short (no top end + high fuel consumption), I haven't tested the 208 VTI so can't really judge but the Fiesta's DCT is amazing!

2) Ford's are always known for good handling cars and the Fiesta is no different.

3) About on-par though I find the 208 smaller than the Fiesta inside-out not too sure it is an optical illusion or for real as sitting inside there isn't a big difference for me.

4) Both would be about equal on reliability/durability. However on after sales service the Peugeot might edge out Ford in this aspect. Although Ford is quite a mature brand here in Malaysia they don't have enough service centers and 3s as compared to Peugeot so this might be an issue for some people in Klang Valley here I can only recall 3 service centers which are PJ HQ 3S, Ampang 3S (near Flamingo), and Puchong service center near IOI mall. Though I don't think Peugeot has that many either but should edge out Ford as they are rapidly expanding their network since being part of Naza.

5) Both are based on Asian spec and are 5 stars rated from ANCAP. Fiesta CBU Thai vs 208 CKD Malaysia.
ANCAP @ Fiesta
ANCAP @ 208

Why not NCAP? Well, these are Asian spec for Asian market so they're all under ANCAP (Australasian New Car Assessment Program). More information and history on NCAP here.

6) Both boast similar equipment levels most notably both have some form of traction/stability control, but the 208 would edge out the Fiesta with some fancy features like integrated touch screen display (selected models).

haha.. no other forums. just lyn.
thanks for your feedback. Seems like both cars are really close...i have tested the 208 but just a while..so couldnt get the feel. Have not tested Fiesta 2014...so i guess i need to test both cars on the same days to decide. You are right about the service ctr...im in JB so i think there's only one svc ctr for ford i think.

Recently read about the new Polo Sedan...what do you think? 1.6, 6 speed... add more pening...hahaha rclxub.gif

ultra_nyamuk
post Oct 29 2013, 02:13 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 29 2013, 11:15 AM)
rclxms.gif
Never liked it.
Find it abit heavy for its size and FC not particularly good.
Is a good funky alternative for Mini though.
New Polo Sedan = Polo Sedan CKD
Old Polo Sedan = Polo Sedan CBU India

Difference? Not much.
Most major equipment change is the rear passengers got aircond vents now too.
Other minor changes are trims there and there.

1600cc engine -- unlike most VW cars in Malaysia this one is without turbo
6-speed gearbox -- unlike most VW cars in Malaysia this one is non-DSG, is slushbox type.
So in other words... Less problems and less maintenance right ?
But the engine seems less powerful even vs Fiesta 1.5.
If it were you 208, fiesta, polo sedan...which would you get...not considering price, as they are not too far apart in terms of price. And why? Thanks a lot wink.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Oct 29 2013, 02:51 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 29 2013, 02:43 PM)
Normally, less high-tech the parts are cheaper and even normal workshops can settle.
Very high-tech stuff like CVT and DCT are best serviced and repaired at their respective 3S.

Fiesta - it is more proven, more cars on the road means more common parts, depreciation lessen because of the demand for this car.

2nd choice is Polo Sedan CKD - slightly proven, reasonable amount of cars on the road, C-segment size and european refinement from B-segment price.

3rd choice 208 - unproven track record because it is new (however, it might eclipse the other two -- who knows).
It is a good 10k cheaper than the market average.
Not too sure what the reason is, the mileage is also pretty low for a car that age.
If you're living in KL I don't really suggest you go outstation to buy cheap cars unless you got good contacts as you don't want to get conned when the car finally arrives it is different from the one you bought when you go to view.

2007 Honda Accord 2.4 - since you like taking a chance why not go check out this car at puchong, abit too good to be true as for the year and spec it should at least be 15-20k more expensive than the asking price.
Hahah..what's with the GIfs.. wub.gif
Thanks for your suggestions it helps ! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Oct 30 2013, 01:45 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 30 2013, 11:46 AM)
my way of tracking history.
the three you chosen are good cars.
do save your heart as some people will say "beautiful and nice" others will say "stupid fellow this car after 5 years worth nothing"  sweat.gif
Yup.. I do worry as well..they are contis.. With the perception of higher maintenance and low resale value. But more importantly driving satisfaction, stability and solidness I think conti > Japanese cars. Resale value is true..due to the perceptions..so not many ppl wana buy contis..but service/maintenance should be about the same because contis usually have a 10k service interval...and Japanese cars 5k.. 5k + 5k service costs more sometimes.
ultra_nyamuk
post Nov 9 2013, 01:38 AM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Nov 8 2013, 03:08 PM)
sifu,

got offer just now Peugeot 408 2.0 for 95K otr worth or not? haha
Yeah..i saw this too... is this worth it? Also with free 5 year servicing ?

0.1141sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:36 AM